Contribute
Register

[Guide] Disabling discrete graphics in dual-GPU laptops

Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus S46CM (Clover)
CPU
i5 3317U + HM76
Graphics
HD4000/GT635M(disable) 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Describe problem in detail.
Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".

No one here is clairvoyant.

Reboot and shutdown error, it's repeat 2 times. Looking at the data light in the bottom left corner, it lights up once and then turns off, the second time with a successful startup.
(pls mute video)
 

Attachments

  • Asus_S46CM_CLOVER.zip
    2.9 MB · Views: 79
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
49
Motherboard
Acer
CPU
Core i5-5200U
Graphics
Intel HD 5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Nothing unusual here.
_OFF is in SSDT-9. _OFF calls HGOF, which is also in SSDT-9. The associated _INI is also in SSDT-9. HGOF and _OFF do not have any EC access. Simple matter of calling _OFF from _INI. Read post #1.
Thanks you so much
I had disable nvidia card success on my laptop
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Reboot and shutdown error, it's repeat 2 times. Looking at the data light in the bottom left corner, it lights up once and then turns off, the second time with a successful startup.
(pls mute video)

As per guide, you cannot set DropOem=true without the OEM SSDTs in ACPI/patched.
That single mistake is causing all kinds of problems...

You have way too many Clover hotfixes in config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Fixes (kitchen sink situation there!).
Patch statically instead so you're certain of the changes you're making.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus S46CM (Clover)
CPU
i5 3317U + HM76
Graphics
HD4000/GT635M(disable) 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
As per guide, you cannot set DropOem=true without the OEM SSDTs in ACPI/patched.
That single mistake is causing all kinds of problems...

You have way too many Clover hotfixes in config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Fixes (kitchen sink situation there!).
Patch statically instead so you're certain of the changes you're making.
Thank you for feedback, i has remove hot patch in config.pliz, DropOEM=No and patch [Disable/Enable on _WAK but but could not solve the problem
p/s: I also tried Modified patch (PEG0 changed to RP05)
 

Attachments

  • Asus_S46CM_CLOVER_edit1.zip
    2.9 MB · Views: 65
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for feedback, i has remove hot patch in config.pliz, DropOEM=No and patch [Disable/Enable on _WAK but but could not solve the problem
p/s: I also tried Modified patch (PEG0 changed to RP05)

Remove also FixLAN/FixUSB.
And ACPI is patched incorrectly. You have renamed GFX0->IGPU only in DSDT, but not the SSDTs. As a result you have unbalanced renames.
Read post #1.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus S46CM (Clover)
CPU
i5 3317U + HM76
Graphics
HD4000/GT635M(disable) 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Remove also FixLAN/FixUSB.
And ACPI is patched incorrectly. You have renamed GFX0->IGPU only in DSDT, but not the SSDTs. As a result you have unbalanced renames.
Read post #1.

I tried looking for GFX0 in origin / ssdt (grep -l GFX0 * .dsl) but no results, I also do not use ssdt in ACPI / patched, in this case I removed the Rename GFX0 to IGPU patch.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried looking for GFX0 in origin / ssdt (grep -l GFX0 * .dsl) but no results, I also do not use ssdt in ACPI / patched, in this case I removed the Rename GFX0 to IGPU patch.

It is rare, but possible.
This patch is a bad idea: "HD 4000 brightness fix" (it is in your KextsToPatch).
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus S46CM (Clover)
CPU
i5 3317U + HM76
Graphics
HD4000/GT635M(disable) 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It is rare, but possible.
This patch is a bad idea: "HD 4000 brightness fix" (it is in your KextsToPatch).

Thanks for support me, Maybe I will try to fix this later.
I would like to ask more:
I try glitch fix but in my video you will see, problem loading and logo apple still exists. I did something wrong in the hot patch in config.plist?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 1.05.51 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 1.05.51 PM.png
    539.5 KB · Views: 98
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
18
Motherboard
Toshiba L50-A
CPU
Core I5 3230M Intel 7 Series C216,HM76
Graphics
Intel HD 4000/GT 740M(disabled) 1366x768
Help me.I can't disable my Nvidia gt740m .. already try patch ssdt-7 and dsdt still my Nvidia not disable.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    10.8 MB · Views: 80

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for support me, Maybe I will try to fix this later.
I would like to ask more:
I try glitch fix but in my video you will see, problem loading and logo apple still exists. I did something wrong in the hot patch in config.plist?

Off-topic. This guide is for disabling discrete graphics. Open a separate thread for questions not related.
 
Top