Contribute
Register

[Guide] Disabling discrete graphics in dual-GPU laptops

Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus S46CM (Clover)
CPU
i5 3317U + HM76
Graphics
HD4000/GT635M(disable) 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
plz help me!!! i can't disable nvidia in dsdt because i Can't find _INI proper.
p/s: sorry my bad english
 

Attachments

  • Asus_S46CM_origin.zip
    43 KB · Views: 74

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
plz help me!!! i can't disable nvidia in dsdt because i Can't find _INI proper.
p/s: sorry my bad english

The _OFF and _INI are in DSDT.

_INI in scope _SB.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP:
Code:
        Method (_INI, 0, NotSerialized)  // _INI: Initialize
        {
            If (LNotEqual (SVID, 0xFFFFFFFF))
            {
                Store (Zero, NHDA)
                Sleep (0x32)
            }
        }
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus S46CM (Clover)
CPU
i5 3317U + HM76
Graphics
HD4000/GT635M(disable) 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 11.30.41 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 11.30.41 AM.png
    101.7 KB · Views: 101
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus S46CM (Clover)
CPU
i5 3317U + HM76
Graphics
HD4000/GT635M(disable) 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Has a problem, i used patch [gfx0] Disable from _REG (DSDT) disable nvidia graphic ok but reboot and shutdown error, it's repeat 2 times. And i try patch [gfx0] Disable/Enable on_WAK/_PTS(DSDT) reboot & shutdown ok but can't disable nvidia :(.
what should i do?
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
49
Motherboard
Acer
CPU
Core i5-5200U
Graphics
Intel HD 5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi all
Please help me disable nvidia card
I don't known the _INI at DSDT or SSDT so i can't off nvidia card
Can i disable nvidia in dsdt ? because i don't use patch ssdt
My laptop is acer V3
Thanks all
 

Attachments

  • origin.zip
    54.3 KB · Views: 80

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has a problem, i used patch [gfx0] Disable from _REG (DSDT) disable nvidia graphic ok but reboot and shutdown error, it's repeat 2 times. And i try patch [gfx0] Disable/Enable on_WAK/_PTS(DSDT) reboot & shutdown ok but can't disable nvidia :(.
what should i do?

Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
Note: You cannot call _OFF from _REG. It is quite clear in post #1.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all
Please help me disable nvidia card
I don't known the _INI at DSDT or SSDT so i can't off nvidia card
Can i disable nvidia in dsdt ? because i don't use patch ssdt
My laptop is acer V3
Thanks all

Nothing unusual here.
_OFF is in SSDT-9. _OFF calls HGOF, which is also in SSDT-9. The associated _INI is also in SSDT-9. HGOF and _OFF do not have any EC access. Simple matter of calling _OFF from _INI. Read post #1.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus S46CM (Clover)
CPU
i5 3317U + HM76
Graphics
HD4000/GT635M(disable) 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Sleep/Wake Problems

Some laptops have issues with sleep/wake or even shutdown/restart with this patch in place. This was the case with the HP ProBook (with Radeon). The fix is to re-enable the card before sleeping and disable it on wake.

There is a patch in the repository to accomplish this. It is called "Disable/Enable on _WAK/_PTS (DSDT)".

But since this DSDT has _OFF/_ON at a different path than the patch expects, we need to modify it.

Original patch:
Modified patch (PEG0 changed to RP05):
If your laptop doesn't have problems with sleep/wake/restart/shutdown with the discrete device disabled, then you do not need this patch. You need to test your laptop first to determine if it is needed.

i'm try it but fail :(
 
Top