Contribute
Register

[Guide] Dell XPS 13 9360 on MacOS Sierra 10.12.x - LTS (Long-Term Support) Guide

Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
47
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
I can see better power management after boot even if Coremin feq is 0.8GHz... after sleep the Coremin is lower but jumps very often between 0.3-0.5 and Coconut battery reports more power draw from the system.

Anyone seeing this as well ? Why would the Coremin change so much ? Also PKG after sleep is a little higher. Discharging in that screenshot is 3.85W but very often over 4W after sleep... and with system idle doing nothing. It's almost a watt more after sleep.



Still better than 6.5W of discharging power reported by Coconut battery that I had with the NVME drive.
 

Attachments

  • After boot.jpg
    After boot.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 80
  • After_sleep.jpg
    After_sleep.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 80
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
47
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
Any idea ? I see that if I choose Sleep from the apple menu and click to wake it as soon as the screen goes black the PKG goes back to what I see after boot... so there's something about wake not going ok 100% all the time....

Do you see the same on your systems ?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I'm having problems with the webcam. I didn't see them before, so I'm not sure if the problem appeared with 10.5.3 update or after that.
The camera appears at System Report, but when you open Facetime, Photo Booth or Skype in Console can be seen this error

error 15:07:33.126272+0300 VDCAssistant CMIO_DPA_VDC_Server_FrameAccumulator.cpp:3876:DecodeMJPEGFrames [guid:0x1450000005ac8510] DecompressionSession DecodeFrame fail

Is the camera working for everyone else?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
55
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
Has anyone ever fixed the relative low sound volume on MacOS compared to Windows 10? Currently using layout id 11 with latest AppleALC. Sometimes my audio cuts out completely two and re-enables after I navigate to sound => input.

Fixed this by installing CodecCommander and then reinstalling Combo Jack! Working flawlessly now.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
11
Motherboard
asus
CPU
intel i5
Graphics
onboard
I'm really a noob here and everything works fine, except for the headphone jack. I followed this guide to a T. Is there anything I could try to fix it? I really don't want to mess anything up, but headphone jack would be nice to have! I don't know where to start troubleshooting this. Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
925
Motherboard
AsRock X299 Creator-1.50
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm really a noob here and everything works fine, except for the headphone jack. I followed this guide to a T. Is there anything I could try to fix it? I really don't want to mess anything up, but headphone jack would be nice to have! I don't know where to start troubleshooting this. Thanks!
have rebuild the cache ?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
47
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
Can I just install MacOS Mojave Security Update 2020-002 ? Do I need to rebuild caches afterwards ? Anything else ? Just want to make sure I don't break anything as my DELL XPS has been running solid.

Only things I've copied locally in /Library/Extensions are:

BrcmFirmwareRepo.kext
BrcmPatchRAM2.kext
CodecCommander.kext


from @the-darkvoid repo.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
391
Motherboard
XPS 13 9360
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Can I just install MacOS Mojave Security Update 2020-002 ? Do I need to rebuild caches afterwards ? Anything else ? Just want to make sure I don't break anything as my DELL XPS has been running solid.

Only things I've copied locally in /Library/Extensions are:

BrcmFirmwareRepo.kext
BrcmPatchRAM2.kext
CodecCommander.kext


from @the-darkvoid repo.

Yes, and yes. No need to do anything else. Your sound will be broken on the first reboot until the caches rebuild, then reboot and you're good.
 
Top