Contribute
Register

[Guide] Dell XPS 13 9360 on MacOS Sierra 10.12.x - LTS (Long-Term Support) Guide

Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
47
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
thanks!! I'll try tomorrow. to be honest with different settings and other CLOVER packages I found for 9360 I get similar results. I suspect it's the NVME not being power managed. Can I ask what NVME do you have or if you have swapped it for a M2 SSD instead ?


So basically I've tried different packages and EFI folders from different people on GitHub, I now have stuck with yours.. Power is always hovering around the 1.8-2W mark regardless of the settings. I have lost patience and pulled the NVME out, booted from an external USB drive and power is at around 0.6W....so it must be the NVME not being power managed as other have reported.... but two questions:

- What NVME do you have @Richylitschy ? I have the PC300 NVMe SK hynix 256GB

- On my ex XPS 9343 with a Samsung PM851 I didn't have the issue.... I guess it was an SSD and not an NVME ? I was all the time at around 0.7W when idle.
 

Attachments

  • catalina_no_nvme.jpg
    catalina_no_nvme.jpg
    170.4 KB · Views: 61
  • mojave_10.4.6_Richylitschy_clover.jpg
    mojave_10.4.6_Richylitschy_clover.jpg
    187.9 KB · Views: 58
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
55
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
So basically I've tried different packages and EFI folders from different people on GitHub, I now have stuck with yours.. Power is always hovering around the 1.8-2W mark regardless of the settings. I have lost patience and pulled the NVME out, booted from an external USB drive and power is at around 0.6W....so it must be the NVME not being power managed as other have reported.... but two questions:

- What NVME do you have @Richylitschy ? I have the PC300 NVMe SK hynix 256GB

- On my ex XPS 9343 with a Samsung PM851 I didn't have the issue.... I guess it was an SSD and not an NVME ? I was all the time at around 0.7W when idle.

Did you format your NVME right? Did you enable TRIM and SSD power management?

I run a M2 SSD, so can’t comment on this topic. Skip through this thread, there is a lot of valuable stuff hidden somewhere in the middle. But I remember reading some posts last year about NVME power management, so this maybe your culprit.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
DELETED
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Sorry a small question on CABC - I have a DELL XPS 9360 FHD with Sharp 1449 screen.

I've disabled CABC with the firmware update but got the FW update failed looping with messages "loop:1, err:1"... did anyone see a similar thing ? Last DELL Intel driver was installed. CABC seems disabled even if the update failed... but I'm a bit OCD about failed FW updates...

I saw that... Using the last driver by Intel I saw that error
The latest driver from Dell doesn't install, don't know why
You need to use the driver from Dell, but no the last one, but the one before.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
7
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I'm having problems using one-key-hdcpi
Going back from sleep, the screen appears smaller and on the left superior corner
I have tried different configurations (with and without EDID, with and without correction for sleep) but the result is the same
By the way, I'm using a FHD screen and i7 8550 and MacOS Catalina 10.15.2
Beside of that, working with only small problems (even when I'm using the original Samsung PM961 disk with 512 bytes format)

Thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
47
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
I saw that... Using the last driver by Intel I saw that error
The latest driver from Dell doesn't install, don't know why
You need to use the driver from Dell, but no the last one, but the one before.

Thanks! Can you find put the right version so I can try ? Do you have the same display ?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
126
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VI Impact
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I have an Apple USBC to Ethernet adapter, was wondering if it should be visible under the Thunderbolt section in System Information. It does work
in Ubuntu FWIW

For me it works, but it's non hotswappable
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
asus
CPU
intel i5
Graphics
onboard
Wish I had seen your messages before @PastilloAr and @cele_82 . I had the same error (installed the graphic drivers from Intel instead of Dell because it complained about not being the right one). Had the loop;1:err1; too. Unfortunately I have a blank screen ever since and think from what I've read that I have to change the screen altogether.

Do you know if it's fixable?
Do you think a QHD screen would still work for hackintosh? Thanks
 
Top