Contribute
Register

[Guide] Dell XPS 13 9350 macOS 10.12.1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
ASUS Z270I
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You could try booting with debug=0x100.
My config.plist contains additional patches related to WiFi (KextsToPatch). Also did you generate a SSDT.aml for PM or are you using HWP?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Desktop
CPU
AMD
Graphics
Intel
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You could try booting with debug=0x100.
My config.plist contains additional patches related to WiFi (KextsToPatch). Also did you generate a SSDT.aml for PM or are you using HWP?
Neither.
I disabled HWP as you suggest
I'm very hackintosh newbie, I'll be happy if you'd guide me to generate SSDT for... what PM stands for?... I know, sorry :)
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Desktop
CPU
AMD
Graphics
Intel
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Neither.
I disabled HWP as you suggest
I'm very hackintosh newbie, I'll be happy if you'd guide me to generate SSDT for... what PM stands for?... I know, sorry :)

Still freeze after removing WiFi KextsToPatch and booting with debug=0x100. What could it be?
Thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
106
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9350, 8GB, 256GB SSD PM951, Boot loader uefi
CPU
Skylake i7 6500U
Graphics
Iris 540, QHD+
I think you should be fine. Just make sure you remove 'HWPEnable' from config.plist. Let me know how it went!

Hi, when I tried to create boot disk, it works - thanks for sharing, and HWPEnable is not removed yet (I tried before reading your reply), what is the HWPEnable for ? And after booting, I cannot find my NVME SSD (maybe I was using your first shared clover), and other questions if you dont mind,

I think when I tried someone else's clover which cannot run the boot disk, the clover text is not very small and the partition appears only windows and the flash disk, but using your clover (just copy paste), it appears a lot of partitions, do you know how to control the boot screen?

And I wondered if clicking F4 after selecting boot is working for you ? Or you extract dsdt after booting to mac?

Thanks, and I'm sorry for lot of questions, just ignore it if bother you :)
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
ASUS Z270I
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Still freeze after removing WiFi KextsToPatch and booting with debug=0x100. What could it be?
Thanks!
Did debug=0x100 show you the panic debug screen? I'm not using sleep right now since I'm still using HWP.

Hi, when I tried to create boot disk, it works - thanks for sharing, and HWPEnable is not removed yet (I tried before reading your reply), what is the HWPEnable for ?

If you want proper power management (and thus battery life) you will either have to generate a SSDT.aml using ssdtPRGen.sh that goes into CLOVER/ACPI/PATCHED or use the fancy new Skylake HWP (more performace & less power consumption). You can read up more on Intel HWP here. Thanks to @goodwin_c it can be enabled using config.plist although this resulted in data loss for me.

For now I've been using @goodwin_c 's HWPEnabler.kext with modified Info.plist for our 3.1GHz i7-6500U, although I would still be careful with sleep:

Code:
<key>HWPDeaultVal</key>
<string>80001f01</string>


And after booting, I cannot find my NVME SSD (maybe I was using your first shared clover), and other questions if you dont mind,

If you say after booting, do you mean booting the installer USB or your installed macOS? I attached my current CLOVER folder so you can take a look at it. You might want to delete my patched DSDT/SSDT files and set DropTables to false to get macOS installed.

And I wondered if clicking F4 after selecting boot is working for you ? Or you extract dsdt after booting to mac?

I pressed 1x F4 and 1x F4 + Fn in the Clover 'Main Menu' if that's what you are asking me. Worked just fine.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    3.5 MB · Views: 187
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
106
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9350, 8GB, 256GB SSD PM951, Boot loader uefi
CPU
Skylake i7 6500U
Graphics
Iris 540, QHD+
I think it's time to buy me a ring then, because I got the SSD recognized!

As it turn's out it's a stupid idea to use someone else's SSDTs. (Who would have thought? :lol:)

Anyway, I deleted everything in the Clover AHCI Folder, set DropTables to false and followed azlvda's suggestion and removed all MatchBuild and MatchOS.

The full Clover Folder is attached. Everyone with a XPS 9350, PM951 and HD520 trying to install 10.12.1 should just be able to copy it to their Install EFI Clover folder.

Everything great using your clover, but
it turns out that my SSD still cannot be detected, Im using built in SSD, and set boot to AHCI, and still has the windows 10 from factory inside, do you do anything else to connect the ssd to mac ? Or maybe I should to my SSDT ? How did you do the SSDT fix ?

Thanks

Edit : Thanks for quick answer above, I mean Im still inside the usb mac installer, so cannot install to SSD, hmm I didnt delete anything, maybe I should delete the ACPI/original and ACPI/patched then?

Edit2 : It turns out its already empty, any hint what I did wrong?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
106
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9350, 8GB, 256GB SSD PM951, Boot loader uefi
CPU
Skylake i7 6500U
Graphics
Iris 540, QHD+
Did debug=0x100 show you the panic debug screen? I'm not using sleep right now since I'm still using HWP.


If you say after booting, do you mean booting the installer USB or your installed macOS? I attached my current CLOVER folder so you can take a look at it. You might want to delete my patched DSDT/SSDT files and set DropTables to false to get macOS installed.


Your new attached clover's kext dont have any IONVMeFamily.kexts, is it not needed ?

Thanks

Edit : in config plist, I change droptable to
<key>DropTables</key>
<false/>

and remove all matchbuild and matchos, SSD still not detected, weird
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
106
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9350, 8GB, 256GB SSD PM951, Boot loader uefi
CPU
Skylake i7 6500U
Graphics
Iris 540, QHD+
@TheAlpa so I was able to install the OS on my laptop but on the first boot (where it's supposed to clean up installation, I get an error after which every boot after that one results in the SSD booting up as a recovery drive. I had 10.12.1 installed on an external HDD which I thought an easy restore would be a great idea for but now I get this issue: View attachment 218126
Any ideas?

EDIT: It's working now, apparently I just had to keep trying like 5-6 times...

Hi, I have same machine as yours, I wondered how to recognize SM951 ? I already using clover.zip from theAlpa but no SSD shown @installer (OS 12.1), already patch my dsdt and ssdt also so I dont know whats wrong :(

Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Desktop
CPU
AMD
Graphics
Intel
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Did debug=0x100 show you the panic debug screen? I'm not using sleep right now since I'm still using HWP.
Nope, just freeze.

And still freeze after updating to 10.12.1
Why it's not possible to use sleep when using HWP?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
106
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9350, 8GB, 256GB SSD PM951, Boot loader uefi
CPU
Skylake i7 6500U
Graphics
Iris 540, QHD+
Hi, I have same machine as yours, I wondered how to recognize SM951 ? I already using clover.zip from theAlpa but no SSD shown @installer (OS 12.1), already patch my dsdt and ssdt also so I dont know whats wrong :(

Thanks


It works now very strange, thanks theAlpa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top