Contribute
Register

[Guide] Dell XPS 13 9343 Sierra

Joined
Feb 16, 2013
Messages
45
Motherboard
XPS 13 (x2)
CPU
i5 - 5200 / i5 - 5500
Graphics
HD5500
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Just updated to Sierra from El-Capitan. Only issue I ran into was the Wi-Fi. The kexts provided by OP would not work for me. I had to download new ones from RehabMan's repo (fakepciid), and now they work. Audio has been working so far. I had to re-use my SSDT patches for brightness. I didn't bother patching keyboard brightness keys tho. Audio has been working very well. Couldn't try display port audio tho. Bluetooth, camera and touchscreen works too.

Siri doesn't work for me, not sure if it's an iCloud issue (I don't have my iCloud logged in) or some other issue. Honestly I don't really care.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
38
Motherboard
XPS13 9343
CPU
I7-5500U
Graphics
HD5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Worked perfectly! thank you for the help! :D
Dear friend, may I have your help? thx
I cannot change backlight by using dsdt, and I didn't change GFX0 to IGPU. I saw from your clover folder while u didn't do that either. How can you make that working?
thx a lot.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
9
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 5500
I got a little confused in the renaming part. The dell64.efi isn't in the clover folder so I can't rename it. However, I skipped step 1(except installing BIOS A07) and the setup loaded but my trackpad and mouse do not work at all. I'm stuck at the beginning of the Sierra setup where it asks for language.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got a little confused in the renaming part. The dell64.efi isn't in the clover folder so I can't rename it. However, I skipped step 1(except installing BIOS A07) and the setup loaded but my trackpad and mouse do not work at all. I'm stuck at the beginning of the Sierra setup where it asks for language.

Sounds like you forgot PS2 drivers.
Use a USB keyboard/mouse.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
9
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 5500
Sounds like you forgot PS2 drivers.
Use a USB keyboard/mouse.

Alright I was able to install Sierra and boot to the desktop but I can't get the graphics to work. I've tried multiple things and I'm not sure what the issue is. First I checked the DVMT Guide and I had 128MB dedicated video memory so according to the thread I can simply inject intel without having to change DVMT. After installing I tried the terminal commands you provided along with modifying MatchOS in Clover Configurator and there was no difference.

I'm not sure what the problem is but I think it may be because I didn't do the DVMT change correctly. You said to replace our clover folder with yours so we can get the dell efi but I wasn't able to locate that. If it helps About This Mac shows "Intel HD Graphics 5500 21 MB" under Graphics. I'm kind of lost so any help is appreciated.

Thanks
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Alright I was able to install Sierra and boot to the desktop but I can't get the graphics to work. I've tried multiple things and I'm not sure what the issue is. First I checked the DVMT Guide and I had 128MB dedicated video memory so according to the thread I can simply inject intel without having to change DVMT. After installing I tried the terminal commands you provided along with modifying MatchOS in Clover Configurator and there was no difference.

I'm not sure what the problem is but I think it may be because I didn't do the DVMT change correctly. You said to replace our clover folder with yours so we can get the dell efi but I wasn't able to locate that. If it helps About This Mac shows "Intel HD Graphics 5500 21 MB" under Graphics. I'm kind of lost so any help is appreciated.

Thanks

I don't think you read very carefully.

From FAQ:
IMPORTANT!: Contrary to many of the guides you will read, Windows is NOT a valid way to determine what DVMT-prealloc is set to. There is no correlation, especially with Windows 10.

The entire process seems to be covered quite well in post #1 here.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
9
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 5500
I don't think you read very carefully.

From FAQ:


The entire process seems to be covered quite well in post #1 here.
I don't think you read very carefully.

From FAQ:


The entire process seems to be covered quite well in post #1 here.


Ok so I restarted the entire process again because I used another thread to install the Sierra I had. I made the Boot USB again, erased my drive and did everything in between. After starting the installation it stops and gives me an error saying "macOS could not be installed on your computer". I've attached the log also if it helps. Any help is much appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Top