[GUIDE] CustoMac Pro 2010 - GA-X58A-UD3R -Core i7-930 - ATI 5770 - OS X 10.11

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,145
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 28, 2015 at 2:33 AM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,145
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    customac.png
    Here’s a quick guide for setup on the CustoMac Pro 2010 on OS X El Capitan. For installation, use the main UniBeast guide. If you have trouble booting the standard USB, recreate it by formatting first with MBR partition format. This will install Clover using Legacy Boot Mode to the root of the USB.

    BIOS settings:
    Disable USB 3.0 under Integrated Peripherals. NEC/Renesas USB 3.0 ports are not working- there is no current solution for OS X El Capitan as of this post. The system drive will not boot unless you disable USB 3.0 in BIOS.

    For post-installation, instead of installing to the EFI partition with Legacy Boot Mode, Clover must be installed to the root of the system drive by using either Legacy Boot Mode - Root package from El Capitan Post-Install Tools. use MultiBeast 8.0 with the following settings:

    Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 7.52.23 AM.png

    This system will need the following extra Clover DSDT fixes in order to boot successfully without a DSDT:

    AddDTGP_0001
    FixHPET_0010
    FixHDA_8000
    FixIPIC_0040

    To use at boot time, hit Options at Clover boot screen and tick them on under DSDT Fix Mask. To add them to your plist permanently, navigate to /EFI/CLOVER/ and edit config.plist under /ACPI/DSDT/Fixes/ with any text editor after you get to the desktop.
    (Included with MultiBeast default config.plist)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. EntropicTendencies

    EntropicTendencies

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (2.0) BIOS FH
    CPU:
    Xeon X5670
    Graphics:
    EVGA GT740 SC 2GB DDR5
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 30, 2015 at 11:20 PM #2
    EntropicTendencies

    EntropicTendencies

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (2.0) BIOS FH
    CPU:
    Xeon X5670
    Graphics:
    EVGA GT740 SC 2GB DDR5
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Is this applicable to the rev 2 board?
     
  3. big_slim

    big_slim

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Rev 2.0
    CPU:
    Intel i7-930 2.80 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2048 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Oct 30, 2015 at 11:31 PM #3
    big_slim

    big_slim

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Rev 2.0
    CPU:
    Intel i7-930 2.80 GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2048 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Woo, let the yearly upgrade heartache begin :beachball:
     
  4. robik234

    robik234

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    HP EliteBook 8470p (Clover)
    CPU:
    i7-3740QM
    Graphics:
    AMD 7570M
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 31, 2015 at 10:26 AM #4
    robik234

    robik234

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    HP EliteBook 8470p (Clover)
    CPU:
    i7-3740QM
    Graphics:
    AMD 7570M
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Tony,
    Subject MB has NEC chip for USB 3.0. Is it working with Clover and ElCapitan?

    Why I am asking - the same chip (NEC USB 3.0) has mine MB based on P55 but I found problem with booting to Clover at all. With Chimera (until Yosemite) booting was possible with DSDT from your repo and I had USB 3.0 working in OS X. Now with Clover the only solution I was able to find to reach its menu was switching USB 3.0 off in BIOS. Clover and El Capitan works but of course without USB 3.0.
     
  5. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,145
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 1, 2015 at 1:15 PM #5
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,145
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    NEC/Renesas USB 3.0 ports are not working- there is no current solution for OS X El Capitan as of this post.
     
  6. vmiyoshi

    vmiyoshi

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Intel i7 930
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 1, 2015 at 7:41 PM #6
    vmiyoshi

    vmiyoshi

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Intel i7 930
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hey Tony;
    Nice write up.

    I followed most of changes you wrote about on other posts related to this build with success, since my system is similar to this one.

    I was left with 3 problems:
    1. Sound (this was fixed with added a DSDT.aml related to my system under the acpi/patched folder, then running the audio_RealtekALC-110 script)

    2. Unable to boot without the USB "boot0af error" (This was resolved following this post "http://www.tonymacx86.com/bootloaders/109717-how-do-you-fix-boot0af-error.html#post673126")

    3. Unable to get my system to shut down/restart consistently (resolved using nothingmore's DSDT.aml on this post "http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-desktop-support/174222-x58-cant-shut-down-13.html" all three of us have a i7 930 I need to learn more about DSDT's creating/editing)

    Thank your for your support,
    I'm happy to finally be running clover. I'm still struggling with the boot not showing a full 1080p resolution using my Nvidia gtx 480. I tried everything I could find online without success. Maybe newer nvidia cards have a 1080p VESA out the box.
    Back on the subject of DSDT's I think their should be a database started for clover, like the one for legacy boot loaders...
     
  7. atilla999

    atilla999

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Nov 11, 2015 at 10:30 PM #7
    atilla999

    atilla999

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5

    After using 10.8.3 for years without any trouble, I installed El capitan on my old buddy GA-x58a-ud5/i7 930/gtx470. Your solution regarding the sound fixed the sound issue I experienced, too. Though I have two issues remaining:

    1) Unable to boot without the USB: I did every step mentioned carefully. But it freezes when OS loader get full. I only see a fulled loading bar on black screen. No error messages.

    2) I couldn't use my second monitor: I tried the hidden option "detect displays" but it didn't help.

    Installing and using Mountain lion was so smooth on the computer, but it seems el capitan needs additional care.
     
  8. vmiyoshi

    vmiyoshi

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Intel i7 930
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 11, 2015 at 11:24 PM #8
    vmiyoshi

    vmiyoshi

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Intel i7 930
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    You computer is almost like the one I'm currently using. I wish you would have stayed current; I believe staying current helps prepare you.
    The not being able to use the second monitor is pretty strange, but if you cant get into the OS, your second monitor shouldn't work yet.
    As for the unable to load without USB issue - If you got to the point were your loading Clover/OS without the USB, then you solved that issue, and your problem is something else.
    It could be a graphic issue, do you have nvidia injected? you need to have that flag turned on when using a FEMI card (your GTX 470).
    Post your config.plist file...
     
  9. atilla999

    atilla999

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Nov 12, 2015 at 9:58 AM #9
    atilla999

    atilla999

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    I probably did an easy mistake. But couldn't figure out. As you said it loads clover. But Macos login screen doesn't show up.

    I thought the audio issue was the hardest. But it was solved easily.

    Code (Text):
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
        <key>ACPI</key>
        <dict>
            <key>DSDT</key>
            <dict>
                <key>Debug</key>
                <false/>
                <key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Fixes</key>
                <dict>
                    <key>AddDTGP_0001</key>
                    <true/>
                    <key>FixHDA_8000</key>
                    <true/>
                    <key>FixHPET_0010</key>
                    <true/>
                    <key>FixIPIC_0040</key>
                    <true/>
                </dict>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>DSDT.aml</string>
                <key>ReuseFFFF</key>
                <false/>
            </dict>
            <key>SSDT</key>
            <dict>
                <key>DropOem</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Generate</key>
                <false/>
            </dict>
        </dict>
        <key>Boot</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Arguments</key>
            <string>dart=0</string>
            <key>Debug</key>
            <false/>
            <key>DefaultVolume</key>
            <string>MacHDD</string>
            <key>Legacy</key>
            <string>PBR</string>
            <key>Secure</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Timeout</key>
            <integer>10</integer>
            <key>XMPDetection</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>Devices</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Audio</key>
            <dict>
                <key>Inject</key>
                <string>1</string>
            </dict>
            <key>FakeID</key>
            <dict>
                <key>ATI</key>
                <string>0x0</string>
                <key>IMEI</key>
                <string>0x0</string>
                <key>IntelGFX</key>
                <string>0x0</string>
                <key>LAN</key>
                <string>0x0</string>
                <key>NVidia</key>
                <string>0x0</string>
                <key>SATA</key>
                <string>0x0</string>
                <key>WIFI</key>
                <string>0x0</string>
                <key>XHCI</key>
                <string>0x0</string>
            </dict>
            <key>USB</key>
            <dict>
                <key>FixOwnership</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Inject</key>
                <false/>
            </dict>
        </dict>
        <key>DisableDrivers</key>
        <array>
            <string>Nothing</string>
        </array>
        <key>GUI</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Hide</key>
            <array>
                <string>Windows</string>
                <string>\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI</string>
            </array>
            <key>Language</key>
            <string>en:0</string>
            <key>Mouse</key>
            <dict>
                <key>DoubleClick</key>
                <integer>500</integer>
                <key>Enabled</key>
                <true/>
                <key>Mirror</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Speed</key>
                <integer>8</integer>
            </dict>
            <key>Scan</key>
            <dict>
                <key>Entries</key>
                <true/>
                <key>Legacy</key>
                <string>First</string>
                <key>Tool</key>
                <true/>
            </dict>
            <key>ScreenResolution</key>
            <string>1920x1080</string>
            <key>Theme</key>
            <string>tonymacx86</string>
        </dict>
        <key>Graphics</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <dict>
                <key>ATI</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Intel</key>
                <false/>
                <key>NVidia</key>
                <true/>
            </dict>
            <key>NvidiaSingle</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
        <dict>
            <key>AppleRTC</key>
            <true/>
            <key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Debug</key>
            <false/>
            <key>KernelCpu</key>
            <false/>
            <key>KernelHaswellE</key>
            <false/>
            <key>KernelLapic</key>
            <false/>
            <key>KernelPm</key>
            <true/>
            <key>KextsToPatch</key>
            <array>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>t1-10.9-10.11-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC889</string>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    ixnUEQ==
                    </data>
                    <key>Name</key>
                    <string>AppleHDA</string>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    iQjsEA==
                    </data>
                </dict>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>External icons patch</string>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    RXh0ZXJuYWw=
                    </data>
                    <key>Name</key>
                    <string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    SW50ZXJuYWw=
                    </data>
                </dict>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>t1-10.11-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC...</string>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    gxnUEQ==
                    </data>
                    <key>Name</key>
                    <string>AppleHDA</string>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    AAAAAA==
                    </data>
                </dict>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>t1-AppleHDA/Resources/xml&gt;zml</string>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    eG1sLnps
                    </data>
                    <key>Name</key>
                    <string>AppleHDA</string>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    em1sLnps
                    </data>
                </dict>
            </array>
        </dict>
        <key>RtVariables</key>
        <dict>
            <key>BooterConfig</key>
            <string>0x28</string>
            <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
            <string>0x3</string>
        </dict>
        <key>SMBIOS</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Trust</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>SystemParameters</key>
        <dict>
            <key>InjectKexts</key>
            <string>Yes</string>
            <key>InjectSystemID</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    </plist>


     
     
  10. atilla999

    atilla999

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Nov 12, 2015 at 8:17 PM #10
    atilla999

    atilla999

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    I am getting "missing bluetooth controller transport" thing in verbose mode. So many people experience this trouble. And some solutions are provided. But I couldn't find the correct answer. Many of them are related to newer systems.

    I assume that the problem is about graphics. What could I do?
     

Share This Page