[Guide] Avoid APFS conversion on High Sierra update or fresh install

Discussion in 'High Sierra Laptop Support' started by RehabMan, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. RandomTech

    RandomTech

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    162
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX Vega 64
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 8:16 PM #31
    RandomTech

    RandomTech

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    162
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX Vega 64
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Very helpful thanks, but I have a noob question, from the first 10.13 beta till today I haven't had problems with converting to APFS (or at least thats what I think), so whats the benefit of avoid the APFS?
     
  2. JCMunsonII

    JCMunsonII

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    876
    Motherboard:
    ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    Intel I7-7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA nVidia 1070 FTW2
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 8:25 PM #32
    JCMunsonII

    JCMunsonII

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    876
    Motherboard:
    ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    Intel I7-7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA nVidia 1070 FTW2
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You could always just unplug that Windows drive during installation...
     
  3. Intelis

    Intelis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Motherboard:
    ASRock Z170 Extreme 7+
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RADEON RX 580 8GD5 SPECIAL EDITION
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 8:37 PM #33
    Intelis

    Intelis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Motherboard:
    ASRock Z170 Extreme 7+
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RADEON RX 580 8GD5 SPECIAL EDITION
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I update HIGH Sierra on a 256 Adata SSD... after all was done i had clone my ssd with CARBON on my 960 pro M2 ... and carbone did the clone frim apfs to hfs+.. all done
    Just a simple cloning task and all done...
     
  4. stiligFox

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Maximus VII Gene
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 9:48 PM #34
    stiligFox

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Maximus VII Gene
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti 6G
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I recall pikeralpha was concerned that 3rd party SSDs may not contain the firmware for error correction that a real Apple SSD has, and that APFS relies on this said error correction. Is this still something to worry about? I'm hesitant to update my Hack (I'd rather wait to upgrade to HS until APFS is safe rather than stay on HFS+ (APFS is the only reason for me to upgrade right now)). I'm telling my bro with a real Mac using an OWC to wait as well until I hear that slow data corruption won't be an issue...
     
  5. kkykkl

    kkykkl

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67 Rev 3.1
    CPU:
    Intel I7 2600K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX970 4096MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 10:03 PM #35
    kkykkl

    kkykkl

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67 Rev 3.1
    CPU:
    Intel I7 2600K
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX970 4096MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hello everybody,

    I have small problem when i upgrade sierra to high sierra in verbose mode my system bug in : SATA warning and kernel panic.

    If you have any solution? thanks.
     
  6. choory

    choory

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Motherboard:
    Toshiba E45-B4200
    CPU:
    i5-4210u Haswell
    Graphics:
    hd4400
    Sep 29, 2017 at 12:11 AM #36
    choory

    choory

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Motherboard:
    Toshiba E45-B4200
    CPU:
    i5-4210u Haswell
    Graphics:
    hd4400

    Sure read first!!

    But very difficult!!!!!

    I cant find minstallconfig xml!!n

    My install usb made here

    sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/USB --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app --nointeraction
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  7. H4K0N3

    H4K0N3

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Sony Vaio
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    HD 3000
    Sep 29, 2017 at 12:16 AM #37
    H4K0N3

    H4K0N3

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Sony Vaio
    CPU:
    i3
    Graphics:
    HD 3000
    RehabMan,

    Nice and thanks for one more fabulous Guide.

    Another issues, do know something about when click in "about this mac" in 10.13 don't work? maybe a firmware conflict or missing SMBIOS?

    Best Regards.
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,608
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 12:24 AM #38
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,608
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The installer will only convert the macOS system volume to APFS.
    All other volumes, no matter which disk they are on, will not be converted.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017
  9. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,608
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 12:25 AM #39
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,608
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Off-topic.
    Open a separate thread with "Problem Reporting" files as per FAQ.
     
    H4K0N3 likes this.
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,608
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 12:27 AM #40
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,608
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    minstallconfig.xml is something you edit *after* you have completed the first stage of installation (eg. must boot the USB installer once to copy the related files to /macOS Install Data).

    It is quite clear in post #1, but you're not reading carefully.

    createinstallmedia is just the program you run to create the installer USB. It is not "running the installer"... "running the installer" is accomplished by actually booting the installer from USB and going through the first stage.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice