[Guide] Avoid APFS conversion on High Sierra update or fresh install

Discussion in 'High Sierra Laptop Support' started by RehabMan, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. Mightee

    Mightee

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z77-DS3H rev.1.0
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 20, 2018 at 10:26 PM #371
    Mightee

    Mightee

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z77-DS3H rev.1.0
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm sorry—PR files?
     
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,334
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 20, 2018 at 10:52 PM #372
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,334
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  3. gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Aug 28, 2018 at 7:08 PM #373
    gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Hey RehabMan, thanks for your contribution to the community.

    I have the latest high sierra build on an NVME drive with APFS. I read that TRIM is permanently enabled on these drives with APFS, which may be a big factor in my 2-3 minute boot time. I'm now thinking about whether it is worth the risk of copying my data over to another drive, reformatting into HFS+, and copying it back.

    From what you know about the Mojave beta, is this something that will continue to be a problem or will this TRIM issue be fixed?
     
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,334
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 29, 2018 at 3:07 PM #374
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,334
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Actually, TRIM is always enabled on NVMe.
    I tend to not use NVMe for macOS..., but I might eventually experiment with it more in Mojave.
     
  5. gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Aug 29, 2018 at 10:31 PM #375
    gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Is it enabled for HFS+ too?
     
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,334
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 30, 2018 at 3:14 PM #376
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,334
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes. TRIM is enabled at a lower level than file system choice.
     
  7. gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Aug 30, 2018 at 10:32 PM #377
    gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Hmm, so I may be better off just booting off a slower, non-NVME SSD formatted with HFS+J

    If I then stored my applications and documents on the NVME would that be fine with boot or will boot be slowed just because of the presence of an NVME even if it isn't being used as the boot drive.
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,334
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 31, 2018 at 9:18 PM #378
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,334
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The problem can be avoided with HFS+J because we can disable TRIM.

    Will probably still be a problem as a full TRIM will still likely be performed. It is something you could always try. I use NVMe only for Windows currently.
     
  9. FrogBlastTheVentCore

    FrogBlastTheVentCore

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte P55 USB3 (legacy BIOS)
    CPU:
    i5 750
    Graphics:
    GTX 1050 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 9, 2018 at 6:21 PM #379
    FrogBlastTheVentCore

    FrogBlastTheVentCore

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte P55 USB3 (legacy BIOS)
    CPU:
    i5 750
    Graphics:
    GTX 1050 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Thanks for all the information on this topic - I was able to sucessfully install HS 10.13.6 on a Samsung 840 EVO SSD with the .xml tweak.
    The system seems to work well bar some driver issues BUT I can only boot off the installer USB. Further investigation revealed that the SSD only has the single partition and no EFI boot partition. Previously I had installed using APFS, also succesfully, and noticed that there were FOUR partitions created by the installer including EFI, Recovery, the main system and a preinstaller (I forget the details).

    Has the xml hack resulted in the installer not creating the necessary boot partition?

    Many thanks,
    Frog
     
  10. Feartech

    Feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,308
    Motherboard:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 9, 2018 at 6:23 PM #380
    Feartech

    Feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,308
    Motherboard:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    As per rules, please update your hardware profile to allow others to help you easier
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/account/

    please read the faq for proper hardware profile setup:
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice