[Guide] Avoid APFS conversion on High Sierra update or fresh install

Discussion in 'High Sierra Laptop Support' started by RehabMan, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. Feartech

    Feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6,452
    Motherboard:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 2:43 PM #11
    Feartech

    Feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6,452
    Motherboard:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I thought as much! :)
     
  2. vitaliy.yy

    vitaliy.yy

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG G750JS
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4700HQ
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 27, 2017 at 2:45 PM #12
    vitaliy.yy

    vitaliy.yy

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    Asus ROG G750JS
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4700HQ
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *480.1 GB disk0

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1

    2: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD 478.3 GB disk0s2

    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3
     
  3. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,500
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 2:57 PM #13
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,500
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I don't see any issue there.
    Make sure you're not running with the TRIM patch.

    Further discussion of trying to get "APFS conversion" in a topic titled "Avoid APFS conversion" is off-topic and should be taken to a separate thread.
     
  4. stalvatero

    stalvatero

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Motherboard:
    MSI B250M-Pro VD
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Pulse Rx 560
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 3:43 PM #14
    stalvatero

    stalvatero

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Motherboard:
    MSI B250M-Pro VD
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Pulse Rx 560
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    that's an holy truth...
    Anyway I've upgraded to HS on my company real iMac 4k 2017 with SSD and I cannot notice improvements in speed and reliability. So for now maybe could be raccomended to stay with HSF+J
     
    Allan Oliveira likes this.
  5. MacDaddy123

    MacDaddy123

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    HP EliteBook 2560P (board 162B)
    CPU:
    Core i5-2520M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000 (1366x768)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 6:49 PM #15
    MacDaddy123

    MacDaddy123

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    HP EliteBook 2560P (board 162B)
    CPU:
    Core i5-2520M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000 (1366x768)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I'm attempting to do an in-place upgrade using the command line instructions given, and am encountering an issue indicating that the "helper tool crashed."
     
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,500
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 6:52 PM #16
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,500
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    startosinstall must be run from Terminal after booting from your 10.12 install, NOT the 10.13 installer.
     
  7. MacDaddy123

    MacDaddy123

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    HP EliteBook 2560P (board 162B)
    CPU:
    Core i5-2520M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000 (1366x768)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 8:08 PM #17
    MacDaddy123

    MacDaddy123

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    HP EliteBook 2560P (board 162B)
    CPU:
    Core i5-2520M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000 (1366x768)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    To my understanding this is what I did; downloaded installer from AppStore, quit it, and went to Terminal to run the command as listed above (from within my booted 10.12.6 install).
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,500
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 8:15 PM #18
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,500
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I had no such problem as the one you report.
    Maybe your download of the installer is corrupt.
    Re-download from the Mac App Store.
     
  9. MacDaddy123

    MacDaddy123

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    HP EliteBook 2560P (board 162B)
    CPU:
    Core i5-2520M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000 (1366x768)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 9:03 PM #19
    MacDaddy123

    MacDaddy123

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Motherboard:
    HP EliteBook 2560P (board 162B)
    CPU:
    Core i5-2520M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000 (1366x768)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I did; now it refuses to download installer information to target volume. Not sure what's going on. Will continue to investigate.
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,500
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 9:22 PM #20
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    182,500
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No idea what you mean by "download installer information".
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice