Contribute
Register

[Guide] Asus GL551JW (and similar) (via hotpatching)

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
189,144
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sorry for the delay,

here is an included boot video and problem reporting files


The video is still tough to decipher. If needed, I'm pretty sure I can see each line when i go frame by frame so if I knew more of which section to capture I could recreate the lines
Looks like maybe a KP in the PS2 kexts you installed.
Remove them.
Then seek out latest versions of whichever kexts you're using.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus ROG G551JM
CPU
i7-4710HQ/HM86
Graphics
HD 4600+GTX 860M
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Literally the same latptop model I am using, so, I would assume you would have the exact same results following this guide as I have had.

edit:

Although... I take that back. I replaced the factory intel wifi card with a broadcom BCM94352HMB card that I picked up online for cheap. You won't have wireless with the Intel card for now (or forever)
oh i didnt mention that i already had the wifi card, bcm943225hmb. I just wondering about the guide and spec :D
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus ROG G551JM
CPU
i7-4710HQ/HM86
Graphics
HD 4600+GTX 860M
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
1 more problem. When i use all of your work my hackintosh becoming none qe/ci. Which file should I modify?

edit: my device id is 0x04128086, my ig-platform-id: 0x0a260006
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
189,144
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Laptop: Asus GL551JW (Clover)
CPU
I7 4720HQ (2.6GHz, max 3.6GHz)
Graphics
Nvidia 960M/Intel HD4600, 1920x1080
1 more problem. When i use all of your work my hackintosh becoming none qe/ci. Which file should I modify?

edit: my device id is 0x04128086, my ig-platform-id: 0x0a260006
Hi there,

Sorry for the delay, been offline for a while.

Anywho, just to clarify, are you setting these via modifications to my config.plist, or editing the config SSDT (SSDT-ZRSC.aml)?
Assuming you made the changes via the SSDT, I'd try with platform id 0x04260000, as that ended up being what worked for me.

To swap just follow the comments in the SSDT-ZRSC.dsl file and recompile.

Also, as RehabMan said, the problem reporting files are really helpful, so if you still have issues, please ensure you include them in your next post.

Hope that helps,
Zach
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Laptop: Asus GL551JW (Clover)
CPU
I7 4720HQ (2.6GHz, max 3.6GHz)
Graphics
Nvidia 960M/Intel HD4600, 1920x1080
you don't need a sorted order with hotpatch, not to say that will solve your issue though :)
Didn't actually know that either.

Don't you need to have your SSDTs there for Clover to inject them, or does it do so regardless?
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Laptop: Asus GL551JW (Clover)
CPU
I7 4720HQ (2.6GHz, max 3.6GHz)
Graphics
Nvidia 960M/Intel HD4600, 1920x1080
Sorry for the delay,

here is an included boot video and problem reporting files

The video is still tough to decipher. If needed, I'm pretty sure I can see each line when i go frame by frame so if I knew more of which section to capture I could recreate the lines

Hiya,

Sorry for the delay, been offline.

Can you double check you have the latest copies of the kexts? Should be 4.7 b5 for ApplePS2SmartTouchPad, and 2.6 for AsusNBFnKeys. @RehabMan, I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post mine here, can you clarify that?

Also, don't think you need GenericUSBXHCI, though I'm not 100% sure. I don't have it.

Only other advice I can give is check the ACPI paths in my PS2K SSDT are the same in your files. I'll check a bit later and edit this post.



EDIT
I've rewatched your boot video, and looked over your files. I think you're using the latest versions of the kexts, although there might be a plist issue? I've PM'd you a copy of mine to try for now. Your ACPI paths seem to be the same as mine, so I don't think that's a problem.

Also, @RehabMan, I'm not sure if you saw it in the video, but there's a few lines about an ACPI call:
Code:
ACPI Warning: \_SB.ATKD.???? Inefficient arguments - Caller passed 0, method requires 1 (20160930/nsarguments-333)
Could you try boot with debug enabled for DSDT?
 
Last edited:

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
16,750
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Didn't actually know that either.

Don't you need to have your SSDTs there for Clover to inject them, or does it do so regardless?
it will inject them regardless
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Laptop: Asus GL551JW (Clover)
CPU
I7 4720HQ (2.6GHz, max 3.6GHz)
Graphics
Nvidia 960M/Intel HD4600, 1920x1080
it will inject them regardless
The more you know.

Is there any issue with the order they're injected? Or does that not matter either?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
189,144
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Top