Contribute
Register

[Guide] Alternative to the minStolenSize patch with 32mb DVMT-prealloc

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
* Brightness Adjust (I removed the kext patch and SSDT to clean up)

This brightness guide still working:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...rol-using-applebacklightinjector-kext.218222/
No expectation of brightness control without the graphics drivers loading.

But more importantly, I cannot boot without platformid 0x12345678 . My old fix seemingly does not work anymore.

When I try platformid 59160000 I get a KP very early in the boot process. If I try 591b0000, with corresponding patch values
Find: 01030303 00006002 00005001
Replace: 01030303 00003001 00009000

You must boot with invalid ig-platform-id, then rebuild cache, then reboot to expect any patch to work.
You should check the binary to see the ig-platform-id data you're trying to patch.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This is the last thing the verbose shows when trying to boot with the dvmt patch and using 59160000 or 59260000 (I use different, correct hex values depending on which platform Id I am using):
View attachment 280302
The last message appears over and over again, until after maybe 30 tries, the computer reboots.

You forgot kernel flag -disablegfxfirmware.

It is present in the guide plist.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
 
Joined
May 28, 2016
Messages
391
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170N-WIFI (ITX)
CPU
6700K
Graphics
Asus Strix R9 380X
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
51
Motherboard
GA-H67MA-USB3-B3
CPU
i7-2600
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
And I think that is the default setting for most of the new Kaby Lake laptops with QHD.
What about a skylake with a UHD with 64mb prealloc needing 128...?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What about a skylake with a UHD with 64mb prealloc needing 128...?

Quite possible all UHD needs 128mb and appropriate patches.
But I think I remember seeing reports of it working with 64mb.
You will find out as you work through the problems... it is impossible to predict the future.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
1
Motherboard
Lenovo B40-80
CPU
i3-5005u Broadwell
Graphics
Intel HD 5500
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
hi, I use laptop Lenovo b40-80 broadwell intel HD 5500, I tried all your ig-platform-id for broadwell and your config.plist and no see error, but Qe/Ci still not work. I checked on windows dvmd 128mb and my bios not supported change dvmt. what should I do? thanks
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hi, I use laptop Lenovo b40-80 broadwell intel HD 5500, I tried all your ig-platform-id for broadwell and your config.plist and no see error, but Qe/Ci still not work. I checked on windows dvmd 128mb and my bios not supported change dvmt. what should I do? thanks

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
198
Motherboard
EVGA P55 Micro SLI
CPU
i5-760
Graphics
GTX 760
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is there a way to implement this kind of patch on a Sandy bridge laptop?

Thanks in advance.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there a way to implement this kind of patch on a Sandy bridge laptop?

Thanks in advance.

It is probably possible, but I don't know where the data is stored in the kext.
It might be hardcoded instead of in a table (unlike later kexts).
Determine how it is handled will likely require some disassembly/analysis of the kext binary.
You might also use google to see if someone else has already done the research.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
69
Motherboard
Yoga C930
CPU
i7- 8550U
Graphics
UHD620
Hi, Rehabman. In July I had been disturbing you about the issue with HD620 graphics of 2880*1920 on my laptop. The old minStolenSize patch finally works so I abandon this new way. However, the minStolenSize patch broke since on 10.13.2 beta and I managed to figure it out even though I know less about reverse engineering.
Find: 896db8764648
Replace: 896db8ed4648

And now I have nearly finished courses on this semester and decide to re-install the system. So I started to dig into this new way patch. The so-called freeze is probably the graphics refused to recognize the high resolution at boot time(CoreDisplayFixup.kext is present for my situation). If I connect it to an external monitor, it will output normally(with 591b0000 it may glitch and crash soon, which is weird) and the built-in display is still blank. After several cycle of tests, I found by raising 19mb fb and 9mb cursor to 22+9 or 24+8 (I haven't test the minimum combination required but I can confirm 21+9 is not working so far)will get it working. It seems the fb sizes corresponding to the screen sizes and should be expanded for proper functional.

I wonder how will these affect graphics? You mentioned 19+9 comes from Azul, so it is true that the fb.kext will simply pass the remaining process to other part or other kexts as long as the fb and cursors sizes meet the need of built-in display? And the rest of 32-19-9 would have nothing to do so is it right to fill that fully with fb and cursor (for my case is 24+8)?
 
Top