Contribute
Register

[Guide] Airport - PCIe Half Mini v2

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,702
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks~
BT is finally working.
I suggest this step be added into the required instructions for BCM94352HMB. Or it depends on other conditions?

It is already in post #1. You missed and/or skipped it.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
HP ProBook 450G2
CPU
i7
Graphics
Intel 4400
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone

On my brand new HP ProBook 450 G2 I managed to install Yosemite 10.10.3 with CLOVER update 3202 native UEFI. Almost everything working fine except internal WiFi (external TpLink USB dongle was ok)
I allready swapped, in order:
two different Azurewave AR5B95 and one Atheros AR9280 (AR5BHB92) with the same results. Network card recognized but no wireless device are detected at all. Also manually entering the SSID and password doesn't seems to work...:banghead:

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 21.34.18.png

I reinstalled clover, replaced the original kexts from a working OSX 10.10.3 (on a TM Apple mac mini), deleted all the system preferences "network related" without success.

The device seems to be correctly recognized by the OS


Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 21.31.59.png

In the system information also seems to be correctly recognized

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 21.33.11.png


System logs shows scan in progress every time I enable the wifi

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 22.03.25.png

When I try to create a wireless network by myself i also get an error I don't understand in the wifi logs.
Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 22.07.06.png

I don't know what else attach more... Any of you that had the pleasure to get these adapters fully working right OOB please, help me finding what is driving me nuts.:crazy:
 

Attachments

  • bootlog.log.txt
    18.7 KB · Views: 158
  • CLOVER%20config.plist
    1.4 KB · Views: 144
  • PCI.txt
    24.1 KB · Views: 149

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,702
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,999
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hibernation disabled?

@RM,

I disabled it a long time ago with :-

Code:
sudo pmset hibernatemode 0

And also have
Code:
<key>NeverHibernate</key>
<true/>
in Clover config.plist.

Am wondering if there is a method to change/re-flash the firmware on the card with new CC ?

It just doesn't make any sense, but its definitely something to do with the 10.10.3, i restored 10.10.2 timemachine backup and its does not suffer from this issue when switching between SSID's

Have just got a Asus Z97I-Plus ITX mobo for a new build which comes with AW-CE123H already fitted to the mPCIe so will see if that also suffers from the issue.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
HP ProBook 450G2
CPU
i7
Graphics
Intel 4400
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi rehabman! Do you mean provide us with a full troubleshooting file? I read the guide and followed every step I tought it was significant for my hardware configuration. Do you think I'm missing something so obvious? I will appreciate furthure hint to get rid of the issue.
Thanks
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,702
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@RM,

I disabled it a long time ago with :-

Code:
sudo pmset hibernatemode 0

And also have
Code:
<key>NeverHibernate</key>
<true/>
in Clover config.plist.

Just to be sure, check it. Updates tend to turn it back on.

Am wondering if there is a method to change/re-flash the firmware on the card with new CC ?

It just doesn't make any sense, but its definitely something to do with the 10.10.3, i restored 10.10.2 timemachine backup and its does not suffer from this issue when switching between SSID's

Have just got a Asus Z97I-Plus ITX mobo for a new build which comes with AW-CE123H already fitted to the mPCIe so will see if that also suffers from the issue.

Seems like it is an unpatched code path in the kext, but that code path only matters in a specific scenario on your machine.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,702
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi rehabman! Do you mean provide us with a full troubleshooting file? I read the guide and followed every step I tought it was significant for my hardware configuration. Do you think I'm missing something so obvious? I will appreciate furthure hint to get rid of the issue.
Thanks

You should follow the ProBook Guide. And if something isn't working, post troubleshooting files as the requested by the guide. Do not post here, post in the ProBook forum.

Note: Best to use quoted replies in long/busy threads like this one.
 
Joined
May 1, 2010
Messages
387
Motherboard
motherboard or system make & model # > See Rules!
CPU
Intel> Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
Graphics > model # > See Rules!
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok so now I understand why there is so few reactions about CountryCode Change :
Country code is easily replaceable in the patch
this had already been discovered earlier ... (many weeks earlier ... ;) ).
Warning: Depending on the country you live in this may be a departure from local regulations so use with caution...
This feature was important for this exact reason, thats why I wanted my CC to be the one of my country.

Unaware of @the-darkvoid's works on CC, I gave a closer look to the US/FCC patch, I otooled AirPortBrcm4360 and I compared d binaries and AirPortBrcm4360.c.

And I came across the same results as @the-darkvoid ... :
you can patch the CC you want as long as it is present in AirPortBrcm4360 : you just have to replace the 2-letters code with the corresponding Hex values.
Use Terminal to convert (replace CC with the country code of your choice from AirPortBrcm4360)
Code:
echo CC| xxd -p -l 2


This feature is a HUGE step forward for me (even more than 5 GHz, as I don't own a "ac" router).

And I really think this should be put in the first post, because not everybody comes from the US on this forum !



BTW

GB (Not sure if this is a working code) -> seems OK (output is "GO" ?!?)
UK (Not sure if this a working code)-> not working
DE (Untested)->OK
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
ASUS Z270G
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thank you sooooo much! I can confirm that country code "HK" is working.


Not related to country code:
I am using a 2.4GHz dual band wireless N router. I have 3 issues now.

1: PHY mode on my hackintosh is 802.11ac, not N.
2: Dual band seems to be not working. Cannot connect to 40MHz. Does bcm94352 supports dualband Wireless N?
3. Speed is very low. Normal speed in Windows but not in Mac. Am i using wrong drivers?

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,999
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just to be sure, check it. Updates tend to turn it back on.

Seems like it is an unpatched code path in the kext, but that code path only matters in a specific scenario on your machine.

@RM,

Have checked Hibernation and can confirm that it is disabled.

Today I built a new dev system based on ASUS Z97i-Plus ITX mobo which has AW-CE123H fitted as standard, it works great but suffers from the same issue, switching SSID causes CC to be reset to XT as does long sleep.

Have also updated one of my other hacks to 10.10.3 (GA-Z87N-WiFi with AW-CE123H) and that does the same, 10.10.2 was fine .... This system was using my older method of using BTFirmware Uploader and Toledia's enabler kexts .... switched it to using the new FakePCIID method but issue remains.

So three completely different systems on 10.10.3 are all suffering from the same issue, the only common dominators are that they are all on 10.10.3 and using AW-CE123H. My Laptop and the Z87N system are using AW-CE123H WiFi/BT cards which i bought from the states via Ebay, the Asus mobo came fitted with one as standard.

All three systems use the following kexts :-

BrcmPatchRAM.kext
FakePCIID_BCM94352Z_as_BCM94360CS2.kext
FakePCIID.kext

With the Darkvoids CC Clover Patch:-

Code:
Find:    E8510E00 0085C074 
Replace: 66C70623 619090EB

Above patch is for CC as #a but have also tried US, GB, DE ... etc

All systems reset country code to XT after changing SSID or long sleep.

So either i'm doing something wrong or missing something ...

However since the behaviour was the same using the older BT & WiFi kexts and patches i can only assume that its a result of the 10.10.3 update ....

I've tried updating the firmware on my Router and changing the CC code on that but it makes no difference, 5Ghz works without issue on my tablet.

Have tried disabling 802.11d protocol but again makes no difference.

All Three systems have the same VID/PID (14E4/43B1) and work fine under Windows 7

Totally stumped now ...

Cheers
Jay
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top