Contribute
Register

GTX960 HDMI 2.0 - 4K TV - 30hz only - how to get 60hz?

Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
ASUS X79 Deluxe LGA 2011
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980 Windforce
Yes, I did patch the IOKit and am starting OS X (10.11.6) with "nv_spanmodepolicy = 1". What do you mean by revealing the HiDPI resolutions, is there a second command to issue beside the patch itself?

I do have 1080p60 in the list, but I had to create a 2160p60 by myself. I would like to use 1440p60 because my screen is 65 inches in size and this would give me a bit more space without reducing readability. Unfortunately there is no 2550x1440 with 60 Hz in the list, even after patching. And I am unable to create one, because either I create a scaled resolution (which in turn uses 30Hz) or I create a physical resolution but the textboxes for scaling are invisible.


I had to run this terminal command to enable HiDPI resolutions.

sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist DisplayResolutionEnabled -bool true
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme Omega
CPU
Core i9 10980XE
Graphics
AMD Vega 64 XTX
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist DisplayResolutionEnabled -bool true

Yes, I did that, but this did not change anything for my Samsung-TV. The control panel for it is the Retina-like one with no possibility to change anything other to choose from five buttons.
 

Attachments

  • Samsung Control Panel.png
    Samsung Control Panel.png
    113.7 KB · Views: 183
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
ASUS X79 Deluxe LGA 2011
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980 Windforce
Are you sure your Samsung TV supports 1440p? I have a sony x850c and it only seems to be able to use 1080p or 2160p. I can choose between 4096X2160 or 3840x2160, but nothing in between those numbers and 1080p (such as 1440p).
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme Omega
CPU
Core i9 10980XE
Graphics
AMD Vega 64 XTX
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, I does support a wide variety of resolutions, including those. What I want - at the end - is 3840x2160@60 downscaled to 3008x1692 or 2560x1440 (HiDPI). I can get this with 30 Hz but I fail to get it at 60 Hz.

EDIT:
I have managed to get what I wanted. Here is what I did for El Capitan:

1. Patch IOKit
2. Add custom resolution (3840x2160@60) via SwitchResX
3. Find the monitor definition file, in my case /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-4c2d/DisplayYearManufacture-2016-DisplayWeekManufacture-1
4. Go to https://comsysto.github.io/Display-...or-with-HiDPI-Support-For-Scaled-Resolutions/, add the HiDPI modes you which to have into the web interface and copy&paste the "scale-resolutions" key and the array node below into your monitor definition file.
5. Reboot
6. While in SysPrefs->Display hold down the option key while clicking on "Scaled" to get a full list of possible resolutions instead of the Retina-Five-Button choice. Select your preferred HiDPI mode and select 60 Hz as refresh rate.
7. Enjoy.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
1
Motherboard
mac
CPU
intel
Graphics
intel
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi! Did someone solve the problem with
GTX960 HDMI 2.0 - 4K TV - 30hz only - how to get 60hz?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 16, 2011
Messages
26
Motherboard
ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
CPU
i7-2700k
Graphics
MSI 1080Z
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Stuck on HDMI 2.0 LG OLED 55" 4K TV. The pixel patch is not working on 10.12.4 final version.
I can only use 4K @ 30Hz
Have same problem with samsung (too 4k and hdmi 2.0).
If you find any solution, can tell me, please?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
19
Motherboard
MSI X99s SLI Plus
CPU
Intel 5820k - 4.3 GHhz
Graphics
Asus NVIDIA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Have same problem with samsung (too 4k and hdmi 2.0).
If you find any solution, can tell me, please?
use DisplayPort to cdmi adapter from club3d.

I think hdmi doesn't work natively with Macos. either thunderbolt or dp.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2011
Messages
26
Motherboard
ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
CPU
i7-2700k
Graphics
MSI 1080Z
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
use DisplayPort to cdmi adapter from club3d.

I think hdmi doesn't work natively with Macos. either thunderbolt or dp.

Saw this adapters, and one thing is disturbing my mind. Adatper have name "Displayport 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 UHD". My 2 other dell displays wont work if i enable DP 1.2 in their menus, only prev. version. How it should work?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
19
Motherboard
MSI X99s SLI Plus
CPU
Intel 5820k - 4.3 GHhz
Graphics
Asus NVIDIA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Saw this adapters, and one thing is disturbing my mind. Adatper have name "Displayport 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 UHD". My 2 other dell displays wont work if i enable DP 1.2 in their menus, only prev. version. How it should work?

the TV won't have dp at all. in order to get 4k@60 on your TV you would need that adapter since TV's generally don't come with dp.

hdmi port on gpu in Mac doesn't work. I have the dp to cdmi adapter hooked up to my cpu and TV and I'm getting 4K@60 with Chrome 4:4:4 as well.
 
Top