Contribute
Register

GTX 660 ti 2GB and 9500 GT not working together 10.8.3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
Mountain Lion 10.8.3
CPU
i5-2500k
Graphics
HD3000 + ASUS GTX 660 ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello,

i installed the new Mountain Lion 10.8.3. Want to work with Davinci Resolve with 9500GT as GUI and GTX 660ti as GPU.

EVGA 9500 GT 1GB as GUI works perfect with GraphicsEnabler=Yes . ASUS GTX 660 ti 2GB is recognised as Unknown, together installed.

ASUS 660 ti 2Gb as GUI with GraphicsEnabler=No works perfect. EVGA 9500 GT 1GB is recognised, together installed.

EVGA 9500 GT 1GB as GUI with GraphicsEnabler=No Black Screen.

I waste two days but could not install it. I need the 9500 GT as GUI, but when i change to GraphicsEnabler=No for 660 ti, i have a black screen.

If the problem can't be fix, maybe i need a new GUI Card which support GraphicsEnabler=No OOB. Please Help!

My System:
Asus P8Z68V
i5-2500K
4x4GB DDR3 1333
GUI: EVGA 1GB 9500 GT
GPU: ASUS 2GB 660 ti
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
1,271
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To shoot straight with you a GTX660 ti should be more then enough for DaVinci Resolve. If not then maybe return it and get a GTX 670 or 680. :)

Are you working with RED RAW 5K footage? And, are you keeping it RAW?

Lastly, if having a GPU that only is used for the GUI then use the Intel HD 3000 and let the GTX660 ti do all your Phyx type work.

I know this may not be what you were looking for but there are several options for having your cake and eating it too with this machine.

Good luck and happy editing.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
Mountain Lion 10.8.3
CPU
i5-2500k
Graphics
HD3000 + ASUS GTX 660 ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I will try it with the internal graphics and GTX 660 ti. Report later.

I work with Black Magic Camera Raw, Alexa Prores 444.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
Mountain Lion 10.8.3
CPU
i5-2500k
Graphics
HD3000 + ASUS GTX 660 ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Tested with IGPU HD3000 + 660ti. Modified my Bios Settings and installed normally. GraphicsEnabler=No. Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V

660 ti is recognised. HD3000 is still 64MB Graphic. Tried to fix with this guide: http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...d3000-hd4000-amd-nvidia-working-together.html

I edit DSDT. I don't know exactly where to place the code. Maybe i do it wrong, because after reboot i had somthing like:

dcbtable_version is 0x3
nVidia ROM patching failed

and failed to boot.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
1,271
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can get my computer to boot with HD4000 but it won't show up as HD4000 under system profiler.

I can still use CUDA apps and get hardware acceleration. Now, a can off worms is opened up and I want to figure out how to get it running right. LOL.

I decided to go back to using GPU for displays. I get a lot of artifacts when using the internal HD4000. I was worth the shoot though.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
59
Motherboard
X99P SLI
CPU
Xeon E5
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i installed the new Mountain Lion 10.8.3. Want to work with Davinci Resolve with 9500GT as GUI and GTX 660ti as GPU.

I've been using the onboard HD3000 as for GUI, and my Radeon 6850 for GPU in Davinci Resolve. You need to set the system profile to Mac Mini 5,1 in Multibeast to make it work, and make sure in the BIOS your internal HD3000 graphics card is set as the primary.

Do bear in mind this might cause applications like Premiere and After Effects to not see your 660ti; I don't have a CUDA card at the moment so it's not been a problem for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top