Contribute
Register

GTX 660 glitch issue with MacOS High Sierra 10.13

Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
261
Motherboard
Dell 9010 XRRDV desktop
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
hmmmmmmm.... thats such a task..... I wonder what 'exactly' in 10.13 is causing these issues?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2012
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi guys,

I had exactly the same problem with glitches (that have been also exporting to video files rendered in fcpx) on both GTX 680 and GTX 1060 cards. Tried going from default os x video drive to web driver, no changes. The correct solution was to remove InjectIntel=True from clover config and to set in BIOS to initialize first PCIE card and disabled intel graphics. Boom! Since that moment all problems were gone. Also rendering times in FCPX improved enormously. When glitches were present, it took more than 8 hours to render a 4 minute 4K video with a lot of color grading, and right now I'm seeing that it took only 7 minutes to have 25% of the job done. So to summarize, to get rid of the glitches you need or to completely disable built-in graphics, or to (my guess) inject it correctly.

PS: OS X version is High Sierra 10.13.2.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2015
Messages
87
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170XP-SLI
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,

I had exactly the same problem with glitches (that have been also exporting to video files rendered in fcpx) on both GTX 680 and GTX 1060 cards. Tried going from default os x video drive to web driver, no changes. The correct solution was to remove InjectIntel=True from clover config and to set in BIOS to initialize first PCIE card and disabled intel graphics. Boom! Since that moment all problems were gone. Also rendering times in FCPX improved enormously. When glitches were present, it took more than 8 hours to render a 4 minute 4K video with a lot of color grading, and right now I'm seeing that it took only 7 minutes to have 25% of the job done. So to summarize, to get rid of the glitches you need or to completely disable built-in graphics, or to (my guess) inject it correctly.

PS: OS X version is High Sierra 10.13.2.

hmm.. does it still stick even if you play....say a youtube video in full screen? Opening VLC and playing a movie triggers it for me. Tempted to install high sierra again to test
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus Z97i Plus
CPU
core i7 4790
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi guys,

I had exactly the same problem with glitches (that have been also exporting to video files rendered in fcpx) on both GTX 680 and GTX 1060 cards. Tried going from default os x video drive to web driver, no changes. The correct solution was to remove InjectIntel=True from clover config and to set in BIOS to initialize first PCIE card and disabled intel graphics. Boom! Since that moment all problems were gone. Also rendering times in FCPX improved enormously. When glitches were present, it took more than 8 hours to render a 4 minute 4K video with a lot of color grading, and right now I'm seeing that it took only 7 minutes to have 25% of the job done. So to summarize, to get rid of the glitches you need or to completely disable built-in graphics, or to (my guess) inject it correctly.

PS: OS X version is High Sierra 10.13.2.


I have do exacly what you did and for me nothing changes... still have glitches/artifacs ... this method don´t fixes the problem. (for me in my system)
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
50
Motherboard
GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
Intel i7-4770
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
It seems a WebGL issue. For me, it appears when I try google maps in Chome.

After a lot of trial and error, I managed to do something right:

1. I used the Nvidia DVI port and the problems persisted.
2. Edit clover.config and remove Intel Inject.
3. Restart - BIOS
- Enable Intel Graphic Chip (64 MB)
- Init first: IGFX
4. Save
5. Move the monitor cable to the motherboard DVI port.

It will work.
The system reporter app is reporting both graphics chips.

No more artifacts...
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H; 16GB RAM; 256GB Corsair Force 3 SSD
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
so you are basically using Integrated Graphics
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
50
Motherboard
GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
Intel i7-4770
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I really don't know if there is a switch mechanism, but for the moment the geforce is unusable for me :(
How can I test?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H; 16GB RAM; 256GB Corsair Force 3 SSD
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
Well, from my understanding, some motherboards can do pass-through from the gpu through the iGPU; I know mine does, but I don't use that feature as running a hackintosh is a pain in the ass as it is.

I have serious doubts that macOS would even support this feature (I'm 95% confident it does not), and I'm too lazy to test it out on my rig.
I have enough troubles getting High Sierra to play nice as it is. (Which is why I'm on this thread)
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
368
Motherboard
MSI Z270 M7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I gave up too, switched to a GTX 770 for 50€ and all seems to work fine now :)
 
Top