Contribute
Register

GT 610 doesn't boot without nv_disable=1

Status
Not open for further replies.

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Config looks fine.

This isn't a config issue or an SMBIOS issue. I have a GT 610 in my second build and I ended up reverting back to El Capitan after spending several hours trying to get Sierra to work properly.

Tried: iMac12,1/13,2/14,2, installing all of the Nvidia kexts from El Capitan, using the Web Driver for Sierra, SSDT injection...

This card worked OOB on all previous versions of OS X.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You could try doing an Nvidia driver rollback.
IE erase 10.12.0 Nvidia kexts use the Nvidia kexts from 10.11.6.

(Use proper kexts insulation app or terminal command)

Tried it but I couldn't get it to work.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
97
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97-HD3
CPU
Intel Core i5 3.2GHz 4460
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 950 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Tried it but I couldn't get it to work.

The Unibeast 7 has the inject Nvidia option which says it has support for 610 and 630.

Might this work?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
133
Motherboard
Gigabyte P55A-UD4
CPU
i7 860
Graphics
Radeon HD 5670
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. PowerBook
  3. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This isn't a config issue or an SMBIOS issue. I have a GT 610 in my second build and I ended up reverting back to El Capitan after spending several hours trying to get Sierra to work properly.

Tried: iMac12,1/13,2/14,2, installing all of the Nvidia kexts from El Capitan, using the Web Driver for Sierra, SSDT injection...

This card worked OOB on all previous versions of OS X.

Same problem here whith a test machine (GA-Z68AP-D3 + i7 2600k + Clover Legacy) .. Not only with GT610. Tried NVidia GTX680 and GT440 and same problem. DVI out works perfect with El Capitan but "No Signal" with Sierra.
 
Last edited:

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Unibeast 7 has the inject Nvidia option which says it has support for 610 and 630.

Might this work?

The GT 630 is working for many people already and you have always had to Inject Nvidia for the GT 610 unless the Clover 3766 release that Unibeast 7 uses fixes it. I haven't tried it.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Same problem here whith a test machine (GA-Z68AP-D3 + i7 2600k + Clover Legacy) .. Not only with GT610. Tried NVidia GTX680 and GT440 and same problem. DVI out works perfect with El Capitan but "No Signal" with Sierra.

I tired all 3 ports on my GT 610, all work in El Capitan and none work in Sierra.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
40
Motherboard
GA-Z68P-DS3
CPU
2700k
Graphics
Sapphire HD 7970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Same issue here but with 9800 gt 512mb...seems Mac is relegating some older vga's this time round
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1
Same issue here but with 9800 gt 512mb...seems Mac is relegating some older vga's this time round
Same thing here, but with a 9400 gt 512mb, only boots with nv_disable=1, I created the installer with UniBeast 7.0.1, tried booting with GraphicsEnabler=True, without nv_disable=1, but it didn't work either. Is there a way to install the Kexts after the installation?
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
28
Motherboard
Sony VAIO Fit Multi-flip 15A (SVF15N1S2E)
CPU
Intel Core i5-4200U (Intel Haswell)
Graphics
Intel HD 4400 - 1920x1080
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Same issue here but with 9800 gt 512mb...seems Mac is relegating some older vga's this time round
Not sure, my GT 610 cards didn't work so I bought a couple of cheap GT 210 cards. These are released three years before the GT 610 and work like a charm with Clover/Sierra
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top