Contribute
Register

Greetings - Ready to pull the trigger! Come see.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z490 Unify
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RTX 3070 Founders
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
  3. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello. First off, let me say greetings to everyone. :) Second, allow me to introduce myself, my name's Blackstar. Long time lurker, first time poster just about to pull the trigger on entering the wide world of Hackintosh ownership. Been a long time Apple/Mac user since '84. Currently have seven working Macs in the house now ranging from Mac Mini's to G4 Servers. A digital video editor by trade and having a few PC/Overclocker/Modder friends, I was curious to get into making my own.

But enough about me. After much researching here and other sources, I've compiled a parts list I'd love to get some feedback on. Basically I'm looking to start out with a basic/simple/stable i7 machine running 10.6.4 as vanilla as possible with everything working and the least amount of 'hoop-jumping' my first time out. ;)

Read about sound and ethernet being the main issues with these mobo's.
Once it's up and running, I'll be modding, upgrading video and cooler, overclocking, etc as I gain more experience. Have built/modded my own PC's in the past, so putting them together is not a problem. Just want to get as 'perfect' components as possible that will be a good foundation and last me a good while. Here's what I had in mind:

- Mobo - (read some rev's have better audio / ethernet compatibility due to chip type?)

GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R (rev 1)
or
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R (rev 2)
or
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD5

- Video - (read everything on Palit card worked out of the box. Not sure on the other)

Palit GeForce 9800 GT 1GB
or
GIGABYTE GeForce 9800 GT 1GB Silent Cell
or
(something else - open to suggestions)

- CPU - (read the i920 is better for compatibility / over-clocking? Anyone confirm?)