Contribute
Register

Greenish artifacts in FCP

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 26, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
GA-Z97M-D3H
CPU
i7-4790K 4 GHz
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB
Hi,

after the recent updates to 10.13.2 and Final Cut Pro 10.4, rendered videos or optimized converted media become just a bunch of greenish pixel mud!

I was trying to use DaVinci Resolve, but it crashes always when viewing clips upon import.

Also, Safari causes the system to completely freeze when there are certain videos played on a website - I am using Chrome to prevent that. I had this issue with another nvidia card before (GTX 780 Ti).

Not sure what is causing all this spanning across multiple versions of macOS and graphic cards... I read that is not recommended to inject Intel when using nvidia webdrivers, but I cannot boot without the Intel injection.
 

Attachments

  • artifacts.png
    artifacts.png
    2.3 MB · Views: 1,056
  • config.plist
    4.8 KB · Views: 185
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
1
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z270M-D3H (rev. 1.0)
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake Quad-Core 4.2 GHz
Graphics
PowerColor RED DEVIL Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 AXRX 580 8GBD5-3DH/OC 8GB
I am also experiencing the same, green pixel mud, as you describe; however, I'm on HS 10.13.1 and Final Cut Pro 10.4. I mainly use the machine for FCP editing. It all worked well before the updates. I've been troubleshooting this for days, and have not yet found a root cause.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    7.3 KB · Views: 265
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
87
Motherboard
Asus z97 Sabertooth Mark II
CPU
i7-4790k
Graphics
ASUS ROG STRIX 480x 8GB
Sure enough I'm having the same issue. I turned off background render and deleted the cache. Temporary fix but live rendering makes it drop frames. It looks like raw media has no issue but as soon as anything is placed on it and it renders it freaks out. For now im going to export to do a final render on my laptop (4 hours later...) I'll report back if I find anything. Let me know if you guys figure it out!
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
GA-Z97M-D3H
CPU
i7-4790K 4 GHz
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB
I think it has something to to with the intel graphics acceleration. In the console, I get very often
Code:
GVA error: IORegistryEntryCreateCFProperty failed for display number X, IOVARendererID property not found
and
Code:
GVA error: Flow_QT0::physicalAcceleratorDispose, m_physical_accel_created == false

Which lead me to https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...intel-hd-graphics-in-imac-17-1.216447/page-12.

However, I had no success for now.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
87
Motherboard
Asus z97 Sabertooth Mark II
CPU
i7-4790k
Graphics
ASUS ROG STRIX 480x 8GB
Leaving whatevergreen and lilu, and reverting to boot to black screen seems to be a temporary solution. I have a 2 monitor setup, one plugged into the gfx one to the mobo so I can see what im booting to and get into bios if necessary. Im still researching but Ive got some upcoming footage due so I suppose this is how I avoid working on my laptop!
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 960
Hello friend, your problem is the same as me, but I have found the problem and have been solved.
The problem is that you are sure to overfrequency your CPU, and don't do it again if you want to use FCP smoothly.
I'm sorry I'm not good at Chinese English. The above information is translated by Google
Hope to help you!
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus p8z68-V
CPU
i5 2500K
Graphics
AMD HD6870
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi, I'm getting the same issues described on this thread. When updated to 10.4 whenever I render anything it just becomes artifacts, sometimes green too.
Has anyone found any ways to solve this?

Nic-Kin, could you care and try to explain that again?

this was on a:
GA-Z170X-DESIGNARE
i7 7700
GeForce GTX 1060
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
5
Hi!

Same as you guys I'm experiencing this very annoying issue with final cut, apparently it is from the 10.4 update as I had no problem before. You can see the picture of what happend during editing.
 

Attachments

  • Sans titre.jpeg
    Sans titre.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 416
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
5
Hello friend, your problem is the same as me, but I have found the problem and have been solved.
The problem is that you are sure to overfrequency your CPU, and don't do it again if you want to use FCP smoothly.
I'm sorry I'm not good at Chinese English. The above information is translated by Google
Hope to help you!

It could be a clue. The problem appears only after a few minutes of editing, or during rendering
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus Z170-P
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
AMD RX 480 8GB
I had the same rendering problem with FCP on my hackintosh.
Problem is in enabling hardware encoding, there is some settings in clover that needs to be made to get rid off this problem.

Fix that I found from another website(i can't link the page because of forum rules, but google it):

HOW TO FIX VIDEO RENDERING ISSUES IN FCPX HIGH SIERRA

CONFIG.PLIST CHANGES:
  1. Navigate to Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/
  2. Open config.plist with Clover Configurator
  3. Select System Parameters on left-side column
  4. Verify Inject Kexts is set to Yes
  5. Select Boot on left-side column
  6. Under Custom flags add:
    1. AMD users:
      1. shikigva=4
      2. -rad4200
    2. Nvidia users:
      1. shikigva=12
    3. Intel iGPU-only users:
      1. shikigva=1
  7. Kaby Lake & Coffee Lake Users:
    • Select Devices on left-side column
    • Set IntelGFX box to: 0x59128086 or if using an i3-8100/i3-8350k set to: 0x59168086
    • Select Graphics on left-side column
    • Using Nvidia or AMD
      • Set ig-platform-id to: 0x59120003
    • Using Intel iGPU
      • Set ig-platform-id to: 0x59120000

These settings to clover fixed for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top