Contribute
Register

Graphics problem with RTX 2070 and Mojave

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming K6
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RTX 2070
No ideas on that?
btw, in the bootmenu if i choose my win 10 hard disk, integrated graphics works fine even with the graphics card being plugged in...
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
502
Motherboard
MSI TRX40 Creator
CPU
AMD Threadripper 3970X
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My graphics card is actually working. kind of... i don't get acceleration and some apps like Preview will crash or cause unpleasant lags.
My problem for now: I'd unplug my card to use internal graphics. Works great! Preview, Logic,.. everything's showing up correctly and smoothly.
But as soon as I plug in my card again and set up the BIOS priority to use the built-in GPU, the system won't boot.
Any suggestions?
Add nv_disable=1 in the boot args of your config.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming K6
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RTX 2070
Add nv_disable=1 in the boot args of your config.
i can't even get to the menu to enter the arg. as soon as i turn priority to built-in graphics in BIOS, i can't boot from my ssd where mac os is located. i just get a black screen with a cursor.
but I'm able to boot from my hard drive where win 10 is. so, Bios settings should be ok?!
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
502
Motherboard
MSI TRX40 Creator
CPU
AMD Threadripper 3970X
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i can't even get to the menu to enter the arg. as soon as i turn priority to built-in graphics in BIOS, i can't boot from my ssd where mac os is located. i just get a black screen with a cursor.
but I'm able to boot from my hard drive where win 10 is. so, Bios settings should be ok?!
Sounds like two possible reasons. #1. You do not have UEFI set as boot option or #2. You install Clover as Legacy and do not have Legacy boot enabled in the BIOS. Or a possible 3rd reason is your HDD that MacOS installed on is corrupted.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370 Gaming K6
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RTX 2070
Sounds like two possible reasons. #1. You do not have UEFI set as boot option or #2. You install Clover as Legacy and do not have Legacy boot enabled in the BIOS. Or a possible 3rd reason is your HDD that MacOS installed on is corrupted.
I'm actually able to boot from my drive, so I don't think it's corrupted... I'm also able to boot with my internal graphics, but only if my graphics card is NOT plugged in. It just won't boot when my card is installed. Settings stay the same
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-F
CPU
i7-8700K - 5.0 GHz
Graphics
Zotac GTX 1080Ti Amp! Extreme Core Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm actually able to boot from my drive, so I don't think it's corrupted... I'm also able to boot with my internal graphics, but only if my graphics card is NOT plugged in. It just won't boot when my card is installed. Settings stay the same
Hello, have you found a solution how to boot osx without unplug the RTX card from the Pcie ?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
36
Motherboard
MSI Z87-GD65
CPU
i7-4770k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080
Same problem here :/
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,995
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@vinnyamp, @richiejantscher, @gianlucaluisi,

If you are running MacOS Mojave and want to use the IGPU without removing Nvidia GPU card see this post :-


Which links to this Guide :-


Disabling the NVidia drivers with nv_disable=1 is not enough as MacOs will still find the VESA compatible display device built into a Nvidia card and attempt to bind the window server to it. The above linked method disables the the card in the ACPI so that MacOS will only detect and use the IGPU.

It requires a bit of ACPI editing to your DSDT and/or SSDT tables but the method is sound and works well as long as you apply the edits to the correct _INI method.

Be sure to uninstall the Nvidia WebDriver and any Nvidia injection parameters in your config.plist if you use this method.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top