Contribute
Register

Solved > Graphics Card not showing up in System Information "about this mac"

Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello all,
I am having an issue I am unable to find answers to. I have a Gigabyte z370 HD3 and a Gigabyte RX Vega 56 gpu running with an Intel i7 8700k cpu. I have installed mac os using UniBeast and Multibeast and have had no issues with sleep, audio or much else. However, I notice that in the about this mac section, Graphics are set as Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB instead of Gigabyte RX Vega 56. I also checked this in system information and the same Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB shows up. There are no lights on on my MBD to indicate a failed GPU or connection so I suspect this is software.
Anyone help?
Thanks,
Doug
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1062.jpg
    IMG_1062.jpg
    898.1 KB · Views: 131
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,770
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you have two monitors? Do you have the monitor you are opening system information on plugged into the Intel? Click the system report button and check graphics see what is installed there.
 
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for the response!! I only have one monitor which is plugged into the pc which has my RX Vega 56 card in it. I suspect that the intel UHD 630 is a "built in" GPU.
Screen Shot 2019-05-26 at 6.20.34 PM.png
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,770
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
in your bios is the IGPU set to Auto? Maybe it is the system definition you are using. Post your EFI folder I will see if there is anything blatantly wrong. Short of that I do not know a whole lot. For the most part the Vega 56 just work.
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
1,046
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390 Plus Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Look inside your ioreg did you seeing your GPU there?
 
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you guys! I think I made a step in the right direction... I now can see my RX Vega 56 in the system information but it is still not the primary gpu used. How do I make it so my Vega 56 is the primary instead of the onboard intel?
 
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you guys! I think I made a step in the right direction... I now can see my RX Vega 56 in the system information but it is still not the primary gpu used. How do I make it so my Vega 56 is the primary instead of the onboard intel?
IMG_1067.jpeg
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,770
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you guys! I think I made a step in the right direction... I now can see my RX Vega 56 in the system information but it is still not the primary gpu used. How do I make it so my Vega 56 is the primary instead of the onboard intel?

It should just be the primary, your monitor is plugged into the Vega correct?
 
Joined
May 26, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
no, my monitor is plugged into the pc not the gpu
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,770
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
no, my monitor is plugged into the pc not the gpu
Plug it into the Vega card, the OS is going to show the primary card as what ever the monitor is plug into.
 
Top