Contribute
Register

GPU CUDA/OpenCL Acceleration Support in Adobe CS6/CC apps.

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,771
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
4930K @ 4.4GHz
Graphics
PNY GTX 980 + EVGA Titan X
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I created a simple AppleScript app to automate the process of adding your unsupported/uncertified GPU/s to the supported cards lists of older versions of Premiere Pro CS6/CC, After Effects CS6/CC, and Media Encoder CC. This will enable CUDA and OpenCL acceleration on your unsupported/uncertified GPU/s (Graphics Card/s) in these apps. Note: Adobe has added in-software settings or removed restrictions and allow acceleration from unsupported (uncertified) cards in their newer versions of CC and CC 2015 apps. This app will help with CS6 and CC versions that don't contain this feature.

This app only works when the Adobe apps are installed in their default locations in the /Applications folder. The app will detect which apps are installed in the /Applications folder and run the built in Adobe GPUSniffer.app of each installed app. It will then take the name of your GPU detected by the GPUSniffer.app and add it to the "supported_cards.txt" and/or "raytracer_supported_cards.txt". Note: as of this time my testing indicates that no Nvidia Maxwell cards work for RayTracing acceleration in OS X.


If you wish to undo these changes, you'll need to edit out your GPU/s name/s from the txt docs manually in terminal using the nano command:

Premiere Pro CS6:
CUDA:
Code:
sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CS6/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CS6.app/Contents/cuda_supported_cards.txt
OpenCL:
Code:
sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CS6/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CS6.app/Contents/opencl_supported_cards.txt
Premiere Pro CC:
CUDA:
Code:
sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CC/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CC.app/Contents/cuda_supported_cards.txt
OpenCL:
Code:
sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CC/Adobe\ Premiere\ Pro\ CC.app/Contents/opencl_supported_cards.txt
Media Encoder CC:
CUDA:
Code:
sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ Media\ Encoder\ CC/Adobe\ Media\ Encoder\ CC.app/Contents/cuda_supported_cards.txt
OpenCL:
Code:
sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ Media\ Encoder\ CC/Adobe\ Media\ Encoder\ CC.app/Contents/opencl_supported_cards.txt
After Effects CS6:
Code:
sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ After\ Effects\ CS6/Adobe\ After\ Effects\ CS6.app/Contents/raytracer_supported_cards.txt
After Effects CC:
Code:
sudo nano /Applications/Adobe\ After\ Effects\ CC/Adobe\ After\ Effects\ CC.app/Contents/raytracer_supported_cards.txt
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
28
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 5
CPU
i7 4790K 4GHz
Graphics
MSI Geforce GTX 970 4GB GDDR5 Video Ram
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Hey Guys,

Just to add to the forum for getting Cuda to work with your adobe products. As of today I just got mine working and for Premiere it worked out the box.

For after effect you have to add your graphics card to the raytracer_supported_cards.txt in the Resources folder in the show packages of the After Effects app. For some reason they relocated it, because it use to be in the Content folder root, now its in Resources.

Thought I mention this because alot of people saying the txt file doesn't exist but it does just found a new home in Resources.

Hope this helped,

~Gamer~
 

shilohh

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,771
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
4930K @ 4.4GHz
Graphics
PNY GTX 980 + EVGA Titan X
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks. Yes I removed the patching function for that file because Adobe After Effects CC 2015 (the version that has the file in that location) has a option in the settings to enable unsupported cards.
Screen Shot 2016-02-25 at 6.29.18 PM.png
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,109
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
anyone get this working on the NEW Premier Pro CC 2017?

The paths above are invalid.
Just change the paths in the CC script to reflect the 2017 app names. Do you need it though? My 970 is detected without changing anything.
 
Top