Contribute
Register

GPU and after effects CS6

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
109
Motherboard
Mac Pro 3,1 Mountain Lion
CPU
i7 4,8 OC'd
Graphics
GeForce GTX 570 HD
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If anyone else has CS6, and have tried using GPU, it doesnt work with the card for some reason? do others work? Anyone know how to get the openGL recognized and working? it keeps errors out when ever you use anything opengl or GPU accelerated. It shows up in the preferences>preview>GOU information as ATI Radeon XT Barts and has 2.1 for version, but shader has nothing available? any help? hints? ideas?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
109
Motherboard
Mac Pro 3,1 Mountain Lion
CPU
i7 4,8 OC'd
Graphics
GeForce GTX 570 HD
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
is no one having this issue? or is no one else using After Effects CS6...or Photoshop CS6?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
109
Motherboard
Mac Pro 3,1 Mountain Lion
CPU
i7 4,8 OC'd
Graphics
GeForce GTX 570 HD
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think it may be because AGPM applegraphicspowermanagement.kext isn't loaded. how to make it load? i am using MacPro5,1

AGPM is in s/l/e
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have two macpro 3,1s one with an HD6870 sapphire and one with a GTX560Ti.
I have managed to get the GXT 560 Ti working in AE CS6 but the 6870 won't get passed the boot screen. I've read the same from ppl with 6850 cards in hackintoshs.

For those that need it, to get AE to recognize you card, show packet contents on the AE app files add your card name to the supported cards, everything works pretty well.

Jon@Swoon
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
109
Motherboard
Mac Pro 3,1 Mountain Lion
CPU
i7 4,8 OC'd
Graphics
GeForce GTX 570 HD
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
well i can get it to open and i can edit, but in preferences>preview GPI information it says GPU not recognized or supported. Even though it meets standards. it is version 2.1 but no shader detail is loaded for it either. thats greyed out. I can edit just fine, but when i get to something that calls for openGL, it errors out. I think just to get it going with the HD 6870 i had to use :
• GraphicsEnabler=Yes
• AtiConfig=DuckWeed
• AtiPorts=5
• Darkwake=0
• npci=0x3000

and i am on MacPro5,1 (just make sure if you use it, hardware is applicable to the system definitions and you delete the AppleTYMCE.kext or else you'll get a kernal panic)
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
ASUS
CPU
Intel 3930k
Graphics
EVGA nVidia GTX680
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@draken182 i've added these parameters but AE cs6 still crashes on boot (GPU sniffer error) may be i'm missing something? can you detail how to get it working?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
19
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7940X 14-Core, 10.3.3
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1080 ti, .106 drivers
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think for AE CS6, only cuda cards are supported. I'm running AE CS6, 10.7.3, with gtx 580, working fine with 3d Acceleration.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top