Contribute
Register

Gobias’s Comet Lake Build: Prime Z490-A - i7-10700K - RX 6600 - macOS Monterey & Windows 11 Pro

Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
262
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z490-A
CPU
i7-10070K
Graphics
RX 6600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Update 13: OpenCore 0.8.3 and macOS 12.5.1

OpenCore 0.8.3

I followed the OpenCore Post-Install guide for Updating OpenCore to update OpenCore from 0.8.2 to 0.8.3. One important change to note is that Reset NVRAM and Toggle SIP were switched to configurable boot entry protocol drivers.
  • I replaced these OpenCore files with the latest versions:
    • BOOT/BOOTx64.efi
    • OC/OpenCore.efi
    • OC/Drivers/OpenCanopy.efi
    • OC/Drivers/OpenRuntime.efi
    • OC/Drivers/ResetNvramEntry.efi
  • I removed old properties from and added new properties to config.plist that were identified in OCConfigCompare.
    • Under NVRAM, remove LegacyEnable.
    • Under UEFI -> Drivers, add LoadEarly to each driver and set each to False:
      • LoadEarly | Boolean | False
  • I updated kexts to the latest versions:
    • AppleALC.kext: 1.7.3 -> 1.7.4
    • Lilu.kext: 1.6.1 -> 1.6.2
    • WhateverGreen.kext: 1.6.0 -> 1.6.1
My latest EFI folder is attached for reference.

macOS 12.5.1

I also updated macOS from 12.5 to 12.5.1 using System Preferences without any issues.

About This Mac 12.5.1.png

 

Attachments

  • Update 13 OC 0.8.3.zip
    5.4 MB · Views: 57
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
262
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z490-A
CPU
i7-10070K
Graphics
RX 6600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Update 14: RX 6600 Graphics Card Upgrade

1661521913164.png


Background

Prices on graphics cards are finally coming down, so I bought a Sapphire Pulse RX 6600 (Amazon | Newegg) on sale recently. Note that the RX 6600 and RX 6600 XT require macOS Monterey 12.1+.

Pre-installation

Before installing the RX 6600, I added the agdpmod=pikera boot argument to prevent the screen from going black on the desktop:
  1. In config.plist, under NVRAM -> Add -> 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82
    1. In boot-args, add agdpmod=pikera

I had a few other issues after installation (described below) that required additional changes. You may want to make these changes before installation if they're features you want. My latest EFI folder with all of these fixes is attached for reference.

Fixing DRM

After installation, DRM wasn't working. It turns out that the DevicePath for my RX 6600 is different than the DevicePath for my RX 580. I just had to update the DevicePath in config.plist and run the Terminal command again to enable DRM. Note that if you use the shikigva=80 boot argument for DRM, you won't have to update your DevicePath.
  1. In config.plist, under DeviceProperties -> Add
    1. Change PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0) to PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)
  2. Reboot and run the following preference override command in Terminal to force the AMD DRM decoder for streaming services:
Bash:
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDKE -boolean yes

Fixing DisplayPort Audio

DisplayPort audio (and probably HDMI audio – I never tested it) for the RX 6600 also wasn't working after installation, so my monitor wasn't showing up as a sound output device. Thanks to @Feartech for helping me fix this issue. I had to add hda-gfx | string | onboard-1 under the DevicePaths for the HDEF and iGPU.

In config.plist
  1. Under DeviceProperties -> Add -> PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)
    1. Add a new child: hda-gfx | string | onboard-1
  2. Under DeviceProperties -> Add -> PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)
    1. Add a new child: hda-gfx | string | onboard-1
config hda-gfx.png

Sound Output Devices.png


Fixing GPU Temperature Sensor

Many GPU sensor stats were showing as 0 or not displaying at all. I found a partial solution in @miliuco's post on the RX 6600 XT. I added the RadeonSensor kexts to make the GPU temperature show up again. Core Clock, Memory Clock, Total Power, Fan/Pump speed, Fan/Pump speed rate, and Activity are still showing as 0 or not displaying at all.

Added kexts and ran OC Snapshot
  1. Download RadeonSensor.kext and SMCRadeonGPU.kext
    1. Install the kexts in EFI/OC/Kexts
  2. Open config.plist in ProperTree and select File > OC Snapshot to add the kexts to the config under Kernel -> Add
    1. Note that SMCRadeonGPU.kext has to go after RadeonSensor.kext, and both have to go after Lilu.kext and VirtualSMC.kext in config.plist.

Benchmarks

I included results from my old RX 580, when available, for comparison. In general, the RX 6600 has between a 29% and a 117% improvement over the RX 580, depending on the test. For most tests, though the improvement was in the range of 50% to 60%. I also ran some new tests on the RX 6600, so I don't have comparisons for those.

Geekbench

OpenCL dGPU - macOS (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Geekbench OpenCL dGPU Mac RX 580.png
Geekbench OpenCL dGPU Mac RX 6600.png


OpenCL dGPU - Windows (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Geekbench OpenCL dGPU Windows RX 580.png
Geekbench OpenCL dGPU Windows RX 6600.png


OpenCL Metal - macOS only (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Geekbench Metal dGPU Mac RX 580.png
Geekbench Metal dGPU Mac RX 6600.png


Vulcan dGPU - Windows (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Geekbench Vulcan dGPU Windows RX 580.png
Geekbench Vulcan dGPU Windows RX 6600.png

LuxMark Simple

dGPU - macOS (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
LuxMark Simple dGPU Mac RX 580.png
LuxMark Simple dGPU Mac RX 6600.png


dGPU - Windows (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
LuxMark Simple dGPU Windows RX 580.png
LuxMark Simple dGPU Windows RX 6600.png


CPU+dGPU - macOS only (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
LuxMark Simple CPU+GPU Mac RX 580.png
LuxMark Simple CPU+GPU Mac RX 6600.png


iGPU+dGPU - Windows only (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
LuxMark Simple iGPU+dGPU Windows RX 580.png
LuxMark Simple iGPU+dGPU Windows RX 6600.png

LuxMark Medium

CPU - macOS only
LuxMark Medium CPU Mac.png


iGPU - Windows only
LuxMark Medium iGPU Windows.png


dGPU - macOS (RX 6600)
LuxMark Medium GPU Mac RX 6600.png


dGPU - Windows (RX 6600)
LuxMark Medium dGPU Windows RX 6600.png


CPU+dGPU - macOS only (RX 6600)
LuxMark Medium CPU+GPU Mac RX 6600.png


iGPU+dGPU - Windows only (RX 6600)
LuxMark Medium iGPU+dGPU Windows RX 6600.png

LuxMark Complex

CPU - macOS only
LuxMark Complex CPU Mac.png


iGPU - Windows only
LuxMark Complex iGPU Windows.png


dGPU - macOS (RX 6600)
LuxMark Complex GPU Mac RX 6600.png


dGPU - Windows (RX 6600)
LuxMark Complex dGPU Windows RX 6600.png


CPU+dGPU - macOS only (RX 6600)
LuxMark Complex CPU+GPU Mac RX 6600.png


iGPU+dGPU - Windows only (RX 6600)
LuxMark Complex iGPU+dGPU RX 6600 Windows.png

Unigine Heaven

I got really bad results for Unigine Heaven on macOS (just like I did with my RX 580), so I didn't include those results here. I don't know why the RX 6600 did worse than the RX 580 on the first test when it did better on all the other tests.

1080p High Moderate 8xAA - Windows (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Heaven 1080p High Moderate 8xAA Windows RX 580.png
Heaven 1080p High Moderate 8xAA Windows RX 6600.png


1080p Ultra Extreme 8xAA - Windows (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Heaven 1080p Ultra Extreme 8xAA Windows RX 580.png
Heaven 1080p Ultra Extreme 8xAA Windows RX 6600.png


1440p Ultra Normal 4xAA - Windows (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Heaven 1440p Ultra Normal 4xAA Windows RX 6600.png

Unigine Valley

1080p High 4xAA - macOS (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Valley 1080p High 4xAA Mac RX 580.png
Valley 1080p High 4xAA Mac RX 6600.png


1080p High 4xAA - Windows (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Valley 1080p High 4xAA Windows RX 580.png
Valley 1080p High 4xAA Windows RX 6600.png


1080p Ultra 8xAA - macOS (RX 6600)
Valley 1080p Ultra 8xAA Mac RX 6600.png


1080p Ultra 8xAA - Windows (RX 6600)
Valley 1080p Ultra 8xAA Windows RX 6600.png


1440p High 8xAA - macOS (RX 6600)
Valley 1440p High 8xAA Mac RX 6600.png


1440p High 8xAA - Windows (RX 6600)
Valley 1440p High 8xAA Windows RX 6600.png


1440p Ultra 4xAA - macOS (RX 6600)
Valley 1440p Ultra 4xAA Mac RX 6600.png


1440p Ultra 4xAA - Windows (RX 6600)
Valley 1440p Ultra 4xAA Windows RX 6600.png

Unigine Superposition

1080p Medium - Windows only (RX 580 left, RX 6600 right)
Superposition 1080p Medium RX 580 Windows.png
Superposition 1080p Medium RX 6600 Windows.png


1080p High - Windows only (RX 6600)
Superposition 1080p High RX 6600 Windows.png

3DMark

Time Spy - Windows only (RX 6600)
3DMark Time Spy RX 6600.png


Fire Strike - Windows only (RX 6600)
3DMark Fire Strike RX 6600.png
 

Attachments

  • Update 14 RX 6600.zip
    5.4 MB · Views: 254
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
1,103
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Gobias
Excellent post! Very detailed. This card works very well on macOS. Enjoy it.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
262
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z490-A
CPU
i7-10070K
Graphics
RX 6600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Update 15: OpenCore 0.8.4, macOS 12.6, Logitech BRIO Webcam, and Partial Fix for RGB

OpenCore 0.8.4


I followed the OpenCore Post-Install guide for Updating OpenCore to update OpenCore from 0.8.3 to 0.8.4.
  • I replaced these OpenCore files with the latest versions:
    • BOOT/BOOTx64.efi
    • OC/Drivers/OpenCanopy.efi
    • OC/Drivers/OpenRuntime.efi
    • OC/Drivers/ResetNvramEntry.efi
    • OC/OpenCore.efi
    • OC/Tools/OpenShell.efi
  • I added a new property to config.plist that was identified in OCConfigCompare.
    • Under Misc -> Tools, add LoadEarly to each tool (in my case, OpenShell is the only tool) and set each to False:
      • FullNvramAccess | Boolean | False
  • I updated kexts to the latest versions:
    • AppleALC.kext: 1.7.4 -> 1.7.5

My latest EFI folder is attached for reference.

macOS 12.6

I updated macOS from 12.5.1 to 12.6 using System Preferences without any issues.

1663607873424.png



Logitech BRIO Webcam for FaceTime and Windows Hello

I recently got a Logitech BRIO Webcam (Amazon | Newegg), which I primarily use for Zoom on my work computer. However, I've tested it, and it works with FaceTime and Windows Hello.

1663607901236.png



FaceTime

If you've enabled DRM, FaceTime won't work. The other person's video will be replaced with a black or gray screen. To fix this, you must disable DRM:
  1. Delete the shikigva patch from your config.plist:
    1. If you added the patch to your DeviceProperties:
      1. In config.plist, under DeviceProperties -> Add -> [Your GPU DevicePath]
      2. Delete: shikigva | Number | 80
    2. If you added the patch to your boot arguments:
      1. In config.plist, under NVRAM -> Add -> 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82
      2. In boot-args, delete shikigva=80
  2. Reboot and run the following preference override command in Terminal to disable the AMD DRM decoder for streaming services:
    Bash:
    defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDKE -boolean false
If you're only using the webcam for other video call apps like Zoom, Google Meet, or Microsoft Teams, then you don't need to disable DRM. I don’t plan to use FaceTime on my computer, so I will keep the shikigva patch in my config.plist.

Windows Hello

The BRIO Webcam supports Windows Hello, which is easy to set up.


Before setting up Windows Hello, it is recommended that you enable TPM in BIOS to secure your Windows Hello PIN:
  1. Boot up the computer.
  2. Press Delete or F2 to enter BIOS.
  3. Press F7 or click Advanced in the bottom right corner to enter Advanced Mode.
  4. Go to Advanced > PCH-FW Configuration.
  5. Set PTT to Enabled.
  6. Save Changes and Reset.
    1. Go to the Exit menu.
    2. Select Save Changes & Reset and press Enter.

A quick note about the Windows Hello PIN: Having never used Windows Hello before, I assumed that if the facial recognition failed or my camera wasn't connected, the fallback would be my local user account password. However, this isn't the case. When you set up Windows Hello, your local user password is actually removed. Instead, you have two fallbacks: your Microsoft account password and a PIN you must create. I initially assumed the PIN would be restricted to numbers and only allow a few digits, which wouldn't be very secure. However, you can actually use letters and symbols for your PIN, and it doesn't have to be short. So I was actually able to use my old local account password as my PIN.


Partial Fix for RGB

I’ve never cared much about RGB lights, and I didn’t even realize my motherboard had RGB lights until after I got it. However, I have wanted to change the default rainbow colors to solid white. I briefly had this working using the Asus Armoury Crate app, but at some point, the RGB lights reverted back to rainbow colors and my motherboard stopped showing up as an RGB device in Armoury Crate. This is apparently a common problem with Armoury Crate. I tried several fixes I found online but never got the app working again.


I tried a few other RGB apps before finding one that partially worked. I tried iCUE, but it’s dependent on Armoury Crate, so it didn’t detect my motherboard either. I had high hopes for OpenRGB because it has a macOS app. However, it only detected my motherboard in Windows, not macOS. Also, when waking my computer from sleep, the RGB lights reverted to rainbow colors, and OpenRGB wouldn’t automatically change them back to white.


Finally, I tried SignalRGB, which partially fixed this issue. It allowed me to set the RGB lights to white. When I wake the computer from sleep, the RGB does revert to rainbow colors, but after a few seconds, SignalRGB will switch it back to white, as long as it’s running in the background. The downside is that it’s only available for Windows, so when I wake my computer from sleep in macOS, the RGB reverts to rainbow colors until I boot Windows again.

Inside Case.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
262
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z490-A
CPU
i7-10070K
Graphics
RX 6600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for sharing your absolutely stunning build!

I have a quick question:
Been testing different SMBIOS for video editing and my experience is as below:
(My build is 10900K+6800XT)
1. iMac20,2
Everything works fine including HW accelerate, Sidecar, etc.
However, it seems in Final Cut, dGPU usage is rather low and maybe only use iGPU.
Timeline stutters and rendering time is 3x compared to my M1 Pro MacBook Pro

2. iMacPro or MacPro7,1
Sidecar no longer works but Final Cut starts to behave normal.
Timeline is smooth as butter and rendering time is now 60% faster than M1 Pro
So almost 5x faster compared to iMac SMBIOS!!

Just wondering if you have any experience regarding productivity workload?
OC config attached.
I'm sorry, but I don't have any experience with productivity workload or video editing on my workload.

I noticed you have a LOT of kexts, SSDTs, and Tools. Are you using all of those? If not, I'd remove anything that isn't necessary from your EFI and config.plist. I don't know if loading all of those might be causing issues.

Also, I'd recommend deleting your MLB, ROM, SystemSerialNumber, and SystemUUID from your config.plist before sharing online so that no one copies your config and tries to use the same PlatformInfo as you.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
82
Motherboard
MSI Z170A Krait
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I noticed you have a LOT of kexts, SSDTs, and Tools. Are you using all of those? If not, I'd remove anything that isn't necessary from your EFI and config.plist. I don't know if loading all of those might be causing issues.
Some of them are kept from previous build, but I only enable minimum kexts, SSDTs for this build, so I guess that's no issue. The only thing I change when switching SMBIOS is just SMBIOS itself, rest of the OC config remains the same. I heard people are saying that iGPU are working at low freq like 0.35Ghz when using FCP for no reason, probably that the cause. I'm sticking with iMacPro at this moment.

Also, I'd recommend deleting your MLB, ROM, SystemSerialNumber, and SystemUUID from your config.plist before sharing online so that no one copies your config and tries to use the same PlatformInfo as you.
Yes you are right. I was about the dump this serial and move on so didn't bother it. But I should take more care next time:)

Edit 2022/10/09:
OK after done some more research, Final Cut's issue is not on SMBIOS, well at least not 100%
Basically iMac config works well on all productivity apps except Final Cut Pro.
Final cut seems to have a profile that decides what's the usage ratio between T2, iGPU and dGPU.
But it has yet updated for AMD 6000 series graphics and below are the dGPU usage result:
iMac(With iGPU): 20%
iMacPro of MacPro(With no iGPU): 50%

Jumping form iMac to iGPUless SMBIOS will give significant FCP performance boost.
But will lose iGPU decoding capability on Youtube 4K and of course no sidecar.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
262
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z490-A
CPU
i7-10070K
Graphics
RX 6600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Update 16: UEFI Secure Boot, Vault, and OpenCore 0.8.5


Miscellaneous Changes

Before diving into UEFI Secure Boot and Vault, I’ll highlight a few smaller changes I made to my OpenCore.

Fixing DisplayPort Audio (Again)

I was continuing to have issues with DisplayPort audio not working, despite thinking I had fixed it previously. Changing my audio layout ID to 2 seems to have fixed it:
  1. In config.plist, under DeviceProperties -> Add -> PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)
    1. Set layout-id to 02000000

Adding New Drivers

I added these drivers to the OC/Drivers folder:
  • CrScreenshotDxe.efi to take screenshots of OpenCore
    • I added CrScreenshotDxe.efi to my config under UEFI -> Drivers by opening config.plist in ProperTree and selecting File > OC Snapshot.
    • After adding the driver, press F10 in OpenCore to save screenshots to your EFI partition.
  • AudioDxe.efi in preparation to set up the OpenCore boot chime.
    • I haven’t added AudioDxe.efi to my config.plist yet.

UEFI Secure Boot and OpenCore Vault

I recently set up UEFI Secure Boot and OpenCore Vault.

Preparation

Requirements:

Additional recommended security settings:
  • Set DMG loading to Signed to allow only Apple-signed DMG images.
    • In config.plist, set Misc -> Security -> DmgLoading to Signed
  • Make sure that APFS JumpStart functionality restricts the loading of old vulnerable drivers by setting MinDate and MinVersion to 0.
    • I had previously modified these values to allow OpenCore to load APFS drivers from macOS Catalina for my original installation. I no longer need this since I’ve updated to Monterey (see Update 6).
    • In config.plist, under UEFI -> APFS:
      • Set MinDate to 0
      • Set MinVersion to 0
  • Make sure that Force driver loading is not needed and that all the operating systems are still bootable.
    • I had this set to load IONetworkingFamily.kext, which is for legacy versions of macOS 10.6–10.9, so it can be deleted.
    • In config.plist, under Kernel -> Force, delete 0
  • Make sure that ScanPolicy restricts OpenCore from loading undesired devices.
    • I had set this to 0 during installation to allow me to see all drives available to be bootable.
    • I calculated a value that would only allow these file systems and device types:
      • File systems: APFS, HFS, NTFS, ESP (EFI System Partition file system)
        • Note: My Windows drive wouldn’t show up in OpenCore without ESP, even though I had allowed NTFS. Allowing ESP also causes EFI partitions for external USB drives to show up in OpenCore.
      • Device types: SATA, NVME, and USB
      • In config.plist, set Misc -> Security -> ScanPolicy to 2690819
        • You may want a more or less restrictive ScanPolicy value, so you’ll need to calculate it following the OpenCore Post-Install Guide.

UEFI Secure Boot

I followed miliuco’s guide, OpenCore and UEFI Secure Boot using Windows Subsystem for Linux, to sign the OpenCore files so that I can run OpenCore and macOS with UEFI Secure Boot enabled.

These are the steps I followed to enable UEFI Secure Boot and add UEFI Secure Boot Keys in BIOS for the Asus Prime Z490-A:
  1. Insert the USB drive with the signature key files and boot up the computer.
  2. Press Delete or F2 to enter BIOS.
  3. Press F7 or click Advanced in the bottom right corner to enter Advanced Mode.
  4. Go to Boot > Secure Boot.
  5. Set OS Type to Windows UEFI Mode (this enables UEFI Secure Boot).
  6. Go to Key Management.
    1. Choose PK Management
      1. In the PK Management window, choose Set New Key
      2. In the Set New Key window, choose No
      3. Find and select the pk.auth file on your USB drive.
      4. In the Input File Format window, choose Authenticated Variable and click Ok.
    2. Repeat these steps for KEK Management and DB Management.
      • Note that the screenshots below show the process for KEK Management.
  7. Save Changes and Reset.
    1. Go to the Exit menu.
    2. Select Save Changes & Reset and press Enter.
Secure Boot 1.png
Secure Boot 2 - OS Type.png
Secure Boot 3 - Key Management.png
Secure Boot 4 - KEK Management.png
Secure Boot 5 - Set New Key.png
Secure Boot 6 - Input File Format.png


After saving and resetting, I could boot OpenCore with UEFI Secure Boot enabled. The System Information and Windows Security apps in Windows show that Secure Boot is turned on.
System Information.png

Windows Secure Boot.png


BIOS Password

After enabling UEFI Secure Boot and adding UEFI Secure Boot Keys in BIOS, you may want to set a BIOS password to prevent changes to the UEFI Secure Boot settings.
  1. Boot up the computer and press Delete or F2 to enter BIOS.
  2. Press F7 or click Advanced in the bottom right corner to enter Advanced Mode.
  3. Go to Main > Security > Administrator Password.
    1. In the Create New Password window, type a password and then press Enter.
    2. Retype the password and click OK.
  4. Save Changes and Reset.
    1. Go to the Exit menu.
    2. Select Save Changes & Reset and press Enter.
After setting an administrator password, the password will be required to enter BIOS settings or change your boot device.

OpenCore Vault

After setting up UEFI Secure Boot, I tried to follow the OC Post-Install Guide to vault OpenCore, but I could not get OpenCore to boot.

@miliuco helped me figure out that there is a very particular order in which OpenCore files must be signed for UEFI Secure Boot and vaulted:
  1. In Linux: Digitally sign all OpenCore files ending in .efi (BOOTx64.efi, Drivers, and Tools) except OpenCore.efi.
  2. In macOS: Vault the EFI folder with the signed files, including OpenCore.efi, which isn't signed yet.
  3. In Linux: Sign OpenCore.efi, which already has Vault applied, with the same key from step 1.
If you follow a different order, OpenCore won’t boot.

Also, because the process requires going between Linux and macOS multiple times, I switched from using Windows Subsystem for Linux to an Ubuntu virtual machine in macOS to avoid having to reboot so many times.

If you need to update OpenCore or add any drivers or tools, you’ll need to repeat these 3 steps again (see the OpenCore 0.8.5 section below). If you only need to make changes to your config.plist, you only need to follow steps 2 and 3 to vault your EFI folder and sign OpenCore.efi again. In either case, you don’t need to delete vault.plist or vault.sig. They will be replaced with new versions when you vault your EFI folder.

OpenCore 0.8.5

I updated from OpenCore 0.8.4 to 0.8.5 following the steps above in the OpenCore Vault section:
  1. In Linux: Download OpenCore 0.8.5 and digitally sign all OpenCore files ending in .efi except OpenCore.efi.
    • BOOT/BOOTx64.efi
    • OC/Drivers/AudioDxe.efi
    • OC/Drivers/CrScreenshotDxe.efi
    • OC/Drivers/OpenCanopy.efi
    • OC/Drivers/OpenRuntime.efi
    • OC/Drivers/ResetNvramEntry.efi
    • OC/Tools/OpenShell.efi
  2. In macOS: Vault the EFI folder with the signed files, including OpenCore.efi, which isn’t signed yet.
  3. In Linux: Sign OpenCore.efi, which already has Vault applied, with the same key from step 1.

I didn't need to make any changes to config.plist for OpenCore 0.8.5.

OpenCore 0.8.5.png


My EFI folder is attached for reference, but note that it does not contain my signed OpenCore files, vault.plist, or vault.sig.
 

Attachments

  • Update 16 Secure Boot, Vault, OC 0.8.5.zip
    5.5 MB · Views: 35
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
1,103
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Gobias
Excellent text!! Now we know how to do UEFI SB + Vault and other people can also learn hot to do it.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2022
Messages
49
Motherboard
Asus M5A97 rev 2.0
CPU
FX-8120
Graphics
RTX 3060 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Does sleep/wake still work ?
 
Top