Contribute
Register

Glitching + No Acceleration on HD 530 With High Sierra

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170-X Gaming 5
CPU
i5-6600X
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
System:

GA-Z170X-Gaming 5
I5-6600
2XKingston 8GB DDR 2133 CL14
1TB Crucial MX300 3D V-NAND SATA 3.0 SSD
Planar LX2800 4k monitor

I have this same system running everything right at Sierra 12.2 just fine on a different disk.

Sierra updates wouldn’t boot (on the cloned SSD), and neither would High Sierra. Black screen and loss of video signal after Apple Logo/progress bar reaches about 75%. I fixed the High Sierra install by simply copying over the EFI from the USB installer to the new SSD.

However, the integrated HD 530 glitches and performs terribly. Additionally, neither the System Preference nor SwitchResX sees any allowed resolutions other than 4k and 1080p. On the old build, I can run 25something by 12something—I can’t remember exactly, but it works for these eyes.

All other wanted features work for me on this system.

Things tried:

1. Multi-Beast post-install for HD 530.
2. Latest Lilu and IntelGraphicsFixup kexts.
3. Enabled CSM in BIOS—which someone on a thread said helped, but didn’t hurt or help for me.
4. Double-checked all other BIOS settings match installation guide.
5. Followed Kribbio’s thread here,

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/intel-hd-530-high-sierra.236952/

But a careful read shows that this doesn’t work for DisplayPort, only hdmi.

6. Also, someone recommended this youtube video method, which only claims to work for Sierra, not High Sierra, but at least one poster on these forums seemed to say it worked for him.


But it didn’t work for me.

Including my config.plist.

Any insight you can shed will be appreciated.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    4.8 KB · Views: 260

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,449
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Things tried:
1. Multi-Beast post-install for HD 530.
2. Latest Lilu and IntelGraphicsFixup kexts.
If you installed Lilu.kext and IntelGraphicsFixup.kext.kext to /Library/Extensions.
Change config.plist/Devices/FakeID/IntelGFX from 0x12345678 to 0x0
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170-X Gaming 5
CPU
i5-6600X
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi BreBo.

Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately, it makes the system disk no longer bootable.

I confirmed that the two kexts are installed in Library/Extensions. I then edited the FakeID field as suggested.

When I video the verbose boot messages, the last thing I see is the "IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState:3" message. Then screen goes black, and my display reports no video signal.

This last boot message is the same I was seeing originally on the new system disk, and I fixed it by replacing the EFI contents on the new system disk with the EFI contents on the UniBeast-made USB installer for High Sierra.

When I revert the FakeID field to the original value, the new system disk is bootable again, but with the glitching/acceleration problem still there.

Don
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170-X Gaming 5
CPU
i5-6600X
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Guys

I am still stuck on this after attempting the recent suggested fixes. Any additional suggestion will be appreciated.

Don
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,572
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Hi Guys

I am still stuck on this after attempting the recent suggested fixes. Any additional suggestion will be appreciated.

Don

Try clover boot screen manager setting intel no fake ID or 0x0000000 and ig 0x59120003.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170-X Gaming 5
CPU
i5-6600X
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Try clover boot screen manager setting intel no fake ID or 0x0000000 and ig 0x59120003.

Hi Gigamaxx

With the ig setting you suggested, and with either no fake ID or the 0x00000000, there is no change in behavior, other than that with any of those combinations, the "Graphics" line in "About the Mac" disappears. Normally, during this problem, the line says "Intel HD Graphics 530 31 MB", which is itself an indication of a problem since the correct value is something 1536 MB. Anyway, the suggested changes didn't make fix or worsen the problem.

Thanks.

Don
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
1,054
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
Lion
CPU
Core i7
Graphics
nVidia
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
donestephens did you ever get this fixed?
I have practically the same problem. Whatever settings I use, one of two things happens: either I boot into OS X ok but without acceleration and with About this Mac saying Intel 530 4MB - or I get a black screen about 3/4 of the way into the Apple Logo progress bar. I noticed that there was HD activity after the screen goes black, so I enabled screen sharing and could VNC into the computer from another computer while the screen was black. About this Mac showed the correct 1536MB and acceleration was enabled (Final Cut runs). However there are only two options for resolution: 1280x1024 or 1024x768. My monitor's native resolution is 1366x768. I am using the DB15 VGA connector, not DP or HDMI.
 

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,449
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
@helzayat, please update your profile (personal details) with your Motherboard, CPU and Graphics Card.
If you have a prebuilt computer enter make and model instead of motherboard (Mobo).
The Rules said:
Profiles need to contain at least your primary system to assist others with helping you.

donestephens was last seen: Jan 7, 2018 ;)
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
52
Motherboard
Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
530HD
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
0x193B0005 seems to be the best ig-platform-id for desktop HD530, no matter DP port is connected to port 5/6/7 all work, no 4 port FB patch 01030403 is required..

It worked for me on Mojave and High Siera. What i did:
1. I placed Lilu.kext and Watevergreen.kext into /Library/Extensions using kext wizard/kext beast.
2. I opened my SSD Efi config.plist and changed FakeID/IntelGFX to 0x0 And changed ig-platform-id to 0x193B0005.
It works perfectly now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top