Contribute
Register

Gigabyte z77-ds3h Yosemite boot issues

Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
Z77-DS3H
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
Intel 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I used Multibeast 5.1.2 for sound and used Realtek ALC8xx>without dsdt>ALC887/888b>v100202 Legacy (75% sure, forgot to write it down lol) or the current. Either way, audio seems to work after sleep with that multibeast and settings... so far.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I installed a second hard drive in my Mountain Lion Hack and did a clean Yosemite install. Everything worked well until I installed Multibeast (other than Audio and 1080p, I used the DSLT Free defaults) and tried to reboot and then I started having random boot issues. Sometimes it would boot, sometimes only in Safe Mode (Enter "-x" at boot screen), sometimes not at all, but every now and then, it DID reboot. But more often than not, I got the white screen, either with or without the cursor in the upper left hand corner.

After finally getting a boot, I re-ran Multi Beast as per post#17. It booted immediately upon restart, but did not boot the second time I tried. The third time, I booted in Safe Mode. The fourth time and ever since after that, it has booted fine.

Thanks for the help!!

On a side note, I have built two Hacks, plus this clean Yosemite install. A lot of the steps I understand but some of it I am just going through the motions, e.g., Multibeast Options, and wish I had a better grasp.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm glad I first carbon copied my drive to try this update. I have done the last 3 major updates with only very minor issues. (new kexts needed for audio or ethernet)

This update however, presents many issues for my rev 1.0.

Generally I get halfway done booting and am presented with a 0 with an X through it.

Along with slow boot times (when it boots) I think I'll just go back to my super stable Mavericks until we have some progress made with the stability of 10.10

edit: also when I do get it to boot, I have a strange mouse jumping issue that I haven't heard of anyone reporting. The mouse doesn't always track as it should.

See post 17 and my post 98 for booting issues. As far as the mouse, if you are using a bluetooth dongle, remove the dongle for a few seconds and reinsert it. Either the bluetooth set up assistant should launch and re-recognoze the mouse and keyboaed, or it should simply start behaving.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2012
Messages
29
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Installed 10.10.1 and I am back to random boots working. Sometimes white screen, sometimes black screen, eventually with enough tries it boots. I am almost certain this is Nvidia driver related (again) to the GT640 so I'll do another clean wipe of the nvidia drivers and revert back to 10.10 beta drivers again.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2013
Messages
9
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Audio took a little messing with the control panel to select "internal speakers" to get the audio to come out.

Well sir, I feel like a moron. I read through all 100 of these replies but missed this golden nugget.

There's a few things going on here:

  • Install the ALC887/88b Current v100302 thing from the current version of MultiBeast
  • Restart the PC
  • Go to System Preferences>Sound>Output and you will probably find that "Digital Out" was selected as the device for sound output. Everyone will want to select "Internal Speakers".
  • When you turn the volume up or down, it looks like Yosemite did away with that little beeping noise indicating how loud the volume is. At first I thought my sound still wasn't working.

Thanks again for mentioning this cause I was about to give up!
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570K
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Which Ethernet driver are you guys using. For some reason Ethernet works fine for me until I use multibeast even though I select no Ethernet driver to install.

I had this issue too; ethernet was recognized prior to using MB (rev 1.1). Is there a way to fix this? Which kext did you end up choosing? It's strange the ethernet is recognized natively before MB, then no longer recognized afterwards.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
29
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had this issue too; ethernet was recognized prior to using MB (rev 1.1). Is there a way to fix this? Which kext did you end up choosing? It's strange the ethernet is recognized natively before MB, then no longer recognized afterwards.

Same thing here. Apparently you need to install an Ethernet driver with Multibeast. I used:

Drivers>Network>Atheros>AtherosE2200Ethernet v1.0.0

That has worked well.
 
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
84
Motherboard
ga-h77-ds3h ga-z77n-wifi 1155
CPU
i3-2105 i5-3570k
Graphics
gigabite radeon hd 6670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
this is how i did mine as i have the Z77-DS3H rev 1.1

Create Unibeast Flash Drive for Yosemite.
did time machine before i upgraded!
then booted into the installer installed straight over Mavericks ones install done i rebooted.
then i booted into Yosemite from SSD drive. make sure to delete old boot loader files then i opened up multibeast for Yosemite.
Settings i used! hope this help you guys :thumbup:

Thank you!!! Thank You!!!:wave:
After much digging this got me up and running on my Z77-DS3H



Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 19.58.10.png

Go to #17 for thumb nail.


jbamford
Thanks for putting this up.
It got the job done.:clap:
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
15
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H77-DS3H LGA 1155 Intel H77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel
Graphics
rx 580 nitro+ Radeon 8gb
Thank you so much guys!!! Got the audio working finally before selecting "buy" online for a usb sound adapter. Whew. Relief. Many thanks.

(BTW ... Im running H77-Ds3h Rev 1.1 and the settings outlined on this thread worked perfectly to get me up and running)
 
Top