Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Gigabyte z490i ITX / 10900K / Opencore 0.5.9 / Catalina 15.5.5 / Ncase M1
Hi All, I recently built my first OC hack on an Asus Strix z390 and 9900k which all went well... but then this week I was offered the chance to upgrade to a 10900k and z490 – I was a little apprehensive as I'm not that experienced, and wasn't sure I was ready to be an early adopter, but went ahead anyway!

This isn't a full guide, just a capture of the quirks I found when using this motherboard.

Some details on my system:
  • Gigabyte Z490I Aorus Ultra Mini ITX Motherboard
  • Intel 10900K 10th Gen processor
  • AMD Radeon RX 5700-XT Pulse
  • Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVMe
  • Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3000MHz (XMP working)
  • NZXT Kraken X53 cooler
  • BCM94360CS2 in M.2 adapter for BT and wifi
  • Ncase M1 (SFF case)
What's Working
Basically everything! Audio, Ethernet, bluetooth / Wifi, system very stable

What isn't Working
Small issue with sleep... My Kraken cooler wakes the machine as soon as it sleeps. I think part of the issue is that this motherboard has a splitter on the internal USB 2 header, which confuses the OS. I have ordered an adapter so i can plug the cooler into one of the rear ports and hopefully this will fix the issue.

What you need to know
To get ethernet working on this motherboard you need a different device path to that of the larger boards. I had never done this before but the very useful hackintool helped me out. So if you're on a similar mobo and your ethernet isn't working then first try fix your device path in config.plist

I also found alcid=3 worked best, as this mobo only has a few audio ports and some of the other options meant the os would display a huge list of ports. Using an ID of 3 means that your audio out options are neat and tidy (and work).