Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

** Mini-Guide: Change Disk Label Shown in OpenCore Picker **
Please do not quote this guide in its entirety. Post a link instead.

...
I upgraded to OC 0.8.3 and Monterey 12.5
Then I would change the label name but I had this error when I want to edit .disk_label.contentDetails.
E1187: Failed to source defaults.vim

Nota Bene : my system is in French.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,124
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I upgraded to OC 0.8.3 and Monterey 12.5
Then I would change the label name but I had this error when I want to edit .disk_label.contentDetails.
E1187: Failed to source defaults.vim

Nota Bene : my system is in French.
Are you using vi or vim? Please try vi first.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
979
Motherboard
Gigabyte C246-WU4
CPU
E-2278G
Graphics
WX7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Or use nano, and spare yourself the pain of dealing with vi commands to edit a single line…
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,124
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you using vi or vim? Please try vi first.

I used vi

I just tested this. You’re right that we get this error:
Code:
E1187: Failed to source defaults.vim

But right after that we see this:
Code:
Press ENTER or type command to continue

Just press Enter and the vi editor will start normally. It’s okay if defaults.vim cannot be found and read.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,124
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** OpenCore Configurator 2.62.0.0 has been released **
Open the "Preferences" dialog and set it to 0.8.3 Release Configuration as shown​

If you're using OpenCore 0.8.3 and seeing OCS Schema: LegacyEnable warnings during boot, simply open your config.plist in OpenCore Configurator 2.62.0.0, ensure that the application is set to "0.8.3 Release Configuration", then click through each of the main headings on the left side without making any changes :

  • ACPI
  • Booter
  • DeviceProperties
  • Kernel
  • ...
Then save the file (CMD-S). On reboot, the LegacyEnable warning will disappear.
Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 1.00.31 PM.png
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,124
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Or use nano, and spare yourself the pain of dealing with vi commands to edit a single line…
nano is not in the default path when we boot into Recovery. The default path points to a few directories, among them /usr/bin in which we have both vi and vim, but not nano.

nano is available, but we need to qualify the path ourselves:
Code:
/Volumes/[name-of-macOS-volume]/usr/bin/nano
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just tested this. You’re right that we get this error:
Code:
E1187: Failed to source defaults.vim

But right after that we see this:
Code:
Press ENTER or type command to continue

Just press Enter and the vi editor will start normally. It’s okay if defaults.vim cannot be found and read.
I pressed Enter but it was very difficult to edit the content.
When I type characters, I got a strange behaviour from the editor.
Lines were added and I could not delete them afterwards.
I switched my keyboard to US format but I had even more problems then I came back to French and still had as much difficulty to write Monterey instead of Big Sur.

I restarted, got a text line boot instead of icons.
I tried to edit .disk_label.contentDetails again and finally by some miracle I managed to write Monterey on the first line but the file now contains 10 lines.

Since then everything works and I don't dare touch anything.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,124
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I pressed Enter but it was very difficult to edit the content.
When I type characters, I got a strange behaviour from the editor.
Lines were added and I could not delete them afterwards.
I switched my keyboard to US format but I had even more problems then I came back to French and still had as much difficulty to write Monterey instead of Big Sur.

I restarted, got a text line boot instead of icons.
I tried to edit .disk_label.contentDetails again and finally by some miracle I managed to write Monterey on the first line but the file now contains 10 lines.

Since then everything works and I don't dare touch anything.
I've just added basic "vi" instructions to that guide:

Screenshot 2022-08-10 at 3.08.51 PM.png
 
Top