Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,145
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** OpenCore 0.8.3 PRE-RELEASE Mini-Guide **
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
Just for the purpose of training I decided to create a USB key using HackinDROM apps.
Following the instruction and end up with the "famous :) EFI 0.78 from @CaseySJ with Intel Wifi configuration.
Then I decided to update to the latest version currently available, with the update function of HackINDROM.
However this does not work on Ventura as Ventura AirportItlwm is missing in my EFI.
Did I do something wrong or missed something?
Thanks again for your support as always...
Oh yes, we need to download and install the Ventura version of AirportItlwm. Some folks have reported problems with the Ventura driver.

Alas, my advice continues to be the same: We should use a Broadcom WiFi/BT module for best results.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
221
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Taking advantage of the recent downturn in GPU prices I recently (last week) upgraded to a Sapphire Pulse AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT.

Sadly this has broken "Sleep" on my machine.
When I select Sleep from the Apple menu, the monitor switches off but the computer never actually enters "sleep".

I'm aware everybody hates the endless stream of help requests on this issue, but I've tried everything I can think of
and have nowhere else to turn.

I have tried:
Resetting the CMOS
Resetting the NVRAM
Deleting "com.apple.PowerManagement.plist" and rebooting
Everything in the Z390 "Sleep Issues" Tutorial
Updating OS X to 12.5
Updating OC to 0.8.2 (using "HackinDROM" for the past few updates)
Googling "IODisplayWrangler" from the Sleeplog.txt

The new RX 6800 XT is certainty the culprit.
Sleep was fine with my Vega 64 (please don't ask me to go back..)

Any thoughts?

Please & Thanks..

Screen Shot 2022-07-21 at 9.32.05 AM.png
 

Attachments

  • sleeplog.txt
    330.8 KB · Views: 30
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,145
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Taking advantage of the recent downturn in GPU prices I recently (last week) upgraded to a Sapphire Pulse AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT.

Sadly this has broken "Sleep" on my machine.
When I select Sleep from the Apple menu, the monitor switches off but the computer never actually enters "sleep".

I'm aware everybody hates the endless stream of help requests on this issue, but I've tried everything I can think of
and have nowhere else to turn.

I have tried:
Resetting the CMOS
Resetting the NVRAM
Deleting "com.apple.PowerManagement.plist" and rebooting
Everything in the Z390 "Sleep Issues" Tutorial
Updating OS X to 12.5
Updating OC to 0.8.2 (using "HackinDROM" for the past few updates)
Googling "IODisplayWrangler" from the Sleeplog.txt

The new RX 6800 XT is certainty the culprit.
Sleep was fine with my Vega 64 (please don't ask me to go back..)

Any thoughts?

Please & Thanks..
Some comments:
  • Is there an Apple Magic Trackpad connected?
    • If so, try turning it off.
  • Also try disabling Bluetooth from the menu bar and use either (a) wired USB keyboard/mouse or (b) Logitech wireless keyboard/mouse with a Logitech Unifying Receiver.
  • Also try this:
    • From Apple menu, select "Sleep"
    • Then do not touch the system for a good 2 minutes
    • Does it sleep?
I use a Sapphire Pulse AMD Radeon RX 6600 XT on a different Hackintosh, but sleep works properly. I also use a Gigabyte RX 6800 XT, and sleep also works.

Because you have a supported iGPU, one option is this:
  • We can change AAPL,ig-platform-id to 07009B3E to enable video output from the two USB-C (Thunderbolt) ports on rear IO panel
  • We can then shutdown the system and simply disconnect the VGA power cables from the AMD RX 6800 XT to disable the card
  • We can then connect a USB-C to DisplayPort cable such as this one:
  • Then we can check again if sleep works
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i7 - 2600K
Graphics
Nvidia 1050 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The last two SSDTs at the very end of below post are for disabling a GPU either in Slot 1 or Slot 2. Please try the appropriate version. If problem persists, let us know.
Thanks @CaseySJ, it's working fine and thanks for your amazing contribution to the community.

Also, I noted that on the Z390 thread, @Stork asked if you were a pilot and you responded you'd done ground school. As someone that got my ticket (a long ago flying out of Long Beach when it was cheaper to fly from LGB to Catalina than taking the ferry) if you ever do a demo lesson just to see what it's like in the left seat, let me know and I'll contribute to 'the cause'
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
221
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some comments:
  • Is there an Apple Magic Trackpad connected?
    • If so, try turning it off.
  • Also try disabling Bluetooth from the menu bar and use either (a) wired USB keyboard/mouse or (b) Logitech wireless keyboard/mouse with a Logitech Unifying Receiver.
  • Also try this:
    • From Apple menu, select "Sleep"
    • Then do not touch the system for a good 2 minutes
    • Does it sleep?
I use a Sapphire Pulse AMD Radeon RX 6600 XT on a different Hackintosh, but sleep works properly. I also use a Gigabyte RX 6800 XT, and sleep also works.

Because you have a supported iGPU, one option is this:
  • We can change to AAPL,ig-platform-id 07009B3E to enable video output from the two USB-C (Thunderbolt) ports on rear IO panel
  • We can then shutdown the system and simply disconnect the VGA power cables from the AMD RX 6800 XT to disable the card
  • We can then connect a USB-C to DisplayPort cable such as this one:
  • Then we can check again if sleep works
CaseySJ,

Thanks for your help.

Switching off my Apple Magic TrackPad had no effect on my ability to sleep, neither did switching off the bluetooth.
I have tried selecting sleep from the Apple menu and well over an hour later the machine has failed to sleep.

I ordered that cable, and will try switching to AAPL,ig-platform-id 07009B3E.

Best,
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Used HackinDROM to upgrade my opencore to the latest, and the upgrade worked fine. Only issue I see right now is that the Aquantia adapter is not working anymore. Any idea what to do to fix it?

By the way, I went from 12.2.1 to 12.5 skipping the in between, so I missed the 12.3 Aquantia issue.

There is a box under the kernel for forceaquantiaethernet. Do I check that? I have the patch in my plist still, but it's the original one I've been using for a while. I haven't changed the values or anything recently.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-11600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have updated my Hackintosh: buying the new (but not the last) Intel i5-11600K to activate the PCIe Gen 4.0 on the motherboard and I buy a Crucial PS5 2TB M.2 SSD PCIe Gen 4.0 and I used the slot M.2 near to the processor... ALL WORKS PERFECTLY! Now my machine is really fast with MacOS 12.4. I have updated to OC 0.8.2 by HackinDROM, and update MacOS from 12.4 to 12.5, any issues! Fantastic! Thank you all for supporting, great job! Cheers :headbang:
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,145
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS


There is a box under the kernel for forceaquantiaethernet. Do I check that? I have the patch in my plist still, but it's the original one I've been using for a while. I haven't changed the values or anything recently.
Yes, now we should disable the Aquantia patch from Kernel —> Patch, and just enable the kernel quirk labeled ForceAquantiaEthernet.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,145
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have updated my Hackintosh: buying the new (but not the last) Intel i5-11600K to activate the PCIe Gen 4.0 on the motherboard and I buy a Crucial PS5 2TB M.2 SSD PCIe Gen 4.0 and I used the slot M.2 near to the processor... ALL WORKS PERFECTLY! Now my machine is really fast with MacOS 12.4. I have updated to OC 0.8.2 by HackinDROM, and update MacOS from 12.4 to 12.5, any issues! Fantastic! Thank you all for supporting, great job! Cheers :headbang:
Glad to hear it! That is the value of modularity — where almost any module can be replaced and/or upgraded.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, now we should disable the Aquantia patch from Kernel —> Patch, and just enable the kernel quirk labeled ForceAquantiaEthernet.
OK. I tried that last night but it didn't work. Today it worked after enabling VTd in the BIOS. Thanks! It's why I have such anxiety when updating a working system!

Maybe I will try the i225 firmware hack later if I am feeling brave. As it is now, the system reboots if I even plug an ethernet cable into it.

EDIT - i225 flashed, and now working as well. So cool.
 
Last edited:
Top