Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,146
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Guys,

Has anyone found a solution to the slow boot when Thunderbolt is enabled? I have a z490 Vision D and flashed the firmware via the guide mentioned on this thread.

All working great but a 30 sec delay before post when Thunderbolt is enabled. If disabled, I get an almost instant post.

I have also booted with no drives attached, cleared the CMOS and still the same issue.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Cliff
One quick suggestion:
  • Try different settings of BIOS --> Thunderbolt Boot Support. Try "Boot Once" and others one by one.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
One quick suggestion:
  • Try different settings of BIOS --> Thunderbolt Boot Support. Try "Boot Once" and others one by one.
Okay, just tried both settings.

Boot once and Pre-boot ACL

No joy with either.

Wonder is it the firmware causing it an issue?

Does anyone else have this issue?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,146
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay, just tried both settings.

Boot once and Pre-boot ACL

No joy with either.

Wonder is it the firmware causing it an issue?

Does anyone else have this issue?
Please try the following ACPI patch:
  • OpenCore Configurator --> ACPI --> Patch section
  • Table Signature: Select DSDT from pop-up menu
  • Find: 5C2E5F47 50455449 4E490052 50533052 50543000 5B
  • Replace: A3A3A3A3 A3A3A3A3 A3A3A3A3 A3A3A3A3 A3A3A3A3 5B
  • Count: 1
  • Enabled: Check On
Save config.plist back to EFI partition and reboot. Does it help?

Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 2.36.58 PM.png
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No joy unfortunately, I really feel this could be an issue with this firmware and the z490 Vision D board. Could that be possible?

I have tired that suggestion above, reset NVRAM Multiple times and no joy.

Also tired removing GPU, all SSD's, HDD's & NVME drives. Reset Nvram and also reset CMOS - Still the very same issue once thunderbolt is enabled. With Thunderbolt disabled I get almost instant post.

I don't have the original firmware for this board, has anyone got it here? I would like to flash back to the stock TB firmware and see if this issue persists.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had the original TB firmware backed up for this board (Z490 Vision D) but did a reinstall on my MacBook so no longer have it
 
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
131
Motherboard
Asus X299 PRO/SE
CPU
i9-10920X
Graphics
6900XT, W6600, W6800
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Attached SSDT removes device US00 before creating the rest of the device tree.
@CaseySJ Tried removing the VegaII and only 6950xt is installed. Still does not attach with the provided SSDT.
 

Attachments

  • Mac Pro1.zip
    1.5 MB · Views: 9
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision G Z490
CPU
10700K
Graphics
RX580
Hi everyone, I'm hoping that one of you may be able to help me out. I've got a Gigabyte Vision G Z490 with the @#$@#$ Intel I225-V (rev 2) chip in it. I cannot get it to work in Monterey.

I've tried flashing the I225-V with I225MOD. It changed a two of the values (subsystem ID and subsystem vendor ID) however it does NOT keep the values in green, as noted by 5T33Z0 here (his github instructions)

If someone has a Z490 Vision G and has done the I225MOD, would you please check and see if the values in green are what they are shown in the image, or did they revert back? All of mine reverted back except the subsystem ID and subsystem vendor ID. I'll make another post about what I'm seeing in ioregistryexplorer.
 

Attachments

  • i225mod_image.png
    i225mod_image.png
    157.1 KB · Views: 10
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision G Z490
CPU
10700K
Graphics
RX580
This was after the I225MOD attempt, and the boot flag e1000=0. I can boot, plug in the cable, no freezes, no crashes. There's no network link. I can change it to 1000 full duplex and assign an IP manually, and it becomes green in preferences/network. It can ping its own IP, and cannot ping anything on the network. It will show connected even if I remove the cable.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.12 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.12 AM.png
    184.6 KB · Views: 8
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.23 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.23 AM.png
    128 KB · Views: 7
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.30 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.30 AM.png
    224.6 KB · Views: 7
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.55 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.55 AM.png
    139.6 KB · Views: 7
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.43 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.14.43 AM.png
    184.2 KB · Views: 5
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.15.16 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.15.16 AM.png
    108.6 KB · Views: 7

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,146
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had the original TB firmware backed up for this board (Z490 Vision D) but did a reinstall on my MacBook so no longer have it
Which version of BIOS (not Thunderbolt firmware) is currently installed on your motherboard?
 
Joined
May 23, 2022
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision G Z490
CPU
10700K
Graphics
RX580
After the I225MOD attempt, and no boot flags, it will boot up and run fine until I plug the ethernet cable in, then it freezes up. I've tried auto, 1000 full duplex,and then plug in the cable, same result - freezes up.

Here's the no boot args IOReg
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.10.20 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.10.20 AM.png
    42.3 KB · Views: 10
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.07.33 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.07.33 AM.png
    190.3 KB · Views: 9
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.07.58 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.07.58 AM.png
    202.2 KB · Views: 10
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.07.46 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.07.46 AM.png
    148.7 KB · Views: 9
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.08.15 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.08.15 AM.png
    168.1 KB · Views: 7
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.08.06 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.08.06 AM.png
    191 KB · Views: 10
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.08.38 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.08.38 AM.png
    131.2 KB · Views: 7
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.09.03 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 9.09.03 AM.png
    157 KB · Views: 10
Last edited:
Top