Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
13
Motherboard
Z490 vision D
CPU
Intel 10700k
Graphics
RX VEGA 64
Some more comments:
  • How many GPUs are installed in the PCIe slots? Only 1? Or do you have another GPU (like Nvidia)?
  • Can you post a screenshot of "About this Mac" (but hide the serial number), like this:
    • CMD-Shift-5 will put you in Capture Mode, then click in the window. Image will be saved to Desktop. Then select the file and press Spacebar (Quick Look) and click the "pencil" icon as shown. Then draw a solid box on the Serial Number.
View attachment 541100
  • Also download and run IORegistryExplorer (click here to download), then scroll (not 'search') for PEG1 and post another screenshot, like this:
View attachment 541101
Hi CaseySJ,

I found a way to get back to the old BIOS F20 But the issue still persist plus I got another issue as you know we have two LAN on this motherboard (Intel 219 & 225) when I was on the BIOS screen I found both got the same Physical MAC address. It's really weird . I went back to Windows 11 and the same situation - one same Mac address for both Intel LAN (Intel 219 & 225). I don't how I can fix that, too. So I had to update back again to F21 to see if it will be resolved but it didn't. Still same issues plus this new issue.

Screen Shot 2022-02-04 at 7.50.12 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-02-04 at 7.50.01 PM.png


Screen Shot 2022-02-04 at 7.49.23 PM.png


Screen Shot 2022-02-04 at 7.48.09 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ I have not searched. Nor did I know Apple's devices were an issue. I will research. But can you tell me if my Hackindrom resulting settings are correct from those screenshots I shared? I'd like to first get that set the way it should be and then I can start looking at fixing the keyboard and mouse issue. Is it as simple as getting a Logitech BT keyboard and mouse as a fix possibly?
There is an issue with the ACPI section of your config.plist. Near the bottom we can see that all three SSDT-UIAC… files are enabled. However, only one of those three should be enabled at a time. Whether this will affect Apple Bluetooth devices is something to check, but I wouldn’t get my hopes up! If sleep/wake does remain an issue with Apple Magic Mouse and Keyboard, then a Logitech combination is certainly an excellent alternative.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
252
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
RGB lights on RAM will always remain powered on during sleep. Always.


If this happens in Windows, then you are within your rights to report it to Gigabyte. Have you looked for similar reports from others on the web?
Thanks for that answer. In Win 11, the Card works perfectly with the RGB light staying solid blue.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
iMacPro working for my Vision D Monterey right now perfectly, except AirPlay, and it would seem also Facetime screen sharing. Wondering if the two are related.

Is there any way to get this working without sacrificing Apple Music and Apple TV DRM? Airplay worked when I was using the latest iMac, but after I went to the iMac Pro it stopped (as was warned).
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
189
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Alas, sleep/wake issues with Apple Magic Mouse and Keyboard are a known issue. I’m not aware of any specific solution, which is not to say there isn’t one. Have you tried searching this site and others?
Curious, I have the Apple magic keyboard and trackpad on the aero and the magic mouse on my other machine, no problems with them.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
57
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
We can always try these suggestions first:
  • Perform NVRAM Reset.
  • If the problem still occurs, then try a CMOS Reset. This will require you to configure BIOS parameters again, starting with Load Optimized Defaults.
  • If the problem still occurs, try booting from your bootable backup disk.
  • If you don't have a bootable backup (ouch, ouch), then try booting into Recovery and reinstall macOS. Don't erase or format any drives! Just let Recovery reinstall macOS. It will do that in a non-destructive manner.
@CaseySJ Thank you so much for the help! My Hackintosh is now working again after I reinstalled the OS. I was wondering what caused such an issue after I stop using the macOS for a week. (I was playing video games on PC the entire week lol!) Before I reinstalled the system, I did perform an NVRAM Reset but I got an error message "Volume Hash Mismatch". What does that even mean and more importantly what caused such an error? I am curious because I hope I can prevent situations like this in the future. Thanks again!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for that answer. In Win 11, the Card works perfectly with the RGB light staying solid blue.
In Windows we should also be able to turn off the RAM RGB. Although not a perfect solution, all lights will be off in macOS during sleep.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi CaseySJ,

I found a way to get back to the old BIOS F20 But the issue still persist plus I got another issue as you know we have two LAN on this motherboard (Intel 219 & 225) when I was on the BIOS screen I found both got the same Physical MAC address. It's really weird . I went back to Windows 11 and the same situation - one same Mac address for both Intel LAN (Intel 219 & 225). I don't how I can fix that, too. So I had to update back again to F21 to see if it will be resolved but it didn't. Still same issues plus this new issue.

View attachment 541195
View attachment 541196

View attachment 541197

View attachment 541198
When you say you “found a way” to install the old BIOS, what was that procedure?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
13
Motherboard
Z490 vision D
CPU
Intel 10700k
Graphics
RX VEGA 64
When you say you “found a way” to install the old BIOS, what was that procedure?
Hi CaseSJ:
I have contacted Gigabyte tech support, and they responded that you can do that by using Q-FLASH PLUS Button, the only way to reverse back to old versions of BIOS after updating to the New bios F21, and this what I did. (I had to change the BIOS file name to Gigabyte.bin inside my USB stick so the system can read it and update the BIOS when, of course, my system is powered down.)

By the way, I only have one Sapphire RX Vega 64 connected to my hack. No Nvidia card installed .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
84
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There is an issue with the ACPI section of your config.plist. Near the bottom we can see that all three SSDT-UIAC… files are enabled. However, only one of those three should be enabled at a time. Whether this will affect Apple Bluetooth devices is something to check, but I wouldn’t get my hopes up! If sleep/wake does remain an issue with Apple Magic Mouse and Keyboard, then a Logitech combination is certainly an excellent alternative.
Thanks @CaseySJ I updated my config as per your suggestion and only selected v2 because that is the only one I see any information on your page 1 description. What is v3 for then? I couldn't find anything that gave info on which of the 3 options should be chosen given the VISION-D board.

What's frustrating is that now I can't get either of my two USB front header ports on my case to recognize my USB keyboard, even when I reboot and am just seeing the BIOS loading. It would seem that since this is before OC and MacOS that these USB devices would be recognized. And they were prior to my making the change to only select v2 of the USB SSDT. Ugh. My new Logitech keyboard and mouse come tomorrow so I expect that will resolve my BT kb and mouse going away from wake.

Given my using the VISION-D and a Fenvi T919, is v1, v2, or v3 the recommended SSDT option? Thanks again for all your help. Seems I am close to working out the kinks here.
 
Top