Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
159
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Plus
  4. Portable
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Tested update to 12.1 and OC 0.7.6. First time Monterey installed successfully. Everything is working except i255V network but USB-C to Ethernet is working. Short test of Sleep worked, for the first time except it took a long while for Bluetooth to wake up. Perhaps the OS is still optimizing itself. Exciting. Not making it my daily driver quite yet.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
242
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Hi there, just wondering what I need to do to get the sound on my monitor via HDMI? I have realised that the sound does not work. I never paid attention because I always use the soundbar via bluetooth but given that in Monterey now I have to manually reconnect the soundbar sometimes I forget about it, start playing something and realise that no sound being played out of the monitor.
When I select the monitor in the sound preferences, the volume is greyed out.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,513
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Hi there, just wondering what I need to do to get the sound on my monitor via HDMI? I have realised that the sound does not work. I never paid attention because I always use the soundbar via bluetooth but given that in Monterey now I have to manually reconnect the soundbar sometimes I forget about it, start playing something and realise that no sound being played out of the monitor.
When I select the monitor in the sound preferences, the volume is greyed out.
When your monitor is connected via HDMI or DisplayPort, it should appear as a sound device in System Information --> Audio. Volume control on many monitors will be grayed out in macOS, but volume can still be adjusted by individual applications. When playing a YouTube video, for example, we can use the volume slider located at the bottom of the video.

If the monitor's name appears in System Information --> Audio but no sound actually plays through the monitor, then it's possible that monitor's volume has been turned down on the monitor itself.
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
987
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When your monitor is connected via HDMI or DisplayPort, it should appear as a sound device in System Information --> Audio. Volume control on many monitors will be grayed out in macOS, but volume can still be adjusted by individual applications. When playing a YouTube video, for example, we can use the volume slider located at the bottom of the video.

If the monitor's name appears in System Information --> Audio but no sound actually plays through the monitor, then it's possible that monitor's volume has been turned down on the monitor itself.
And to add to this: monitors often have their own volume control in a menu or quick menu.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
43
Motherboard
GA-170X-UD5-TH - BIOS F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Hi Casey,

I have upgraded from Big Sur to Monterey on my Vision D and lost the use of the UHD 630. It does not show up in the PCI Listing when accessing system info. Is there a way to fix this?

Also, I upgraded my son's Vision G from Big Sur to Monterey and now there is no sound. I read in the thread that many lost audio, but I could not find how to fix it. Could you please point me in the right direction in order to get sound working again on the vision G.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Wayne
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,513
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Casey,

I have upgraded from Big Sur to Monterey on my Vision D and lost the use of the UHD 630. It does not show up in the PCI Listing when accessing system info. Is there a way to fix this?

Also, I upgraded my son's Vision G from Big Sur to Monterey and now there is no sound. I read in the thread that many lost audio, but I could not find how to fix it. Could you please point me in the right direction in order to get sound working again on the vision G.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Wayne
Hello Wayne,

Regarding iGPU on Vision D:
  • Are you using a discrete AMD GPU or the Intel iGPU to drive the monitor?
  • To check if iGPU is enabled, please do this:
    • In BIOS, is Internal Graphics set to Enabled (not Auto)?
    • In IORegistryExplorer please scroll down to iGPU@2 and see if the first child node is named AppleIntelFramebuffer. Feel free to post a screenshot of the iGPU@2 section (but do not use 'search' bar because it collapses the very details we are looking for).
Regarding Audio on Vision G:
  • Please post screenshot of OpenCore Configurator --> Device Properties and boot-args as shown:
Screen Shot 2021-12-17 at 4.20.43 PM.png

Widen the window below so that all boot arguments are visible:
Screen Shot 2021-12-17 at 4.21.09 PM.png
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
43
Motherboard
GA-170X-UD5-TH - BIOS F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Hello Wayne,

Regarding iGPU on Vision D:
  • Are you using a discrete AMD GPU or the Intel iGPU to drive the monitor?
  • To check if iGPU is enabled, please do this:
    • In BIOS, is Internal Graphics set to Enabled (not Auto)?
    • In IORegistryExplorer please scroll down to iGPU@2 and see if the first child node is named AppleIntelFramebuffer. Feel free to post a screenshot of the iGPU@2 section (but do not use 'search' bar because it collapses the very details we are looking for).
Regarding Audio on Vision G:
  • Please post screenshot of OpenCore Configurator --> Device Properties and boot-args as shown:
View attachment 537404
Widen the window below so that all boot arguments are visible:
View attachment 537403
Thanks for responding Casey.

I am using a discrete AMD graphics card for my main display, as you will see in my IO Registry. I also doubled checked my bios on my vision D and it is set to enabled for internal graphics. I am enclosing the IO Register for my vision D for your reviewal. Also I am enclosing screenshots of what you requested for my son's vision G. Please note that I used the open core folders from this thread in order to upgrade to Monterey.......Opencore 076. Nothing was changed or modified in the folder except for the platform info for each build. Hope this info helps you in determining my problem. Again, thanks in advance.

Wayne
 

Attachments

  • Wayne’s iMac.ioreg
    14.6 MB · Views: 23
  • Screen Shot 2021-12-17 at 3.47.39 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-12-17 at 3.47.39 PM.png
    607.1 KB · Views: 27
  • Screen Shot 2021-12-17 at 3.48.51 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-12-17 at 3.48.51 PM.png
    752.7 KB · Views: 27
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
242
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When your monitor is connected via HDMI or DisplayPort, it should appear as a sound device in System Information --> Audio. Volume control on many monitors will be grayed out in macOS, but volume can still be adjusted by individual applications. When playing a YouTube video, for example, we can use the volume slider located at the bottom of the video.

If the monitor's name appears in System Information --> Audio but no sound actually plays through the monitor, then it's possible that monitor's volume has been turned down on the monitor itself.
@CaseySJ I had already checked this but the volume on the monitor was 50%. The monitor appears in preferences/sounds under sound effects (selected under the "play sound effects through" option as well as under output panel. It clearly shows the monitor being selected and the type is HDMI. Finally it also shows in the system, report under Audio. The slightly weird thing is than in system report/audio the manufacturer is Apple which is not correct (should be Gigabyte) but the output source is correct (model of the monitor).
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
242
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Hi there, I have - what a surprise :) - a sleep/wake issue after updating Monterey 12.1. Actually got 2 issues:
1. Sleep: the system does not go to sleep on its own after the a certain period of time. I readjusted the duration but nothing is happening. I type pmset .... to see the log past the duration but nothing. The only output I have is the last forced manual sleep or wake.
2. Wake: although I have no issue waking up the system via the power button, the system wakes up on its own. It is random but each time that happens I have the following in the pmset log:

2021-12-18 07:00:06 +1100 Wake Wake from Normal Sleep [CDNVA] : due to RTC PEG2 PEG3 RP04/HID Activity Using AC (Charge:0%)

It seems the culprit is RP04/HID. I don't think it is RTC, PEG2 or PEG3. I had a look at RP04 using ioreg but it does not tell me much. Here are some screenshots. Any idea?
Also that might be far fetched but going through all RPXX in ioreg, their acpi-wake-gpe values are 0x69. The only one with 0x6F is RP04! It might not mean much but who knows. It also quite possible that the wake is normal and that I never noticed before because the system would go back to sleep on its own eventually which is not the case anymore. Maybe in the end the only issue is the sleep issue.

1639781822323.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
987
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ I had already checked this but the volume on the monitor was 50%. The monitor appears in preferences/sounds under sound effects (selected under the "play sound effects through" option as well as under output panel. It clearly shows the monitor being selected and the type is HDMI. Finally it also shows in the system, report under Audio. The slightly weird thing is than in system report/audio the manufacturer is Apple which is not correct (should be Gigabyte) but the output source is correct (model of the monitor).
And do you have speakers or headphones plugged into the monitor?
 
Top