Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is audio controller enabled in BIOS?
yes.
WechatIMG64.jpeg
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2011
Messages
195
Motherboard
Z490 VISION D
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi,

I have issues with Netflix on my build and couldn't solve it for a long time now,
I get the S7706 Netflix error on Safari, tried removing cache as described in their website, also contacted tech support but they couldn't help.
I heard it doesn't happen on real Macs, so it's probably related to hackintosh.

I also have Chromium and Firefox, and I'm getting different errors on each of them.
I'm using macOS 10.15.7 with OC 0.6.8
Viewing DRM-protected content in Safari does not work when using iMac SMBIOS. You can use another browser, or change to iMac Pro SMBIOS (you'll loose Sidecar).

For reference: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...olt-3-i5-10400-amd-rx-580.298642/post-2292733
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 580
One of these kernel extensions is a likely culprit. I would suggest deleting two of them listed below. Once Monterey is up and running, it will be necessary to reinstall the applications that use those kernel extensions.
  • Boot the Recovery partition
  • Open Terminal
  • Enter the commands shown below, but replace YourSSD with the actual name of your macOS SSD:
Bash:
cd /Volumes/YourSSD/Library/Extensions

rm -rf intelhaxm.kext
rm -rf RMEFirefaceUSB.kext

touch /Volumes/YourSSD/Library/Extensions
  • Reboot and see if Monterey installation process continues...

Unfortunately this doesn't work. Same result as before - 'media not found' all over the place.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2055.jpeg
    IMG_2055.jpeg
    3.3 MB · Views: 19

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately this doesn't work. Same result as before - 'media not found' all over the place.
If you can boot into Mojave, try starting the Monterey upgrade again.

If that also fails then a fallback plan would be to install fresh copy of Monterey and use Migration Assistant to import applications and data from the backup (cloned) disk.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
994
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z690 Formula
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If I recall correctly, the latest versions of BIOS require us to do something like this:
  • Disable Above 4G Decoding
  • Then check if Internal Graphics option appears
  • If so, set it to Enabled (not "Auto") and then re-enable Above 4G Decoding
Or enable CSM;
Check internal graphics, make adjustments; and
Disable CSM.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z470 Vision G
CPU
I9-10850k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. iMac
  3. LC
  4. Performa
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@ErnieSalad
This is where it is located on my Vision G; hope it helps
IMG_3689.jpeg
IMG_3690.jpeg
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I just removed my boot arg alcid=11 and added the correct device property id that is equal to alcid=11 which is <0B000000> and it works!

Maybe the reason my layout id of 28 worked in device properties for my vision g was because it was an incorrect number that the alcid=11 boot arg was just basically able to ignore. ha.

View attachment 536396View attachment 536397
Worked for me too!

Still some weird behavior with Music and TV, but at least I can hear now! Monterey is an enigma. lol
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2015
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
So I change the device properties to "0B000000" and remove ONLY the "alcd=11" part of the string in NVRAM/BootArg?
Yes, Keep all other boot args you have. Also, make sure you change the “type” from number to data. That is paramount. After making those changes reset nvram by pressing space bar at oc bootloader.

Doing this basically moves the alcid=xxx boot arg into device properties. Per Dortania install guide, this creates “a more permanent solution for closer to how real macs set their Layout ID.”

Its fine to do either alcid=11 in boot arg or set in device properties. Just don’t do both since they may conflict with each other.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-12-05 at 7.18.25 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-12-05 at 7.18.25 PM.png
    230.4 KB · Views: 38
Top