Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
last boot was between normal and slow. It was 55 secs from open core picker to apple password login. While it’s loading the screen went black midway and come back with a apple login even I tried to force the screen to stay awake. I am going to post more bootleg files.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,495
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
last boot was between normal and slow. It was 55 secs from open core picker to apple password login. While it’s loading the screen went black midway and come back with a apple login even I tried to force the screen to stay awake. I am going to post more bootleg files.
Before posting, please check for any time stamp gaps in the boot log, like this:
Code:
log show --last boot > ~/Documents/full-boot-log.txt
Then open full-boot-log.txt in TextEdit or other text editor. Every line begins with a time stamp. Look for any significant gaps in those time stamps. Find anything? If so, simply post screenshot of each big gap.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Ever since APFS was developed, I've just been using a separate APFS volume for my User Directory... this has saved me countless times when I needed to reinstall macOS. Whenever I need to reinstall, I can format the installation volume just fine, no data loss (except perhaps for the apps in the /Applications folder, but one could theoretically make that it's own Volume as well).

Then when I reinstall macOS, and I create a user, I just go to System Preference->Users and Groups->Advanced Options, and point the newly created user's home directory to my existing directory on the safe APFS volume.

Restart and boom, I pick up exactly where I left off, sometimes I may have to re-login to iCloud, sometimes not.

Well, I just use Clonezilla now. As long as I have access, or some way to connect a drive and boot clonezilla, I can clone a bootable drive just fine. There's even a gui version of Clonezilla called rescuezilla available.

I just don't use Carbon Copy Cloner anymore. I've tried the legacy backup method and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Too unreliable for me. And, you have to keep in mind that its going to end soon, probably with the next version of macOS. That's a shame, because I like CCC but it just doesn't do what I need anymore. I won't be upgrading it anymore.

The problem I see with the method you identify above is, for me, the Applications directory. Creating a separate volume to me seems like a stretch and a lot of extra work, but if it works for you, great. For me, clonezilla works and works well enough, at least for now.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
1,160
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z690 Formula
CPU
i9-13900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I just use Clonezilla now. As long as I have access, or some way to connect a drive and boot clonezilla, I can clone a bootable drive just fine. There's even a gui version of Clonezilla called rescuezilla available.

I just don't use Carbon Copy Cloner anymore. I've tried the legacy backup method and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Too unreliable for me. And, you have to keep in mind that its going to end soon, probably with the next version of macOS. That's a shame, because I like CCC but it just doesn't do what I need anymore. I won't be upgrading it anymore.

The problem I see with the method you identify above is, for me, the Applications directory. Creating a separate volume to me seems like a stretch and a lot of extra work, but if it works for you, great. For me, clonezilla works and works well enough, at least for now.
That’s cool, whatever works for you.

I just made a bootable backup of a Monterey install using the legacy approach. I moved from a Samsung drive (with slow macOS boot times) to a WD SN750 NVME ssd (in a thunderbolt enclosure). And it worked just fine. My boot time dropped from over 90 seconds to 8 seconds. You just have to let it erase the destination disk fist.

I also used CCC yesterday to transfer my user directory (on an old MacBook Pro) to another disk temporarily so I could fresh install Big Sur 11.6.1. CCC can copy whole drives or just certain folders. Your choice.

I’m using open core legacy patcher on my old MacBook since Apple cut it off at Catalina! I never thought I’d be using OC on a real MacBook, but Big Sur is running beautifully. Wifi Bluetooth intel hd 4000 acceleration all working. I needed to use CCC to copy my files because the built in macOS Finder wouldn’t transfer my 400,000+ files that I accumulated since 2012.

I haven’t had any problems with CCC and I’ve been using it for years.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 580
Thank you all, I have update my system OpenCore 0.7.4 from Big Sur 11.6 to Monterey 12.0.1, any issues and about 40 min. 4 reboots. All working really fine! Waiting to resolve the Ethernet issue for Monterey.
Hi fellow vision-g user, I have question:

How the ethernet issue looks like? no ethernet at all or is it just a downgrade from 2.5Gbit to 1Gbit?

Thanks!
Juan
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
That’s cool, whatever works for you.

I just made a bootable backup of a Monterey install using the legacy approach. I moved from a Samsung drive (with slow macOS boot times) to a WD SN750 NVME ssd (in a thunderbolt enclosure). And it worked just fine. My boot time dropped from over 90 seconds to 8 seconds. You just have to let it erase the destination disk fist.

I also used CCC yesterday to transfer my user directory (on an old MacBook Pro) to another disk temporarily so I could fresh install Big Sur 11.6.1. CCC can copy whole drives or just certain folders. Your choice.

I’m using open core legacy patcher on my old MacBook since Apple cut it off at Catalina! I never thought I’d be using OC on a real MacBook, but Big Sur is running beautifully. Wifi Bluetooth intel hd 4000 acceleration all working. I needed to use CCC to copy my files because the built in macOS Finder wouldn’t transfer my 400,000+ files that I accumulated since 2012.

I haven’t had any problems with CCC and I’ve been using it for years.

Well, I really, really do wish that people would stop repeating that you must use the legacy approach with CCC. I have been using CCC for well over 10 years. I know how to use it, and how to use the "legacy" approach. I'm just saying its not reliable, and is not going to be around much longer.

A quote from Mike Bombich of CCC: "....APFS replication utility completed the task, but then failed to remount the destination. CCC tried to remount the destination as well, but also failed. The backup is whole, but CCC was unable to wrap up the final details of renaming the destination back to "imacProBkUp", and restoring a custom icon, if applicable. This is why CCC recommended that you erase the destination and try again."

Which I did, and it failed again, on a different disk. So clearly, it failed.

Furthermore, Mike pushes hard to not use the legacy approach "I agree! Please, stop doing it this way! Don't make bootable backups, make Standard Backups instead (i.e. the "default settings")".

And my final point is: soon, you will have no choice, you will not be able to use CCC to make bootable clones. I believe in preparation, and so I have taken steps to protect myself and my data.

What you, or Casey chooses to do, that's your choice. All the best.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
983
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well all, it happened: bootable backup clones with CCC are gone. At least for me with CCC 6.0.4 and Monterey.

I just had a long and not very pleasant email dialogue with Mike Bombich about my recent attempt to clone my Monterey install. It failed, and Mike pointed out that this will happen much more in the future as many of us knew - because this is what Apple wants.

Now I did use the legacy boot option, but it failed. Mike pointed out why, but clearly reminded me that soon there won't be a legacy boot option anyway, because that is what Apple wants.

His recommendation was try plan B: Plan B for a simple bootable backup is kind of a nightmare, which, if you read below, he fullly admits. First, you install your OS on your projected clone. (In my case, that took a LONG time on a very fast NVME drive). Then your best bet is to use migration assistant to migrate all your settings to your bootable backup clone. Again, that takes a dreadful amount of time.

Now I have done this and I'm looking at about three hours. And remember, every time Apple upgrades its code, you will have to upgrade this way. Imagine that....

How do you quickly recover from a failure? Well, he actually has no answer for that.....

More from our dialogue:


MIKE: "No, I'm actually suggesting that you stop doing that."


MIKE: "I agree! Please, stop doing it this way! Don't make bootable backups, make Standard Backups instead (i.e. the "default settings"). This is precisely the experience that I'm trying to have people avoid, this is why I'm trying to convince people to stop trying to make the backup bootable. What do you have when this is complete? Is the bootable backup substantively better than a Standard (non-bootable) backup? No, it's marginally better at best, and given the hassle that you have to go through to make and keep it bootable, I think it's now worse."

The problem that Mike deftly avoids is the situation wherein you need to complete a project and you can't because of disk failure. If you could boot your backup, you could do what's needed to complete it.

But sure, if you have multiple Macs sitting around doing nothing and you have the backup of the project you could just move the project over to your excess machine (Well, sure I have a couple of Mac Pros just sitting around waiting for me to use them). You do too, right?

You know this sounds like a ploy by Apple to make sure they can sell more hardware. Because if you've got a critical project, you have to have two Mac Pros (or two of any Mac hardware). And they have to be mirrored and exactly the same. Then and only then can you trust that if you move a project from a failed Mac to another Mac, you can count on being able to continue uninterrupted.
All of this. If my machine goes down, it’s one thing to do an OS install. Another thing entirely to do an OS + all of my software and libraries. It’s literal 100s of gigs of download software. It takes over a day to accomplish a full install.

Edit: replied before reading the whole thread. My comments still stand, but it sounds like there are options. Also sounds like data structure changes?
Like, is apple’s /system/library/application support/
Separate from a 3rd party’s
/system/library/application support/ ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i5-11600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi fellow vision-g user, I have question:

How the ethernet issue looks like? no ethernet at all or is it just a downgrade from 2.5Gbit to 1Gbit?

Thanks!
Juan
Hi Juan, my issue with Ethernet is this: no network! the driver is installed but don't works correctly! see the pictures.
Thanks
 

Attachments

  • Mac di Gianni  2021-10-26 alle 15.10.45.png
    Mac di Gianni 2021-10-26 alle 15.10.45.png
    571.9 KB · Views: 40
  • Mac di Gianni  2021-10-26 alle 15.11.13.png
    Mac di Gianni 2021-10-26 alle 15.11.13.png
    338.4 KB · Views: 45
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i5-11600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some issues on my Hackintosh:
  1. I have a M2 Samsung 970 Evo 1 TB, with new version Monterey 12.0.1 is affected by the boot soooo slow (I have only MacOS partition, only Mac, no Windows), the entire disk is in APFS (this issue I don't have it with my second hackintosh because I have installed a M2 of Crucial 500 GB).
  2. I have update the BIOS to from F20d to F21a (for support Windows 11, no need it but I did); not a issue this or maybe...
  3. After 4 reboots to update Monterey, the sound don't works, so I remembered that I must to get a "#" before "device-id" in the DeviceProperties (pic), and now working fine (for my second hackintosh too) - (then this issue is resolved ;))
In this moment that's all. Please help me to resolve the issue with M2.
Thank you.
 

Attachments

  • Mac di Gianni  2021-10-26 alle 15.22.03.png
    Mac di Gianni 2021-10-26 alle 15.22.03.png
    194 KB · Views: 21
Top