Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700KF
Graphics
RX 580
So excited to be doing my first build with this guide! No more Vision D's left on Amazon but picked up a Vision G with Thunderbolt add-on.

My question (apologies if already buried in these incredible 770 pages - I searched!) is should I also stick to BIOS version F5 using the Vision G? I noticed the Vision G's F5 BIOS has the old UI, so had me wondering how closely it matches with Vision D's.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
244
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What is the ACPI error you're given?
The error is ACPI_BIOS_ERROR on the BSOD. Just realised that your SSDT and @CaseySJ simplified one is in 0.7.4. Going to give it a try.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
244
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ and @canyondust I can confirm that the new GPRW SSDT in 0.7.4 works and allows to boot windows 10 with no ACPI error and also allows macos to sleep and stay asleep (wake up via the power button). A big thank you guys !!!! No more juggling with the F12 key :)
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
998
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Of course! :)

We can in fact simplify it as follows:
JavaScript:
DefinitionBlock ("", "SSDT", 2, "Slav", "GPRW", 0x00000000)
{
    External (XPRW, MethodObj)    // 2 Arguments

    Method (GPRW, 2, NotSerialized)
    {
        If (_OSI ("Darwin"))
        {
            While (One)
            {
                If ((0x6D == Arg0))
                {
                    Return (Package (0x02)
                    {
                        0x6D,
                        Zero
                    })
                }

                If ((0x0D == Arg0))
                {
                    Return (Package (0x02)
                    {
                        0x0D,
                        Zero
                    })
                }

                Break
            }
        }

        Return (XPRW (Arg0, Arg1))
    }
}

so just so I'm reading the code right, this would imply the macOS only ever expects Arg0 to be either 0x6D or 0x0D, and Arg1 is always Zero (or false)?
(edited: mistakes)
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
998
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yup, don’t need the While loop either. That will have to wait for November and OpenCore 0.7.5!
C-like:
DefinitionBlock ("", "SSDT", 2, "Slav", "GPRW", 0x00000000)
{
    External (XPRW, MethodObj)    // 2 Arguments

    Method (GPRW, 2, NotSerialized)
    {
        If (_OSI ("Darwin"))
        {
            If ((0x6D == Arg0))
            {
                Return (Package (0x02)
                {
                    0x6D,
                    Zero
                })
            }

            If ((0x0D == Arg0))
            {
                Return (Package (0x02)
                {
                    0x0D,
                    Zero
                })
            }
        }

        Return (XPRW (Arg0, Arg1))
    }
}
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2021
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Tried doing first install on my Vision G using "EFI-074-VISION-G-NOT-D.zip", however was hitting the error below after choosing 'Install MacOS'. Reverted to OC 0.7.3 and everything went smooth.

OC: Failed to drop ACPI 52414D44 - Not found
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Tried doing first install on my Vision G using "EFI-074-VISION-G-NOT-D.zip", however was hitting the error below after choosing 'Install MacOS'. Reverted to OC 0.7.3 and everything went smooth.

OC: Failed to drop ACPI 52414D44 - Not found
That is referring to DMAR table, but the name is backwards: RAMD.
Screen Shot 2021-10-05 at 12.52.01 PM.png


If you upgrade again to OC 0.7.4, please post screenshot of this:
Screen Shot 2021-10-05 at 12.49.33 PM.png
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Running 11.6 with OC 0.7.4 updated from 0.7.3 using HackinDROM 2.0.2, thanks to CaseySJ excellent 0.7.2 guide.
All updates OC and OS since that have been smooth and easy.
WiFi, the blue tooth (YOUBO Dual Band WiFi Card BCM94360CD), continuity, and sleep are working very well.
Initial 30 min "Turn display off after" changed to 10 min without affecting the sleep function.
Some observation on CC 6.0.4-b1 (7213); it doesn't update EFI or place EFI in the backup hards drive (in my case, it is M2 WDS100T2B0C), despite recommended settings in Legacy Bootable Backup Assistant. Anybody else observing this CC behavior?
 

Attachments

  • HackinDROM_2.0.2 .png
    HackinDROM_2.0.2 .png
    164.3 KB · Views: 33

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Running 11.6 with OC 0.7.4 updated from 0.7.3 using HackinDROM 2.0.2, thanks to CaseySJ excellent 0.7.2 guide.
All updates OC and OS since that have been smooth and easy.
WiFi, the blue tooth (YOUBO Dual Band WiFi Card BCM94360CD), continuity, and sleep are working very well.
Initial 30 min "Turn display off after" changed to 10 min without affecting the sleep function.
Some observation on CC 6.0.4-b1 (7213); it doesn't update EFI or place EFI in the backup hards drive (in my case, it is M2 WDS100T2B0C), despite recommended settings in Legacy Bootable Backup Assistant. Anybody else observing this CC behavior?
Please check the EFIClone.sh script as follows:


First, check if CCC has full Disk Access as shown:
Screen Shot 2021-10-05 at 1.39.47 PM.png


Now select Reveal CCC's Scripts folder:
Screen Shot 2021-10-05 at 1.40.01 PM.png


Expand the Scripts folder as shown and open EFIClone.sh in a text editor.
Screen Shot 2021-10-05 at 1.40.11 PM.png

Finally, check if TEST_SWITCH="N".
Screen Shot 2021-10-05 at 1.41.50 PM.png

Also check that the script was downloaded from here:
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please check the EFIClone.sh script as follows:


First, check if CCC has full Disk Access as shown:
View attachment 530174

Now select Reveal CCC's Scripts folder:
View attachment 530175

Expand the Scripts folder as shown and open EFIClone.sh in a text editor.
View attachment 530176
Finally, check if TEST_SWITCH="N".
View attachment 530177
Also check that the script was downloaded from here:
Thank you, CaseySJ. I was missing the EFIClone.sh in the Scripts folder.
 
Top