Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 25, 2012
Messages
174
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9 12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
One more quick comment: Is Deep Color (HDR) enabled on the TV? If so, we should disable that mode and see what happens.
@CaseySJ, hmmmm. great question. A new possible solution to try when I get in on Monday.

I have seen the prompt appear at boot. I have turned off HDR with-in display prefs. for the two monitors, but never for the television.

For the last two to three years, 85 to 90% of the productions supplied are HDR or Dolby Vision format.
The televisions in use are HDR10, HDR10+ and Dolby Vision capable however, the 5700 XT is just HDR10.

What is your opinion concerning the addition of a second video card to the system? A RX580 or even another 5700 XT for the television.

Which Pci slot and what changes to the config.plist are needed?

Tony.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 25, 2012
Messages
174
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9 12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,113
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...

What is your opinion concerning the addition of a second video card to the system? A RX580 or even another 5700 XT for the television.
It's perfectly okay to connect a second GPU, but the same problem could very well occur on that one as well. That's why it's best to first determine what might be causing the problem.

Here's a simple experiment:
  • Disconnect the two monitors from your 5700 XT
  • Connect only the TV
  • Does the GPU still go to 100%?
  • If so, then adding a second GPU (RX 580) may not be a solution.

Which Pci slot and what changes to the config.plist are needed?
Any available long slot is okay. It's best to use the first and second slots, in which case both operate at x8. This is more than 100000% okay because you're not playing games or using the GPU for extreme tasks. Fortunately no changes to config.plist will be needed. MacOS will auto-detect both GPUs without any issue.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
991
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, hmmmm. great question. A new possible solution to try when I get in on Monday.

I have seen the prompt appear at boot. I have turned off HDR with-in display prefs. for the two monitors, but never for the television.

For the last two to three years, 85 to 90% of the productions supplied are HDR or Dolby Vision format.
The televisions in use are HDR10, HDR10+ and Dolby Vision capable however, the 5700 XT is just HDR10.

What is your opinion concerning the addition of a second video card to the system? A RX580 or even another 5700 XT for the television.

Which Pci slot and what changes to the config.plist are needed?

Tony.
Wow, you get HDR files for your cutting copy?! That’s awesome..
 
Joined
May 25, 2012
Messages
174
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9 12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
It's perfectly okay to connect a second GPU, but the same problem could very well occur on that one as well. That's why it's best to first determine what might be causing the problem.

Here's a simple experiment:
  • Disconnect the two monitors from your 5700 XT
  • Connect only the TV
  • Does the GPU still go to 100%?
  • If so, then adding a second GPU (RX 580) may not be a solution.


Any available long slot is okay. It's best to use the first and second slots, in which case both operate at x8. This is more than 100000% okay because you're not playing games or using the GPU for extreme tasks. Fortunately no changes to config.plist will be needed. MacOS will auto-detect both GPUs without any issue.
@CaseySJ, Will do. I have dedicated Monday evening for experimentation. Hope to get it all resolved.

I dislike having to use an additional synced trashcan just for visual content playback.

Strangely enough, (do not laugh) I feel like I am cheating:shh: on the hackintosh, having to incorporate an authentic MacPro.

:lol::D:lol:
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
324
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This Beta is HackinDROM's more secure and more stable version ever

EDIT: After reboot eveything is back to normal !

You are right !
Did update of OC 0.72 to 0.73 smoothly. Thanks a lot.
However when relaunching I get this message (not a big deal...).
I believe it should be easy to solve out ;-) But how?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-09-12 at 08.33.54.png
    Screenshot 2021-09-12 at 08.33.54.png
    79.6 KB · Views: 53
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
94
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
EDIT: After reboot eveything is back to normal !

You are right !
Did update of OC 0.72 to 0.73 smoothly. Thanks a lot.
However when relaunching I get this message (not a big deal...).
I believe it should be easy to solve out ;-) But how?
For OpenCore updates I always use OCConfigCompare and ocvalidate...clean, no dependency on other apps. Never any issues.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
798
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OpenCore Configurator 2.49.0.1 screws my config.
I used it to modify an OpenCore 071 & 072 configurations and I get plenty of drivers error at boot.
Is there a way out or I have to edit with something else?
Thanks a lot.
 
Top