Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@CaseySJ do you encounter that “?” Issue in California?

(I feel like we are in 1930s)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,252
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ do you encounter that “?” Issue in California?

(I feel like we are in 1930s)
In the admin screen, when I selected the folder containing the new 0.7.2 EFI, HackinDROM App reported the version as 0.0.0. I changed it manually to 0.7.2 and then completed the rest of the form (release notes, config file mapping, etc.). You might be right about the time zone issue…
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
25
Motherboard
GIGABYTE z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900k
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Has anyone in this thread experienced not being able to read the TB3 flashrom chip?

I can't get past:
No EEPROM/flash device found.
Note: flashrom can never write if the flash chip isn't found automatically.

I'm not having luck flashing the chip.

I've followed all the guides/mini guides for the flashing procedure. Even tried two different CH341A usb programmers - low voltage 3.3v and the original 5v version (tested with multimeter and only 3.3v for pins 4 and 8) I've tried eliminating any possible issues. Used different USB ports/extension cables. I've tried both Windows ASprogrammer, CH341A miniprogammer (both can see CH341A device/driver, but read out is "unknown"), and flashrom via home-brew in terminal gives the No EEPROM/flash device found.

From everything I read it has to do with a bad connection to the chip and clip. I've swapped the the different clips from both usb programmers and still same result.

When I attach the thunderbolt chip and usb programmer the Red LED illuminates on the programmer. When I then plug into the USB port the Red LED becomes brighter.

Is it possible that something is physically wrong with the chip prohibiting me from getting a connection for the programmer to read it? I don't have another TB3 card to test to verify this, but was wondering if anyone else had similar issues.

And lastly, shout out to @CaseySJ for the thorough guide. you've clearly helped hundreds making a super stable and reliable hackintosh. I used this guide to upgrade my z370 Maximus x code with the Z490 Vision D with i9 10900k and 5700xt. Pretty happy with the results and now have thunderbolt as an interface. Main reason I'd like to flash is for thunderbolt bridge between two hacks.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi guys,

My Z590 Vision D and Radeon RX 6800 XT GAMING X TRIO 16G arrived yesterday. I will be using HackinDROM though IGPU is disable in that. (Mine is i9-10850K.)

Is it OK if I put the GPU in the 2nd PCI slot?
Which version of BIOS is safe now?
What are the BIOS settings I have to change? (Is it same as Z490 Vision D)
What is the latest Big Sur version supported?
I am buying one 10GbE network card. Which one is natively supported?

Thanks a lot

NB: Z490 Vision D is not available.
Edit : typo
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
In the admin screen, when I selected the folder containing the new 0.7.2 EFI, HackinDROM App reported the version as 0.0.0. I changed it manually to 0.7.2 and then completed the rest of the form (release notes, config file mapping, etc.). You might be right about the time zone issue…
Just fixed in v1.4.8
Screen Shot 2021-08-03 at 09.54.12.png
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
292
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I get the new HackinDROM version, with the proper OC version of my EFI but only on one HD (I have the same on another one, plus a USB key...). :)
However I still don't have enough space to upgrade, although I dont have any Apple folder and the trash is empty.
1st time it happens... :(
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-08-03 at 15.09.54.png
    Screenshot 2021-08-03 at 15.09.54.png
    109.5 KB · Views: 18
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-10500
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I update the new version of OpenCore 0.7.2 creating the new EFI in the folder, because I don't see the availability on the HackinDROM. Then, all works really fine, when I reboot the system I put "ENABLE" the VT-d in the BIOS. I update the HackinDROM to new version (1.4.8) all working fine! Thank you so much, great job for my system! I have assembled the new PC-HACK-VISION G for my collegue who use only the iGPU and there too WORKING REALLY GOOD! Thank you so much for great jobs, thank you @CaseySJ for your availability to update constantly the system and resolve many issues for this community!
Best wishes to all! :headbang:
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,252
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I update the new version of OpenCore 0.7.2 creating the new EFI in the folder, because I don't see the availability on the HackinDROM. Then, all works really fine, when I reboot the system I put "ENABLE" the V-TD in the BIOS. I update the HackinDROM to new version (1.4.8) all working fine! Thank you so much, great job for my system! I have assembled the new PC-HACK-VISION G for my collegue who use only the iGPU and there too WORKING REALLY GOOD! Thank you so much for great jobs, thank you @CaseySJ for your availability to update constantly the system and resolve many issues for this community!
Best wishes to all! :headbang:
Glad to hear it!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,252
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I get the new HackinDROM version, with the proper OC version of my EFI but only on one HD (I have the same on another one, plus a USB key...). :)
However I still don't have enough space to upgrade, although I dont have any Apple folder and the trash is empty.
1st time it happens... :(
HackinDROM needs space to store a backup copy of the old EFI folder. By default it stores the backup in EFI partition, but we can select a different folder such as Documents or Downloads. The details of this are explained in the HackinDROM mini-guide. Please give that a try and see if it solves the problem.
 
Top