Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,951
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I update the new version of OpenCore 0.7.2 creating the new EFI in the folder, because I don't see the availability on the HackinDROM. Then, all works really fine, when I reboot the system I put "ENABLE" the V-TD in the BIOS. I update the HackinDROM to new version (1.4.8) all working fine! Thank you so much, great job for my system! I have assembled the new PC-HACK-VISION G for my collegue who use only the iGPU and there too WORKING REALLY GOOD! Thank you so much for great jobs, thank you @CaseySJ for your availability to update constantly the system and resolve many issues for this community!
Best wishes to all! :headbang:
Glad to hear it!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,951
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I get the new HackinDROM version, with the proper OC version of my EFI but only on one HD (I have the same on another one, plus a USB key...). :)
However I still don't have enough space to upgrade, although I dont have any Apple folder and the trash is empty.
1st time it happens... :(
HackinDROM needs space to store a backup copy of the old EFI folder. By default it stores the backup in EFI partition, but we can select a different folder such as Documents or Downloads. The details of this are explained in the HackinDROM mini-guide. Please give that a try and see if it solves the problem.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,951
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,

My Z590 Vision D and Radeon RX 6800 XT GAMING X TRIO 16G arrived yesterday. I will be using HackinDROM though IGPU is disable in that.(Mine is i9 10850k)

Is it ok if I put the GPU in the 2nd PCI slot?
I have the same GPU, but still haven’t opened the box! Anyway, it’s okay to install in slot 2 if absolutely necessary.

Which version of bios is safe now?
Some older versions of BIOS might not work with the RX 6800 XT. Start with the latest BIOS (disable Resizeable BAR) and iterate backwards from there if problems occur.

What are the bios settings I have to change? ( is it same as z490 Vision D)
Yes mostly the same. Disable Resizeable BAR. But search this forum.

What is the latest bigusr version supported?
They are all supported.
I am buying one 10GbE network card, which one is natively supported?
Search this forum. Use keyword 10GbE and/or Aquantia. An Aquantia kernel patch may be needed. The patch is already in the Z490 Vision D EFI folder in this thread. It can be copied to your Z590 config.plist.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
GIGABYTE z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900k
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Hello @asharkey,

Are you trying to flash the on-board TB3 controller on your Z490 Vision D?

If so, please try:
  1. Supplemental procedure
  2. Tips for attaching SOIC
    Hello @asharkey,

    Are you trying to flash the on-board TB3 controller on your Z490 Vision D?

    If so, please try:
    1. Supplemental procedure
    2. Tips for attaching SOIC clip
Hello @asharkey,

Are you trying to flash the on-board TB3 controller on your Z490 Vision D?

If so, please try:
  1. Supplemental procedure
  2. Tips for attaching SOIC clip
thanks for the reply. Yes this is the onboard tb3 chip on the z490 vision D. I’ve had a read through both those guides. You’ve made it seem pretty straightforward, but no luck still be with this board.

When I follow the tips for attaching SOIC clip, if my psu is off no lights in the led of the USB or MOBO.

When I turn psu on LED on USB programmer glows solid red. If I remove the clip, or misplace the red led goes off. If I plug in the USB extension to the USB port, it becomes brighter. However no MOBO lights come on at all.
You are referencing the MOBO LEDS on the bottom right corner (cpu, dram, vga, and os) correct? I’ve seen those come up during boot cycle so i know they work.

am I missing something?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,951
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thanks for the reply. Yes this is the onboard tb3 chip on the z490 vision D. I’ve had a read through both those guides. You’ve made it seem pretty straightforward, but no luck still be with this board.

When I follow the tips for attaching SOIC clip, if my psu is off no lights in the led of the USB or MOBO.

When I turn psu on LED on USB programmer glows solid red. If I remove the clip, or misplace the red led goes off. If I plug in the USB extension to the USB port, it becomes brighter. However no MOBO lights come on at all.
You are referencing the MOBO LEDS on the bottom right corner (cpu, dram, vga, and os) correct? I’ve seen those come up during boot cycle so i know they work.

am I missing something?
I have to step out for a while. Quick comment: The motherboard lights we refer to are the cosmetic LEDs, not the four CPU/DRAM/VGA/BOOT LEDs.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
41
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I have the same GPU, but still haven’t opened the box! Anyway, it’s okay to install in slot 2 if absolutely necessary.


Some older versions of BIOS might not work with the RX 6800 XT. Start with the latest BIOS (disable Resizeable BAR) and iterate backwards from there if problems occur.


Yes mostly the same. Disable Resizeable BAR. But search this forum.


They are all supported.

Search this forum. Use keyword 10GbE and/or Aquantia. An Aquantia kernel patch may be needed. The patch is already in the Z490 Vision D EFI folder in this thread. It can be copied to your Z590 config.plist.
Thanks a lot @CaseySJ
 
Joined
May 3, 2020
Messages
68
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
On all versions of macOS since Mojave:
  • AppleVTD is necessary to connect Antelope Audio Thunderbolt interfaces.
  • AppleVTD provides lower latency with Slate VRS and possibly other devices whose drivers use direct memory access.
On Big Sur and Monterey:
  • AppleVTD is necessary to connect Apple’s own Thunderbolt to Gigabit Ethernet adapter, which is one of very few Ethernet adapters that supports AVB (audio/video bridging).
There may be other benefits we haven’t discovered yet.
Hi, Casey. I hope I'm not talking nonsense, but I was testing, and I think adding Vt-d to my hackintosh solved a problem I had with my hackintosh, which was the following:

When I turned on my Apollo x4 (Thunderbolt 3 - connected to my Titan Ridge) while Chrome was open, I could experience clicks and pops in the audio. I had to completely turn off the system and turn it on again.
Since you helped me with the DMAR SSDT and activated the VT-d, this no longer happens!
Maybe this will fix it ...
Greetings, I did not want to stop reporting.
 
Top