Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 15, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900K
Graphics
AMD RX580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Alas I don't have an answer for this. If the problem is or becomes widespread, then hopefully we'll be able to google for an answer. This does not seem to occur on US-localization of Catalina, so maybe it's a problem with certain international localizations?
Hey guys.
I had an idea today. As I didn't see the relationship between mounting the install USB stick, or my SSD's EFI partition and seeing my startup drive appear in "about my Mac", I suspected this could be about devices, or device numbers.
So I plugged my other drives, that I hadn't plugged during install, and bingo! Now I see the startup disk in about my Mac right from the boot.
@miip would you have only one drive connected? @CaseySJ , do you have more than one?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,724
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys.
I had an idea today. As I didn't see the relationship between mounting the install USB stick, or my SSD's EFI partition and seeing my startup drive appear in "about my Mac", I suspected this could be about devices, or device numbers.
So I plugged my other drives, that I hadn't plugged during install, and bingo! Now I see the startup disk in about my Mac right from the boot.
@miip would you have only one drive connected? @CaseySJ , do you have more than one?
My system has:
  • One NVMe SSD in the lowest M.2 slot, SB_M2P, running macOS
  • Two SATA SSDs connected internally to two of the six SATA ports
    • One running Windows 10
    • One running Linux Kubuntu 20.04
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,724
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thanks so much. I will investigate this later. I wonder if these issues we’re finding with the Intel TB hardware if Apple found the same issues and enhanced TB functionality in macOS??

I’ve noticed that on real MacBook with thunderbolt, if I use windows and warm reboot into macOS, sometimes the device doesn’t autostart and I have to hotplug for it to work. Sometimes even on cold boot (Shutdown Windows then some time after boot into MacOS) it doesn’t autostart. Never thought too much of it until now.

And even when using an aquantia 10 gbps PCIe card in my old hackintosh, when I Warm boot from windows, card doesn’t autostart. I have to cold boot for macOS to start the card. Very strange.
When Windows starts up, it uploads its own firmware on certain devices such as network cards. To get rid of that firmware, we have to perform a cold boot. To avoid this altogether, we can install both Windows and Linux through a virtual machine on macOS.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z490 Vision D & GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i9-10900 & i7-3770
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Please post or compare the following screenshots of the OpenCore config.plist in OpenCore Configurator:
View attachment 478306View attachment 478307
  • Does the Cintiq tablet work if connected to a blue, red or yellow USB 3.x port using a USB Type C to USB Type A cable/adapter?
  • Regarding sleep, what USB devices are connected to the two internal USB 2.0 headers?

Thank you for the answer!

1) Yes I do have everything turned on, please see attached screenshots

screen1.jpg

screen2.jpg

2) Please note that I'm using "config-AMD-GPU.plist" for the config.plist
3) I cannot connect Cintiq to USB A ports as I don't have Type C -> Type A cable. But do those USB A ports support video data? I wanted to connect Cintiq tablet's display through Thunderbolt (its power is provided through second USB connection and it does work). The problem is with the display.
4) I have the following devices connected:
F_USB1: Internal SD card reader + BCM943224 (Apple PCIE Bluetooth card) adapter
F_USB2: front panel USB connectors
They worked on my previous Hackintosh setup
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,724
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes only the nvme boot ssd for now.
Ok so don’t waste your time with that, it will be ok as soon as you plug another drive
@miip,

Please let us know if connecting another drive "fixes" this problem. It's not a 'fix' but a workaround. If it works, I'll add this to the Troubleshooting / FAQ section.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,724
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for the answer!

1) Yes I do have everything turned on, please see attached screenshots

View attachment 478354
View attachment 478355
2) Please note that I'm using "config-AMD-GPU.plist" for the config.plist
3) I cannot connect Cintiq to USB A ports as I don't have Type C -> Type A cable. But do those USB A ports support video data? I wanted to connect Cintiq tablet's display through Thunderbolt (its power is provided through second USB connection and it does work). The problem is with the display.
4) I have the following devices connected:
F_USB1: Internal SD card reader + BCM943224 (Apple PCIE Bluetooth card) adapter
F_USB2: front panel USB connectors
They worked on my previous Hackintosh setup
Is the Cintiq a display device as well? Not just a pressure-sensitive pad, but also a display with an LCD monitor built in?

If so, we will need to send a DisplayPort video stream to the Thunderbolt 3 port. This is done in either of two ways:
  1. From the RX 590, connect a DP cable to the DP-In port on the rear IO panel.
    • Then connect Cintiq to the Thunderbolt 3 port closest to HDMI port.
    • Does it work?
  2. If not, try changing platform ID to 0x3E9B0007 in config.plist --> Device Properties.
    • This will enable video output from the iGPU, but certain apps such as iMovie, Final Cut Pro, ACDSee Photo Studio 5/6 for Mac, etc. will crash on start.
    • This also means that it's not strictly necessary to connect RX 590 to DP-In port.
Screen Shot 2020-06-28 at 12.44.54 PM.png
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900
Graphics
Radeon RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@miip,

Please let us know if connecting another drive "fixes" this problem. It's not a 'fix' but a workaround. If it works, I'll add this to the Troubleshooting / FAQ section.

Yes, i can confirm when i plug in an external drive the startvolume shows up in about this mac.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z490 Vision D & GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i9-10900 & i7-3770
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Is the Cintiq a display device as well? Not just a pressure-sensitive pad, but also a display with an LCD monitor built in?

If so, we will need to send a DisplayPort video stream to the Thunderbolt 3 port. This is done in either of two ways:
  1. From the RX 590, connect a DP cable to the DP-In port on the rear IO panel.
    • Then connect Cintiq to the Thunderbolt 3 port closest to HDMI port.
    • Does it work?
  2. If not, try changing platform ID to 0x3E9B0007 in config.plist --> Device Properties.
    • This will enable video output from the iGPU, but certain apps such as iMovie, Final Cut Pro, ACDSee Photo Studio 5/6 for Mac, etc. will crash on start.
    • This also means that it's not strictly necessary to connect RX 590 to DP-In port.
View attachment 478376

Yes, Cintiq is a combined tablet/display device.

1. No, it doesn't so far. Freezes immediately. I remember having the same problem with NVidia card before with any external monitor. Fixed it by specifying VideoPorts number (5) in the Clover config. Will try finding the same in OpenCore and report back!
2. Will try too!

Also do you think that restart crash is related to internal USB devices? I'll try to unplug them and see if it helps.
UPDATE: I removed all USB devices from headers - same result :( Instead of waking up from sleep it reboots.
UPDATE2: I fixed sleep issues! Changed RAM speed to 2666Mhz in BIOS: Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P) > Profile2
Now on to display problems...

Thanks again!
 
Last edited:
Top