Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
230
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Regarding my 6800 XT not displaying any video signal between boot up and macos being loaded, I connected my 6800 XT to the monitor via a DP to HDMI cable. DP connected on the 6800 XT and HDMI on the monitor. With this configuration, I have a video signal during post. But DP to DP no signal during post. I updated the BIOS to F20 and it is the same issue; video signal all the way if I use DP to HDMI cable but no video signal until macos loads if I use DP to DP cable. I am starting to thing something might be wrong with my monitor and this card. The monitor is a bit old and only compatible to DP V1.2 whereas the 6800 XT is DP V1.4a (although I would assume backward compatibility).
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision G
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
Radeon R9 280X
Just to clarify a few things... What TB connections do you have on your UAD stuff? Any UAD with TB-1? The Titan Ridge 1.0 is a DSL7540 and the onboard I have on the Z490 Vision D is the JHL7540. As reported not too many TB-1 devices connect to my onboard ports. I had to buy a used Apollo Duo with the TB-3 option card to get my quad running. (UAD is outta stock on TB cards till late July or August) Although I have my Apollo QUAD and Satellite Quad working I still have to figure out why when I change Logic X into 96khz the audio glitches like mad! Tried the old swap audio devices back and forth in the Logic X Audio menu, that doesn't work. It does seem solid at 48Khz though.

If it was easy, everyone would do it!
Hello supaMac, all my UAD are TB-2!
I just use an adapter on Titan Ridge from TB3 to TB2 to make them work

**** Startech Adapter****

Hope it helps!

I just couldnt make the hotplug to work, not a big problem but should be good to have it working.

Maybe @CaseySJ have a tip to turn hot plug on!
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte z490 Vision D
CPU
i7 10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've been running this build for a bit but every so often I get a grey screen (nothing freezes as i can still hear audio but I can't quit anything and have to restart the computer. when it boots up next it either is incredibly slow or gets hung up on the same line in verbose.

Computer stays in Insomnia mode (not sure if that's causing the issue)

My hardware:
Opencore: 6.9
OS: Bigsur 11.3
MOBO: Gigabyte z490 Vision D
CPU: intel 10700k
GPU: Sapphire nitro RX580
RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB 2 x 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 DIMM
NVME 1: MacOS - WDBlack SN750 500GB
NVME 2: Windows - WD blue SN550 250GB
SSD 3: Mac Storage - Samsung 860 Evo 2.5” 1TB
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    1,009.9 KB · Views: 22
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 22
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 20
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision G
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
Radeon R9 280X
OK,
TB3 hot plug works very nice, just tested, here is what I did:

If you are a Vision "G" user like me, just turn on/activate SSDT-TB3HP.aml and SSDT-DTPG.aml from ACPI section and reboot.

@CaseySJ said on his tutorial to turn off or remove those 2 SSDTS because Vision "G" has no thunderbolt on it, 100% true, but if you have a Titan Ridge Rev1 or Rev2, just let them on/active and you got TB3 working on your system with hot plug, cool huh?

I think it may help another people as well.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've been running this build for a bit but every so often I get a grey screen (nothing freezes as i can still hear audio but I can't quit anything and have to restart the computer. when it boots up next it either is incredibly slow or gets hung up on the same line in verbose.

Computer stays in Insomnia mode (not sure if that's causing the issue)

My hardware:
Opencore: 6.9
OS: Bigsur 11.3
MOBO: Gigabyte z490 Vision D
CPU: intel 10700k
GPU: Sapphire nitro RX580
RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB 2 x 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 DIMM
NVME 1: MacOS - WDBlack SN750 500GB
NVME 2: Windows - WD blue SN550 250GB
SSD 3: Mac Storage - Samsung 860 Evo 2.5” 1TB
Hello @BurtRichalds,

Some questions/comments:
  • Does the grey screen occur when system has been idle for a few minutes and is preparing to sleep?
  • Or does it occur even when you are actively using the system?
  • Has this problem always been present, or did it begin recently?
  • We generally discourage the use of WD SN750 NVMe SSDs due to some user-reported issues, but if the problem started recently after many months of smooth sailing, then we can rule out the SN 750.
Suggestions:
  • Try disabling NVMeFix.kext from OpenCore config.plist
  • Check memory. There's a free version of MemTest86 here. There are other alternatives that can be found by googling.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Regarding my 6800 XT not displaying any video signal between boot up and macos being loaded, I connected my 6800 XT to the monitor via a DP to HDMI cable. DP connected on the 6800 XT and HDMI on the monitor. With this configuration, I have a video signal during post. But DP to DP no signal during post. I updated the BIOS to F20 and it is the same issue; video signal all the way if I use DP to HDMI cable but no video signal until macos loads if I use DP to DP cable. I am starting to thing something might be wrong with my monitor and this card. The monitor is a bit old and only compatible to DP V1.2 whereas the 6800 XT is DP V1.4a (although I would assume backward compatibility).
Couple of suggestions:
  • If your monitor has an option to switch between DP 1.1 and DP 1.2, set it to DP 1.1 (yes 1.1).
  • With DP-to-DP cable, try enabling CSM Support in BIOS.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Hello supaMac, all my UAD are TB-2!
I just use an adapter on Titan Ridge from TB3 to TB2 to make them work

**** Startech Adapter****

Hope it helps!

I just couldnt make the hotplug to work, not a big problem but should be good to have it working.

Maybe @CaseySJ have a tip to turn hot plug on!
All things comes to he (or She) that reads and tests...and re-tests!
I now have everything working 100% and can also record at 96Khz.
The last tidbit to figure out, was in Bios Thunderbolt menu
My Quad was finally working using TB-3 option card
( TB-1 not supported on the Giga Z490 Titan Ridge TB onboard chipset)

To get 96Khz working solid the following settings were made to my BIOS
Enable TBT ASPM - set to L1.1&1.2 This is something to do with Active State Power Management.
Enable LTR Something to do with Latency Reporting
Enable PTM
I have no idea why, but it works now and my UAD Quad with TB-3 Option Card works @96Khz.

Make sure to restart Your UAD devices on reboot!
Hoping this may help someone else in the same boat.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0383.jpeg
    IMG_0383.jpeg
    5.4 MB · Views: 19
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Didn't solve my problem. I suspected my installation. How can I inspect this process?
Some questions:
  • Did you install macOS from scratch or did you migrate a previous system?
  • Did you use "Migration Assistant" to move any files from a previous system to the new system?
  • Which version of macOS are you running?
  • Did you follow the build guide in Post 1? Or did you use some other guide?
  • What is the make/model of your WiFi/BT card?
 
Joined
May 18, 2021
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming-ITX/TB3
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
@xtreem.p

The AsRock board you suggested works with the Apollo Twin MK2! Thank you for the recommendation!

I didn't need SSDT or TB kexts.

I updated OC to latest and all kexts. Does fan control work for you with AMD power gadget with the Phantom Gaming 5? The RPM shows up, just can't change values. Boost works.
 
Top