Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
89
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
[..]
Please follow the three screenshots below to try this experiment. The save the file and reboot.

Wow, it seems to work. You're brilliant.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,798
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In fact i'd like to update existing 068 to 069 so i should see Update to X.Y.Z i think, or wait for hackintoshDROM site is up to date to 069 and do it manually maybe.
(if i trash existing EFI i will have to go from scratch for config.plist?)
Please try this:
  • Mount EFI partition of the macOS SSD.
  • Then delete any old versions of OpenCore but do not delete the most recent one (0.6.8).
  • Empty the trash.
  • Then try the update process again with HackinDROM App.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Please try this:
  • Mount EFI partition of the macOS SSD.
  • Then delete any old versions of OpenCore but do not delete the most recent one (0.6.8).
  • Empty the trash.
  • Then try the update process again with HackinDROM App.
Looks like I just have the most recent OC (068) in my EFI folder so I can't trash it.
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 2021-05-03 à 22.53.48.png
    Capture d’écran 2021-05-03 à 22.53.48.png
    75.1 KB · Views: 39

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,798
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Looks like Ii just have the most recent OC (068) in my EFI folder so I can't trash it.
This might indicate a server-side issue.

@Inqnuam, please see the screenshot. HackinDROM App should not require 157.5 MB.

NEVERMIND. This might be due to large APPLE firmware folders inside EFI folder.

Capture d’écran 2021-05-03 à 21.52.27.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
65
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X DDR4
CPU
i7-12700KF
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Looks like i just have the most recent OC (068) in my EFI folder so i can't trash it.
If you don’t need it, delete your apple / firmware folder, that should free up enough space up to upgrade.

Did the same thing, as I had the same problem.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,798
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you don’t need it, delete your apple / firmware folder, that should free up enough space up to upgrade.

Did the same thing, as I had the same problem.
Excellent observation!

@zedoc,

Please open the EFI folder and see if there's an APPLE folder. If so, delete it and empty the trash.

Screen Shot 2021-05-03 at 2.07.04 PM.png
 
Joined
May 10, 2011
Messages
2,587
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This is okay.

Getting back to the Premiere Pro rendering issue, I wonder if we need to change GPU order by renaming the AMD GPU and Intel iGPU. By default their names are:
  • Intel UHD 630
  • Radeon RX 5700 XT
When we alphabetize them, the Intel UHD 630 comes first. Some Adobe users have found that it's better to rename the GPUs so that AMD GPU comes first:
  • AMD RX 5700 XT
  • Intel UHD 630
Please follow the three screenshots below to try this experiment. The save the file and reboot.
View attachment 517283
View attachment 517284
View attachment 517282

CaseySJ, to get the Intel 2.5Gbe to work you also need to add this in the Device Properties:

Code:
Key:            AAPL, slot-name
Value:         Internal@0,28,7/0,0
Type:          STRING

And under Kernel > Patches enter and enable this:
Code:
Base:       __Z18e1000_set_mac_typeP8e1000_hw
Find:       F2150000
Replace:    F3150000
Identifier: com.apple.driver.AppleIntelI210Ethernet
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,798
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
I'll switch to iMac M1 :)
It's no longer funny with HackintoshDROM Apps.
It works all the time.
I updated to 0.69 within a minute.
Where is the previous fun and adrenalin? ;-)
LOL, so true! We’ve made the OpenCore update process so simple that no one feels any sense of accomplishment or satisfaction. No pain, no gain. :)

Regarding Apple Silicon Macs, I’m in a wait and see mode. Eagerly waiting to see what they announce at WWDC and in the fall (autumn). Because I have a handful of very powerful Hackintoshes, I can easily wait and see how the year unfolds.
 
Top