Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
97
Motherboard
GigaByte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Plus
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Re: HackinDROM

Having a bit of a problem running HackinDROM. Originally, I was downloading the app, and it looked like the app downloaded. But, when I tried to run it, macOS said it was damaged. I now think the problem was that it was not downloading with the .zip extension, and I didn't know to unzip it. Today, however, the app is downloading as a .zip file, extracts and runs.

However, when running it, on the initial page, I am unable to select a motherboard. My motherboard is the Z490. There is no dropdown menu. The GPU and WiFi are correct. So I hit confirm and now I have a screen that says "Loading" but it never finishes. Activity Monitor shows "HackinDROM" running with sometimes 4, sometimes 5 threads and 0% CPU. Diskutil shows devices /dev/disk0 through /dev/disk8 some of which are synthesized. I actually have 2 hard drives one with Mac Backup and one with Windows backup, two NVMe drives, one with Mac OS X, one with Windows, and an SSD drive with Linux.

I'm running Mac OS X 11.2.3. HackinDROM says it is version 1.3.2. OpenCore 0.6.8 (I updated using your config file and OpenCoreConfigurator version 2.34.0.0 set to Official OC 0.6.8) and I've tried running it as both a non-administrative user and an administrative user. Use Activity Monitor to kill it. Not sure what to try next.

Thanks

Rand
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,318
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Re: HackinDROM

Having a bit of a problem running HackinDROM. Originally I was downloading the app and it looked like the app downloaded but when I tried to run it Mac OS said it was damaged. I now think the problem was that it was not downloading with the .zip extension and I didn't know to unzip it. Today, however, the app is downloading as a .zip file and extracts and runs.

However when running it, on the initial page, I am unable to select a motherboard. My motherboard is the Z490. There is no dropdown menu. The GPU and WiFi are correct. So I hit confirm and now I have a screen that says "Loading" but it never finishes. Activity Monitor shows "HackinDROM" running with sometimes 4, sometimes 5 threads and 0% CPU. Diskutil shows devices /dev/disk0 through /dev/disk8 some of which are synthesized. I actually have 2 hard drives one with Mac Backup and one with Windows backup, two NVMe drives, one with Mac OS X, one with Windows, and an SSD drive with Linux.

I'm running Mac OS X 11.2.3. HackinDROM says it is version 1.3.2. OpenCore 0.6.8 (I updated using your config file and OpenCoreConfigurator version 2.34.0.0 set to Official OC 0.6.8) and I've tried running it as both a non-administrative user and an administrative user. Use Activity Monitor to kill it. Not sure what to try next.

Thanks

Rand
probably best to post here:
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
97
Motherboard
GigaByte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Plus
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
probably best to post here:
Will do. Thanks Feartech.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
558
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I just found out something interesting. The razer core x works on the z490 vision d without flashing the thunderbolt firmware, but only if a gpu inside of it is booted as the initial display output, and the thunderbolt hotplug ssdt is disabled. But thunderbolt hotplug is broken.

If the hotplug ssdt is not disabled, then what happens on the unflashed firmware is when the hotplug ssdt is loaded and macOS initializes the thunderbolt controller, display output on the egpu immediately ceases, but macOS continues to load, and will output video only on an internal gpu, such as the igpu. Also, pcie cards (other than gpus) can be hot plugged using the razer core x, such as an aquantia 10G lan card.

There’s no real reason to do any of the above if you have available pcie slots on your motherboard, given how big and goofy (aka built like a tank) the razer core x is, but cool nonetheless.

So it seems like the best bet is as Casey has advised, flash the controller for the best compatibility.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Messages
81
Motherboard
Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
My monitor has DP 1.2 and sometimes the black screen appears when my hackintosh is booting up. When that happens I have to shut down my monitor and turn it back on. That will solve the issue. Also can you get HDMI audio or DP audio out under the sound setting? My build is i9-10850K + Z490 Vision D.
I see the option, yes. but haven't tried it.
 

jd6

Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-11600k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
" You must use Migration Assistant to transfer data from this backup. Reinstall macOS if necessary and then use Migration Assistant to transfer data from your backup "

I get this message when trying to restore a time machine backup of Big Sur.

Is Time Machine broken in Big Sur or its on my system only? Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Spent a little bit of time today.

...speaking of my Hackintosh configured as iMac20,2 and not reporting all of the sensors in iStat Menus (neither in HWMonitorSMC2 2.6.1), you said:

This is odd. On my Z490 Vision D I am seeing all information.

It seems it may be related to the fact I am on iMac20,2 as per this post, which I found when reading deeply your guide. @starchyfind had issues as well with iStat Menus not showing all of the sensors. HWMonitorSMC 2.6.1 also doesn't show all of the values.
However, I logged in my iCloud account as iMac 20,2, I guess if I wanted to change to iMac19,1 I should change serial number as well.

BIOS F20d should not be used because it may exhibit the same USB-C problems that we've seen on all other latest BIOS updates from Gigabyte. So please flash F8c.

Unfortunately, it didn't work. I flashed F8c for my Vision G, loaded default values and reconfigured everything. Still have issues when putting Hack to sleep while a Type-C device is connected.
To rule out any interference of the GC-Titan Ridge 2.0 (& 5k monitor) I disconnected completely the card but the system still exhibited sleep issues. Changed some values here and there in the BIOS but it'd didn't help. As a last resort, I tried enabling SSDT-GPRW.aml thinking that Disable wake from USB/Bluetooth; wake only with power button could help, but it seems it had no effect at all.
Do you have any advice other than 1) connect it to an USB-A port and 2) do not put computer to sleep?

Thanks.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,831
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...

Unfortunately, it didn't work. I flashed F8c for my Vision G, loaded default values and reconfigured everything. Still have issues when putting Hack to sleep while a Type-C device is connected.
To rule out any interference of the GC-Titan Ridge 2.0 (& 5k monitor) I disconnected completely the card but the system still exhibited sleep issues. Changed some values here and there in the BIOS but it'd didn't help. As a last resort, I tried enabling SSDT-GPRW.aml thinking that Disable wake from USB/Bluetooth; wake only with power button could help, but it seems it had no effect at all.
Do you have any advice other than 1) connect it to an USB-A port and 2) do not put computer to sleep?

Thanks.
One can try Jettison from St. Clair software. There's a free trial period. It will safely eject all USB drives prior to sleep and will attempt to reconnect them after wake.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
One can try Jettison from St. Clair software. There's a free trial period. It will safely eject all USB drives prior to sleep and will attempt to reconnect them after wake.

Thank you

I am curious to understand if it happen to me only; can it be related to BIOS settings or Platform?
I am asking because you were 'confident' when you advised me to downgrade BIOS to F8c but it still didn't work. So I am evaluating if it's worth to make big changes.

Your solution could help, but often I have SSDs connected to a VM and they won't eject; need to double check, but I think the sleep issue occurs also when devices are connected to VMs.

If you say it's worth trying, I might try with a different platform and see what happens.
In such event, is it advisable to use a different serial number? [and, to keep the old one, if I simply backup the EFI folder I guess I can use it if I want to revert to the current config?]
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,831
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you

I am curious to understand if it happen to me only; can it be related to BIOS settings or Platform?
I am asking because you were 'confident' when you advised me to downgrade BIOS to F8c but it still didn't work. So I am evaluating if it's worth to make big changes.

Your solution could help, but often I have SSDs connected to a VM and they won't eject; need to double check, but I think the sleep issue occurs also when devices are connected to VMs.

If you say it's worth trying, I might try with a different platform and see what happens.
In such event, is it advisable to use a different serial number? [and, to keep the old one, if I simply backup the EFI folder I guess I can use it if I want to revert to the current config?]
I just connected a USB 3.1 Gen 1 USB flash disk to my Z490 Vision D via the front panel USB-C port. Sleep works normally.

Please try some other USB-C devices. Maybe the problem only occurs with the specific device that you have.
 
Top