Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Messages
80
Motherboard
Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Thank you so much, I used MSI Optix MAG27CQ
and here is the link: https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16824475009
I am currently using DisplayPort(with a USB-c to DP cable)
I have tried USB-c to HDMI cable in the past and find it has a black screen that appears on the login page more frequently than the USB-c to DP port. Also, the black screen issue does not happen every time I turn on my Hackintosh, it only happens sometimes(like 1/3 possibilities, and if turn off my monitor and turn it back on, then it will resolve the issue) Also, I sort to find the solution on not having DP/HDMI audio sound output. I noticed that if I plug in both HDMI and USB-c to DP cable to the motherboard, then it will show up under the sound audio output setting, however, it will show two HDMI and DP output.

Switching to DP 1.1 on my monitor fixed iGPU black screen issues. Also I cannot boot with two monitors connected. I have to let macOS boot and then manually plugin in the second monitor. This is on a 10700K + Z490 Vision G.
 

jd6

Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
132
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-11600k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, everyone. I have may have a strange question.

I bought Z490 Vision G and i5-11600k. To use this CPU, I had to upgrade the BIOS and because I don't have 10th gen.

I had to use the Qflash with USB BIOS update without CPU and RAM and GPU which worked. I ended to updating to the last BIOS version F20b. But the thing is, and I don't know or its only here with me or all Z490 vision G boards, are like that

I DON'T NOT HAVE THE OPTION IN BIOS FOR PCIE 1 SLOT AT ALL.

Like you can see in the photo here ( 1: intial Display, Output and next below is the 2: Internal Graphics, this photo is from CaseySJ's: guide out his Z490 Vision D which has that option and even my old Z.board from 2013 has that option

but i dont have that there by settings i have only Internal Graphics. option. anyone knows why or who has the same MB like mine and can look or make a photo to see or is the same like me, cause i cant change the Graphics inside bios


thanks in advance everbody.

F5d-IO Ports.png

I
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,488
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hollo everyone, i have maybe a strange question

so i bought Z490 vision G and i5 11600k, so to use this cpu i had to upgrade the bios and because i dont have 10th gen

i had to use th qflash with usbbios update without cpu and ram and gpu which workd and i ended to updating to the last bios version F20b but the thing is and i dont know or its only here with me or all Z490 vision G boards are like that

I DONT NOT HAVE THE OPTION IN BIOS FOR PCIE 1 SLOT AT ALL.

like you can see in the photo here ( 1: intial Display, Output and next below is the 2: Internal Graphics, this photo is from CaseySJ's: guid out his Z490 vison D which has that option and even my old Z.board from 2013 has that option

but i dont have that there by settings i have only Internal Graphics. option. anyone knows why or who has the same MB like mine and can look or make a photo to see or is the same like me, cause i cant change the Graphics inside bios


thanks in advance everbody.
This may not be an issue. If you are using only one monitor, and the monitor is connected to AMD RX 580, then just check if BIOS Splash Screen and OpenCore appear on the monitor. If so, then the BIOS is automatically using PCIe 1 Slot.
 

jd6

Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
132
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-11600k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This may not be an issue. If you are using only one monitor, and the monitor is connected to AMD RX 580, then just check if BIOS Splash Screen and OpenCore appear on the monitor. If so, then the BIOS is automatically using PCIe 1 Slot.
Thnx. CaseySJ:
For replaying

I have two monitors that’s what I normally use
But have not tested both yet on this build I still figuring things out with this new hackintosh , but that is going to be later because i always Need monitors

so is that going to be an issues with two monitors , please advice so i can retour this board if this going to be a problem
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
67
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X DDR4
CPU
i7-12700KF
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hollo everyone, i have maybe a strange question

so i bought Z490 vision G and i5 11600k, so to use this cpu i had to upgrade the bios and because i dont have 10th gen

i had to use th qflash with usbbios update without cpu and ram and gpu which workd and i ended to updating to the last bios version F20b but the thing is and i dont know or its only here with me or all Z490 vision G boards are like that

I DONT NOT HAVE THE OPTION IN BIOS FOR PCIE 1 SLOT AT ALL.

like you can see in the photo here ( 1: intial Display, Output and next below is the 2: Internal Graphics, this photo is from CaseySJ's: guid out his Z490 vison D which has that option and even my old Z.board from 2013 has that option

but i dont have that there by settings i have only Internal Graphics. option. anyone knows why or who has the same MB like mine and can look or make a photo to see or is the same like me, cause i cant change the Graphics inside bios


thanks in advance everbody.

Vision G BIOS F8c and above have the PCIe option removed, If you install a graphics card, it will work out of the box.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jd6
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
1,160
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z690 Formula
CPU
i9-13900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Vision G BIOS F8c and above have the PCIe option removed, If you install a graphics card, it will work out of the box.
Hello, everyone. I have may have a strange question.

I bought Z490 Vision G and i5-11600k. To use this CPU, I had to upgrade the BIOS and because I don't have 10th gen.

I had to use the Qflash with USB BIOS update without CPU and RAM and GPU which worked. I ended to updating to the last BIOS version F20b. But the thing is, and I don't know or its only here with me or all Z490 vision G boards, are like that

I DON'T NOT HAVE THE OPTION IN BIOS FOR PCIE 1 SLOT AT ALL.

Like you can see in the photo here ( 1: intial Display, Output and next below is the 2: Internal Graphics, this photo is from CaseySJ's: guide out his Z490 Vision D which has that option and even my old Z.board from 2013 has that option

but i dont have that there by settings i have only Internal Graphics. option. anyone knows why or who has the same MB like mine and can look or make a photo to see or is the same like me, cause i cant change the Graphics inside bios


thanks in advance everbody.

View attachment 514897
On the F20 bioses, you must temporarily enable CSM to enable the option to select iGPU as initial display output... earlier bioses didn't have to do this.

Once you enable CSM, you don't have to save/exit. Just enable enable CSM, go back to the menu with the graphics and choose your initial display output, then go back and disable CSM, save, exit, and you're good to go.

Also, is Rocket Lake's UHD 750 iGPU working with Big Sur.... I thought it wasn't?
 

jd6

Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
132
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-11600k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
On the F20 bioses, you must temporarily enable CSM to enable the option to select iGPU as initial display output... earlier bioses didn't have to do this.

Once you enable CSM, you don't have to save/exit. Just enable enable CSM, go back to the menu with the graphics and choose your initial display output, then go back and disable CSM, save, exit, and you're good to go.

Also, is Rocket Lake's UHD 750 iGPU working with Big Sur.... I thought it wasn't?
No, iGPU is not working on Rocket Lake.

The problem I have is with GPU card RX 580 is not showing at all in BIOS because there is no option on Z490 Vision G for PCIe to select in BIOS.


dehjomz:​


YOU RIGHT THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR POINTING THIS OUT TO ME,
AFTER ENABLING CSM NOW I HAVE THAT OPTION IN THE BIOS,


MERCI.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
67
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X DDR4
CPU
i7-12700KF
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ah ok thnx 4 replay

do you maybe know or like that are two monitors going to work?

I have a dual monitor setup on my RX580, one connected via DP & HDMI, and both work fine.
 
Last edited:
Top