Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,465
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Hi, I am planning to flash my Vision D Z490 with your modified firmware, so that my Hackintosh will be more like a real Mac (i.e I want to use eGPU, since currently, I am only using iGPU(UHD 630)). My question is what else do I need to do after I flash the modified firmware? Also, I noticed that there are 3 original firmware files in the chip, but we only flash one firmware file, would that be an issue?
Fortunately we provide a Thunderbolt SSDT that is fully set up for both original and flashed Thunderbolt firmware, so nothing else is needed.

When you say there are 3 original firmware files in the chip, loud sirens and red flashes go off!!
  • Are you sure you're looking at the right chip?
  • If you've extracted the original firmware, please compress and post it so we can verify it's the right chip.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
539
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
View attachment 514581
Confirmed: The bug is fixed. We can safely use this version but please set it to OpenCore 0.6.8 Release Version.
View attachment 514584
This version does indeed set the values in AppleInput, but the default values used differ from your EFI, and lead to a non-functional mouse at the OC picker, as well as keyboard arrow key presses that skip every 4 or 5 entries.

Instead, the values of UEFI->AppleInput should be as follows (as noted in your EFI's config.plist):
1617826132800.png
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
......
You can literally just change the system name from iMac19,1 to iMac20,2 and back again, without changing anything else. But once you commit to a system name, you should not change it.

Why is that?

On a side note - I am about to try to do a hack with a 10900k; from what I read, there should be no difference between iMac19,1 and iMac20,2, no?
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
539
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why is that?

On a side note - I am about to try to do a hack with a 10900k; from what I read, there should be no difference between iMac19,1 and iMac20,2, no?
When you change platforms, Apple's servers will note the change, and possibly sign you out of iMessage, iCloud, the App Store, etc., and sometimes it can be a pain to reenable those services on the new platform. But if you're not signed into any of Apple's services then changing your platform shouldn't matter at all.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,465
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why is that?

On a side note - I am about to try to do a hack with a 10900k; from what I read, there should be no difference between iMac19,1 and iMac20,2, no?
In theory iMac20,2 is for Comet Lake processors (10th gen) and iMac19,1 is for Coffee Lake Refresh (9th gen). But in practice we don't notice any difference. Nevertheless, theoretically iMac20,2 is better if you have a 10th gen CPU.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
In theory iMac20,2 is for Comet Lake processors (10th gen) and iMac19,1 is for Coffee Lake Refresh (9th gen). But in practice we don't notice any difference. Nevertheless, theoretically iMac20,2 is better if you have a 10th gen CPU.

That was my guess, so I will go with iMac20,2. I have a Vision G but it has GC-Titan Ridge 2.0 card installed, so I won't do this step, right?
Disable and/or remove SSDT-TB3HP.aml and SSDT-DTPG.aml from the ACPI section because the Vision G does not have an on-board Thunderbolt controller

When you change platforms, Apple's servers will note the change, and possibly sign you out of iMessage, iCloud, the App Store, etc., and sometimes it can be a pain to reenable those services on the new platform. But if you're not signed into any of Apple's services then changing your platform shouldn't matter at all.

I see. I was wondering if it had anything to do with it. Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
17
Motherboard
Vision D z490
CPU
i9 10850K
Graphics
intel UHD 630
Fortunately we provide a Thunderbolt SSDT that is fully set up for both original and flashed Thunderbolt firmware, so nothing else is needed.

When you say there are 3 original firmware files in the chip, loud sirens and red flashes go off!!
  • Are you sure you're looking at the right chip?
  • If you've extracted the original firmware, please compress and post it so we can verify it's the right chip.
These are the 3 original files that I was talking about, I think I might have confused you. I have already flash the chip with your "Gigabyte-Vision-D-NVM-50-Elias64Fr-CaseySJ.bin" firmware, what should I do next, or maybe that is fine?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-04-07 at 2.02.37 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-04-07 at 2.02.37 PM.png
    102.8 KB · Views: 11

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,465
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...I have a Vision G but it has GC-Titan Ridge 2.0 card installed, so I won't do this step, right?
...
SSDT-TB3HP.aml will have to be adjusted slightly for the "root port" of the GC-Titan Ridge. After installing the GC-Titan Ridge, simply run IORegistryExplorer --> File --> Save As..., and post the saved file. We can modify the SSDT's root port for you.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,465
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
These are the 3 original files that I was talking about, I think I might have confused you. I have already flash the chip with your "Gigabyte-Vision-D-NVM-50-Elias64Fr-CaseySJ.bin" firmware, what should I do next, or maybe that is fine?
Job done! Welcome to the Society of Mad Scientists. ;)
 
Top