Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
292
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The process with the HackinDROM apps looks really appealing. :)
However, when I open it, I don't get any motherboard choice. Wifi and GPU are fine.
I checked everywhere but can't find the solution.
Any advice would be really appreciated.
Thanks in advance as usual

[Update] After rebooting the system, the motherboard choice appears.
All the process went smoothly. Amazing app indeed !
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 30, 2021
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
@CaseySJ Hi, I am planning to flash my Vision D Z490 with your modified firmware, so that my Hackintosh will be more like a real Mac (i.e I want to use eGPU, since currently, I am only using iGPU(UHD 630)). My question is what else do I need to do after I flash the modified firmware? Also, I noticed that there are 3 original firmware files in the chip, but we only flash one firmware file, would that be an issue?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks. Just tried and I can't find that Builtin or OEM string in either copy - pre and post saving in OC. Searched with Find: 'string' in Proper tree.

Does this mean that, like in previous versions, opening and re-saving the config.plist in OC updates it (minus this above mentioned bug)? I manually updated all of the other components of the EFI (drivers, opencore.efi, Bootx64, etc.)
Screen Shot 2021-04-07 at 10.54.29 AM.png
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
63
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks. Just tried and I can't find that Builtin or OEM string in either copy - pre and post saving in OC. Searched with Find: 'string' in Proper tree.

Does this mean that, like in previous versions, opening and re-saving the config.plist in OC updates it (minus this above mentioned bug)? I manually updated all of the other components of the EFI (drivers, opencore.efi, Bootx64, etc.)
OCC has been updated...

2.33.1.2​

  • Fixed bug in UEFI -> AppleInput -> AppleEvent key
  • Improvements
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OCC has been updated...

2.33.1.2​

  • Fixed bug in UEFI -> AppleInput -> AppleEvent key
  • Improvements
Screen Shot 2021-04-07 at 11.27.48 AM.png

Confirmed: The bug is fixed. We can safely use this version but please set it to OpenCore 0.6.8 Release Version.
Screen Shot 2021-04-07 at 11.32.45 AM.png
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Hi, I am planning to flash my Vision D Z490 with your modified firmware, so that my Hackintosh will be more like a real Mac (i.e I want to use eGPU, since currently, I am only using iGPU(UHD 630)). My question is what else do I need to do after I flash the modified firmware? Also, I noticed that there are 3 original firmware files in the chip, but we only flash one firmware file, would that be an issue?
Fortunately we provide a Thunderbolt SSDT that is fully set up for both original and flashed Thunderbolt firmware, so nothing else is needed.

When you say there are 3 original firmware files in the chip, loud sirens and red flashes go off!!
  • Are you sure you're looking at the right chip?
  • If you've extracted the original firmware, please compress and post it so we can verify it's the right chip.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
797
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
View attachment 514581
Confirmed: The bug is fixed. We can safely use this version but please set it to OpenCore 0.6.8 Release Version.
View attachment 514584
This version does indeed set the values in AppleInput, but the default values used differ from your EFI, and lead to a non-functional mouse at the OC picker, as well as keyboard arrow key presses that skip every 4 or 5 entries.

Instead, the values of UEFI->AppleInput should be as follows (as noted in your EFI's config.plist):
1617826132800.png
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
10900k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
......
You can literally just change the system name from iMac19,1 to iMac20,2 and back again, without changing anything else. But once you commit to a system name, you should not change it.

Why is that?

On a side note - I am about to try to do a hack with a 10900k; from what I read, there should be no difference between iMac19,1 and iMac20,2, no?
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
797
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why is that?

On a side note - I am about to try to do a hack with a 10900k; from what I read, there should be no difference between iMac19,1 and iMac20,2, no?
When you change platforms, Apple's servers will note the change, and possibly sign you out of iMessage, iCloud, the App Store, etc., and sometimes it can be a pain to reenable those services on the new platform. But if you're not signed into any of Apple's services then changing your platform shouldn't matter at all.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why is that?

On a side note - I am about to try to do a hack with a 10900k; from what I read, there should be no difference between iMac19,1 and iMac20,2, no?
In theory iMac20,2 is for Comet Lake processors (10th gen) and iMac19,1 is for Coffee Lake Refresh (9th gen). But in practice we don't notice any difference. Nevertheless, theoretically iMac20,2 is better if you have a 10th gen CPU.
 
Top