Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,437
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here it is attached. This is booted through OC and WEG renames the GPU original name (attached in the previous post, which is booted natively) to GFX.
Please try the attached SSDT. Some notes:
  • It's best to copy your working EFI folder to the EFI partition of a USB flash disk and add this SSDT to the USB flash disk. In case the boot process crashes, you can always boot from the normal EFI on the internal SSD.
  • To boot the system with the new EFI, press the appropriate function key at the BIOS Splash Screen to open your BIOS Boot Menu, then select the USB flash disk.
  • Also note that this method of disabling a GPU may no longer work under latest versions of Catalina and Big Sur.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-Disable-GPU-Ext.aml
    227 bytes · Views: 17
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
55
Motherboard
CF31L-1
CPU
I3 M-350
Graphics
Ironlake
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Please try the attached SSDT. Some notes:
  • It's best to copy your working EFI folder to the EFI partition of a USB flash disk and add this SSDT to the USB flash disk. In case the boot process crashes, you can always boot from the normal EFI on the internal SSD.
  • To boot the system with the new EFI, press the appropriate function key at the BIOS Splash Screen to open your BIOS Boot Menu, then select the USB flash disk.
  • Also note that this method of disabling a GPU may no longer work under latest versions of Catalina and Big Sur.
It works. Thanks! So you used this path for construction of SSDT?
Code:
IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/IOU1@7/IOPP/PXS2@0/IOPP/pci-bridge@4/IOPP/GFX1@0
Just curious what is the logic?
 
Joined
May 19, 2019
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Vega FE
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there a way to set the default audio to load/boot on internal speakers ?

Every time the macOS boots up, it plays the chime through the headphones which is a good indication;
alcid = 28 in -> boot-args on the Z490 Vision D is working great as I have the green port on the back of the Vision D as set to internal. I got a front panel audio jack as set to headphones. For some reason it sets the default audio to play through headphones (Front Panel) not the green Rrear Back I\O.

I have OC 067 set in UEFI-> Audio -> audio device as (PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)) which is correct.
I have UEFI -> Audio -> Play Chime -> enabled and audio support checked (true).
I tried UEFI -> Audio -> Audio out 0-4
None would play chime through the green port on Back I/O; only through the default headphones. Every boot sets the headphones as default audio no matter if I change to internal speakers in audio midi setup or system settings.

BTW, a side note. I had several issues with putting iMac 20,2 to sleep as it would wake from sleep instantly. How I solved this with even incorrect USB port map was I simply changed the BIOS operating system to BIOS -> Windows 10 instead of Other OS. For some reason Other OS in BIOS sets different power parameters and causes I/O internal display output along with sleep wake issues like others have XHCI , PEG1 ,PEG2 , and RP04. This tells the system to return zero and breaks the DSDT & SSDT patches. No matter how well the USB port map is configured, it still breaks the DSDT into multiple errors.

My system config as follows:
FenviT919 HS 11 internal port 2
USB 2.0 Front Panel HS 11 internal port 1
2 USB 3.0 Front Panel
Vega frontier liquid cool 16GB
Z490 Vision D
AIO Alpha Cool 360
i9-10900K
1TB SSD 970 Samsung Pro (macOS)
EVGA 1000W PSU
 

jd6

Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-11600k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, guys! I just started buying parts to build my hackintosh again. So i bought the Z490 Vision G.

I want to ask about BIOS updates of the board .Does anyone know which version is stable, so that I can update to it.
To prevent any issues....with the build....?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,258
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire RX590
Mac
  1. iMac
Hey @CaseySJ

I have a question. It's not really urgent. So if you're busy, it doesn't need an answer right away.

So, at any rate, here is the question: on my Z490, I have a OWC TB 10Gb adapter plugged in to one of the two USB C TB ports. I have found that if I have anything else plugged in to either of the two TB ports or the USB ports that are tied into those two, I lose the OWC TB 10Gb adapter, and it does not initialize.

It would seem to me that I should be able to use the both of the USB C ports or the USB A ports above them or any combination of them with no effect back and forth, but that's not true. It seems if both are used, I may lose the other and vice versa.

Have you seen this issue with other users? Any thoughts?
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
173
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
Sapphire RX6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ

I have a question. It's not really urgent. So if you're busy, it doesn't need an answer right away.

So, at any rate, here is the question: on my Z490, I have a OWC TB 10Gb adapter plugged in to one of the two USB C TB ports. I have found that if I have anything else plugged in to either of the two TB ports or the USB ports that are tied into those two, I lose the OWC TB 10Gb adapter, and it does not initialize.

It would seem to me that I should be able to use the both of the USB C ports or the USB A ports above them or any combination of them with no effect back and forth, but that's not true. It seems if both are used, I may lose the other and vice versa.

Have you seen this issue with other users? Any thoughts?
I’ve had a similar issue. I believe it is to do with USBInjectAll. I created my own USB map keeping to the 15 port limit and that seemed to fix any issues I was having. This was only in Big Sur mind you, in Catalina, all ports were recognised, no matter what was plugged in.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,437
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there a way to set the default audio to load/boot on internal speakers ?

Every time the macOS boots up, it plays the chime through the headphones which is a good indication;
alcid = 28 in -> boot-args on the Z490 Vision D is working great as I have the green port on the back of the Vision D as set to internal. I got a front panel audio jack as set to headphones. For some reason it sets the default audio to play through headphones (Front Panel) not the green Rrear Back I\O.

...
Please try alcid=11 and then Audio Out 0 to 4.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,437
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ

I have a question. It's not really urgent. So if you're busy, it doesn't need an answer right away.

So, at any rate, here is the question: on my Z490, I have a OWC TB 10Gb adapter plugged in to one of the two USB C TB ports. I have found that if I have anything else plugged in to either of the two TB ports or the USB ports that are tied into those two, I lose the OWC TB 10Gb adapter, and it does not initialize.

It would seem to me that I should be able to use the both of the USB C ports or the USB A ports above them or any combination of them with no effect back and forth, but that's not true. It seems if both are used, I may lose the other and vice versa.

Have you seen this issue with other users? Any thoughts?

I’ve had a similar issue. I believe it is to do with USBInjectAll. I created my own USB map keeping to the 15 port limit and that seemed to fix any issues I was having. This was only in Big Sur mind you, in Catalina, all ports were recognised, no matter what was plugged in.
@Higgie

In addition to reducing the number of USB ports to 15, did you also need to disabled XhciPortLimit?
Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 10.16.59 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,437
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It works. Thanks! So you used this path for construction of SSDT?
Code:
IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/IOU1@7/IOPP/PXS2@0/IOPP/pci-bridge@4/IOPP/GFX1@0
Glad to hear it.

Just curious what is the logic?
The thinking was as follows:
  • Your Nvidia GPU was being attached to:
    • _SB.PCI0.IOU1.PXS2.PCI-BRIDGE@4.GFX1
  • There are several PCI bridges on PXS2, but your GPU is attached to the bridge on Address 4, hence PCI-BRIDGE@4.
  • The DSDT and SSDT files confirm that the firmware (BIOS) is not defining any default devices under PXS2, which means we are free to define our own.
  • We start by creating a device at the "PCI-BRIDGE@4" location, which is done as shown below. Your GPU is connected to this particular bridge.
    • Note that we set _ADR to 0x00040000. This ensures that our new PBR4 device is registered to the correct PCI bridge.
Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 10.25.43 AM.png

  • Then we define the actual GPU device as a sub-device of PBR4, as follows:
Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 10.27.06 AM.png

  • And finally we can create a Device Specific Method (_DSM) for GFX1 that will hide the GPU from macOS. Notice that the _DSM method is created for _SB.PCI0.IOU1.PXS2.PBR4.GFX1, where the last two elements of this path had to be created first.
Screen Shot 2021-03-29 at 10.29.48 AM.png


By the way, are you running Mojave, Catalina, or Big Sur?
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
AMD RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey there,

I have exactly the same problem. No idea how to solve it, and it doesn't really bother me that much, so I've just left it. Not much help, I'm afraid.

Although if you do find a solution, I'd love to know what it is...

Cheers,
V
@joe12south and @CamoViking I have this same problem and have posted a few times on this thread seeking assistance, but you guys are the first who chimed in with the same problem. I've ceased trying to fix it myself. Would love to say I've stopped caring, but who are we kidding...this kind of stuff (e.g. very nice user interface) is why I prefer Macs... :lol:
 
Top