Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,328
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello ! some news of my issues !


That was indeed my first build ! but I move to this one !



It was that ! (SecureBootModel) Thank you !
But that's where the trouble begins haha

Regarding the problem on Safari, I had no problem on my first attempt to install
(I had used the EFI provided in the first post but putting iMac20,2 in the model and everything worked fine)

When I used the wireless EFI I encountered other issues.
A few plug-ins in my DAW just didn't want to run.
I managed to get one to work (after some hard research) by executing a command in the terminal that allowed to disable Graphics acceleration for plug-ins "com.fabfilter.Common GraphicsAcceleration -int 0"
But some just didn't want to boot, or made me crash my DAW.

So I decided to do a new installation this morning, based on the EFI from the first post (OC-066-VISION-D) and based on the iMac20,2 model.
Everything works very well (safari, daw, plugins ... without any intervention)

But when I switch on the EFI Wireless (By recovering all the serial numbers etc) the problems on safari, my DAWs and plug-ins come back... But wifi and bluetooth is ok haha.

thank you in advance for your help !
Are you using the pre-configured OpenCore 0.6.6. EFI for Intel Wireless from here:

 
Joined
Aug 30, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX580
Hello @REXXVER,

The MSI Z490i has one Thunderbolt 3 port, which will work with most Thunderbolt devices. It is not necessary to flash the firmware in most cases. My recommendation is to test your Thunderbolt devices first and let us know if they don't work.
Thank you for your quick response. I know it works, but I want to create a perfect environment like VISION D. Is it hard to make firmware?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,328
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for your quick response. I know it works, but I want to create a perfect environment like VISION D. Is it hard to make firmware?
If you extract and post the firmware for MSI Z490i, I can modify it for you.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
Intel Core i9 10900
Graphics
-
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you using the pre-configured OpenCore 0.6.6. EFI for Intel Wireless from here

Yes, I used "OC-066-Intel-Wireless-VISION-D" and modified:
-System Product Name (to 20,2) / Serial / System / MLB / ROM number
- SecureBootModel to Default
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I managed to both install (from usb) and boot Mojave on Z490 Vision D with i9 10850K.
Use iMac19,1 as SystemProductName and for Emulate area (i9 9900K):View attachment 509377
What version of OpenCore did you use, and firmware on the Z490 vision D? Awesome news.

I managed to both install (from usb) and boot Mojave on Z490 Vision D with i9 10850K.
Use iMac19,1 as SystemProductName and for Emulate area (i9 9900K):
 

jd6

Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-11600k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Nope, I have NZXT X63 AIO cooler and sleep/wake works fine

lewys: hi​

can you Share you experience about the NZXT AIO, cause I want to buy also the z53 kraken but I hear that sleep is not working will but I see you said its not a problem, how about the pomp does it make much noise and is constant at 100% and fans also that's what I hear at some Hackintosher's sites also here at tonymac site, so pleas till me more about it ... thanks in advance
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 AORUS XTREME
CPU
3970X
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hey @CaseySJ! I finally got all the components; a Z490 Vision D, new CPU and new memory.

I've set it all up and used your 0.6.6 OpenCore but cannot seem to get Thunderbolt working

Is there something I need to do / change?

It doesn’t seem to detect my UAD Apoll,o and I done a hardware reset, too.

Please help if possible.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
250
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I managed to both install (from usb) and boot Mojave on Z490 Vision D with i9 10850K.
Use iMac19,1 as SystemProductName and for Emulate area (i9 9900K):View attachment 509377

Hi I just succeed in installing Mojave with your guidance, too.
However my Gigabyte RX5700XT does not give any display option, and I can't set up Ethernet connection.
Did you succeed?
Thanks in advance for your support.
Mac
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
250
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Good afternoon, I just try to install the ß2 of 11.3, 20E5186e (not "d" which is supplemental update) and I can't open this installer to go ahead.
Do you face the same issue?
One friend told me he face the same issue with his Z390 Designare and he can't get any delta version through software update (developer account of course).
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
796
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good afternoon, I just try to install the ß2 of 11.3, 20E5186e (not "d" which is supplemental update) and I can't open this installer to go ahead.
Do you face the same issue?
One friend told me he face the same issue with his Z390 Designare and he can't get any delta version through software update (developer account of course).

Have you checked that csr-active-config is set to 0x00000000 in your config.plist file? Don't forget to clear your nvram if you make a change.
 
Top