Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
199
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision D
CPU
i7k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My system runs great but when I first log in to the system the screen turns black for a tiny bit. This happens with Windows and mac os. It only happens at log in and never when using the system. I guess this is normal? I have a republic of gaming 5700 xt and a 5k monitor driven by DVI . Thanks !
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,651
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hi guys I want to build a new hack after 4 years again and I need some advice about the parts
so I listed below what I like but I don't know or this is going to work so every advice is much appreciated:



Motherboard :
gigabyte z490m gaming x or Z490 vision D or Z490 VISION G.

Cpu:
i7-11700K or i5-11600K. Or staying with comet lack is better

Cpu cooling:
NZXT Kraken Z53

Memory
Corsair Dominator RGB 4x4 32gb or G.skills Trident Z RGB or……..

Bootdisk:
samsung evo 970 pro 512gb

Psu:
Seasonic Focus PX-550 or Seasonic Focus PX-650

Monitor:
lg ergo 4k ips usb-c monitor 32 inch

My choice:

Z490 Vision D
i7-11700K
Corsair memory
650W PSU
AMD GPU if poss. ie RX570 or 5700XT
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2021
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
@CaseySJ Dude! a Million Thanks for your hard work in compiling this Instructional Guide. This is my first time in hackintosh world and I successfully built and run catalina in my unit. I'm still waiting for my Navi GPU to arrive, i will post complete specs of my hardware soon.

Regarding sleep/wake, it's actually working with F1/F2 though my display monitor can't pickup the signal automatically. I need to switch off the monitor first then switch it back on. Is sleep/wake mainly configured for eGPU?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-02-14 at 10.31.39 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-02-14 at 10.31.39 PM.png
    218.9 KB · Views: 29
  • Screen Shot 2021-02-14 at 11.10.37 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-02-14 at 11.10.37 PM.png
    23.6 KB · Views: 28
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
133
Motherboard
Gigabyte P55A-UD4
CPU
i7 860
Graphics
Radeon HD 5670
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. PowerBook
  3. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good thing I checked -- after 3 hours I am still unable to start the Mojave 10.14.6 installer on Z490 Vision D with OpenCore. I've tried a number of experiments, but all have failed. It's possible I'm missing something straightforward, but it's almost like looking for a needle in a haystack of possibilities.

If you need to build a Mojave system quickly, I would recommend a Z390 system at this time.
I managed to both install (from usb) and boot Mojave on Z490 Vision D with i9 10850K.
Use iMac19,1 as SystemProductName and for Emulate area (i9 9900K):
Schermata 2021-02-15 alle 11.19.14.png
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
629
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
Some questions and suggestions:
  • Are you running Catalina or Big Sur?
  • Have you tried CSM Support disabled?
  • What is the make/model of the GPU inside the Razer Core X?
  • Is it powered on and connected to Hackintosh before booting macOS?
  • Have you tried pulling the video cable out and reconnecting it?
  • Please post the IOReg file (IORegistryExplorer --> File --> Save As...).
With flashed firmware, we have this post by @jb007:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...olt-3-i7-9700k-amd-rx-580.267551/post-2094789

@jb007: Did your Razer Core X ever work without firmware flashing?
@CaseySJ From my hazy memory my Razor Core X didn’t work until I flashed the firmware.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You don't need separate config files. I triple boot Catalina, Big Sur and the next Big Sur Beta (currently 11.3 beta 1) all with the same config.plist. They are all on separate drives, Catalina and Big Sur on NVMes and Big Sur Beta on an SSD.

Only 1 instance of Opencore. When it boots I just select which OS I want to boot. I have Windows on the machine as well and can choose any OS from the picker.

Thanks, that's much easier. Last year, there was as slight difference in the OC config for Big Sur beta, so I thought that might still apply.

Interestingly, I discovered something unfortunate with Spotlight and multiple macOS installations. If you exclude specific drives in System Preferences>Spotlight>Privacy, those settings are shared between installations. Definitely not ideal, unless there's a fix of which I'm unaware.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Over the past couple of days, I've been working on a networking issue regarding the 2.5GbE port. Long story short: I've been upgrading my switch and a few devices to greater than 1GbE speeds. Synology DS1618+ and QNAP switch are 10GbE, and my hack is currently 2.5GbE. I've narrowed the issue down to read speeds only on the 2.5GbE port (1GbE port works at max bandwidth on both read/write). For some reason the read speeds top out at around 80MB/s on the 2.5GbE port. Read/write speeds are max throughput from Windows; no issue. I've already exhausted most of the common troubleshooting options (SMB settings, signing, encryption, MTU, etc.) so I'm 99% sure it's something (driver?) related to just the 2.5GbE port under macOS (Catalina and Big Sur).

Is there anything I can do in the OC config to troubleshoot the issue?

I'll eventually upgrade to this Syba 10GbE card, but I thought it's worth finding a solution in case anyone else has a similar issue.

Side note: in Big Sur, System Prefs>Network>Advanced>Hardware>Duplex is set to full-duplex, flow-control by default (when switching from Configure: Automatic to Manually), whereas in Catalina it's just set to full-duplex. I've read somewhere that ethernet flow-control is not preferred, but I'm no IT guy. I haven't noticed a difference either way in any of my troubleshooting.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,851
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ From my hazy memory my Razor Core X didn’t work until I flashed the firmware.
Thank you for clarifying. Alas @Higgie is not going to be happy. Unfortunately I mentioned incorrectly that someone had reported the Razer Core X to work with original firmware.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
792
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Interestingly, I discovered something unfortunate with Spotlight and multiple macOS installations. If you exclude specific drives in System Preferences>Spotlight>Privacy, those settings are shared between installations. Definitely not ideal, unless there's a fix of which I'm unaware.

Not sure if this will work or not but you could try and disable Siri in your iCloud Settings. It is possible that it is picking up your preferences through that and syncing it between your installations. It's worth a try and you can always turn it back on if it hinders anything else.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not sure if this will work or not but you could try and disable Siri in your iCloud Settings. It is possible that it is picking up your preferences through that and syncing it between your installations. It's worth a try and you can always turn it back on if it hinders anything else.

I actually disable Siri on all of my devices. Try to keep wiretaps at a minimum in my life. In all seriousness, though, I just find any of that stuff annoying.

It's not the end of the world if Spotlight shares privacy settings for me since I'm purely using Big Sur for testing purposes. I would be very annoyed otherwise.
 
Top