Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Dec 11, 2020
Messages
32
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7 10700
Graphics
iGPU
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Warning: It is necessary to Reset NVRAM one time prior to booting macOS. This can be done by pressing spacebar at the OpenCore Picker and choosing Reset NVRAM. On multi-boot systems, select the default startup disk in System Preferences --> Startup Disk
Hey @CaseySJ!

Once I succesfully set up my bootable backup I grew enough confidence to update to 0.6.6 and see if I can manage to get Wifi and BT working.

However, I'm on a multiboot system and when I Reset NVRAM, next boot goes directly to a Windows boot.
You adressed the issue but I can't visualize what System Preferences --> Startup Disk you are referring to.

Where should I look for that?
Thanks in advance!

[SOLVED] It was OS preferences! I just can't get my head around EFI's and how they work, BIOS, OS and their reciprocal relationship...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
343
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi all and @CaseySJ of course ;-)
I am facing a real big problem with multiple KP on Catalina and the question is simple (although it's a bit more complex...):
Can Samsung NVME 970 disks leads to KP on Catalina and NOT on Big Sur?

I was previously on another config (Gigabyte Z370 boot Clover) running successfully HS then Mojave than Catalina and finally BS on Samsung Nvme 970. NO issues.
I then switched to my current config 4 months ago with Gigabyte Z490 boot OC with BS (I just moved all HD and everything was OK).
I now needed to reinstall Catalina on another Samsung NVME 970 and I am now facing KP. The same happens if I install Catalina on another HD (not the SSD Samsung). I am 100% sure the installer is fine as I just used it on a spare MacBook Air to confirm (same key used )

To be honest I am a bit lost !
Catalina was working perfectly fine on my Z370 and Samsung SSD before BS upgrade but I never run it on the Z490 (I was already on BS when I switched).
I can obviously replace the Samsung SSD by another Addlink SSD (they really work perfectly well) but I want to get your advice before. No need to invest if it does not solve the issue...
Many thanks in advance for your comments !
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
1,160
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z690 Formula
CPU
i9-13900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • I'm running Big Sur 11.1
  • CSM support was disabled, but I changed to enabled. I'll try with it disabled and see if that makes a difference.
  • The GPU is an Asus RX580 8GB Dual OC that works perfectly in macOS when it's in my system.
  • It is powered on and connected before booting
  • I haven't tried pulling the cable, I'll give that a try now and report back
  • I will post the IOReg file once I've tried the above!
EDIT:
  • Turned CSM Support back to Disabled, no change, so I don't know whether that's a good or bad thing!
  • Tried pulling the HDMI cable. On plugging back in, my monitor shows a dialog box saying "New external input has been connected" and asks if I want to switch to HDMI 2, however when I do it's just a black screen.
  • Please find attached my IOReg file
  • Please find attached a screenshot of the Menu Bar with (what I assume to be) the eGPU icon
  • I've disconnected the Core X entirely now as I've got some work to do (returned the RX580 back into the computer case), but still have that icon in the menu bar even though there is no eGPU attached...Is that right?
What are your Thunderbolt settings in the BIOS? Are other Thunderbolt devices able to connect?

On my system I have to set Thunderbolt support to 'boot once.' And I've set security level to no security. And in discrete Thunderbolt configuration, i set 'GPIO3 force pwr' to enabled.

I have to do this in order for Thunderbolt devices to successfully power on and connect at boot time... I have a Thunderbolt dock connected, with my keyboard/mouse/etc connected, and unless Thunderbolt settings are properly configured, attached devices including my keyboard don't operate at boot time...which as you can imagine is frustrating. Not sure if this will solve your problem, but just wanted to offer a suggestion.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
198
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What are your Thunderbolt settings in the BIOS? Are other Thunderbolt devices able to connect?

On my system I have to set Thunderbolt support to 'boot once.' And I've set security level to no security. And in discrete Thunderbolt configuration, i set 'GPIO3 force pwr' to enabled.

I have to do this in order for Thunderbolt devices to successfully power on and connect at boot time... I have a Thunderbolt dock connected, with my keyboard/mouse/etc connected, and unless Thunderbolt settings are properly configured, attached devices including my keyboard don't operate at boot time...which as you can imagine is frustrating. Not sure if this will solve your problem, but just wanted to offer a suggestion.
Thanks for your suggestions. My settings mirror yours exactly, apart from the ‘boot once’ - I will try that when I get a chance!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,493
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all and @CaseySJ of course ;-)
I am facing a real big problem with multiple KP on Catalina and the question is simple (although it's a bit more complex...):
Can Samsung NVME 970 disks leads to KP on Catalina and NOT on Big Sur?

I was previously on another config (Gigabyte Z370 boot Clover) running successfully HS then Mojave than Catalina and finally BS on Samsung Nvme 970. NO issues.
I then switched to my current config 4 months ago with Gigabyte Z490 boot OC with BS (I just moved all HD and everything was OK).
I now needed to reinstall Catalina on another Samsung NVME 970 and I am now facing KP. The same happens if I install Catalina on another HD (not the SSD Samsung). I am 100% sure the installer is fine as I just used it on a spare MacBook Air to confirm (same key used )

To be honest I am a bit lost !
Catalina was working perfectly fine on my Z370 and Samsung SSD before BS upgrade but I never run it on the Z490 (I was already on BS when I switched).
I can obviously replace the Samsung SSD by another Addlink SSD (they really work perfectly well) but I want to get your advice before. No need to invest if it does not solve the issue...
Many thanks in advance for your comments !
Ha, just yesterday I posted this in the Z390 Designare thread:
Screen Shot 2021-02-13 at 1.24.46 PM.png


So let me restructure the post to make it easier to read:
  • Original system: Gigabyte Z370
    • Successfully running High Sierra, Mojave, Catalina, and Big Sur
    • Samsung EVO 970 NVMe
  • New system: Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
    • Started 4 months ago directly with Big Sur and OpenCore
    • Transplanted existing SSDs from Z370 to new Z490
    • Everything was okay
  • Then recently on Z490 Vision D:
    • Installed fresh copy of Catalina on Samsung EVO 970 NVMe SSD
    • Facing kernel panics on Catalina
    • Installed Catalina on another SSD, but still facing kernel panics
Please confirm if the above statements are correct. If so, then:
  • Which version of OpenCore are you using with Catalina?
  • Which third party applications have been installed in the Catalina system?
  • Are you using the OpenCore EFI folder from one of the mini-guides in this thread?
  • And of course the main event: Describe the kernel panics.
    • When do they occur? When running Safari? When running Chrome? When watching a video? When running any particular application?
    • Do they occur when the computer is sitting idle?
    • Do they occur consistently or randomly?
    • Do they occur when Catalina is booting up?
    • Do you have a screen capture of the kernel panic?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
125
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
I have the same three operating systems on my Z490 Vision D, each on its own disk.
  • Each disk was formatted with Scheme = GUID Partition Map, which means each disk has its own EFI partition.
    • macOS NVMe SSD with its EFI partition containing OpenCore
    • Windows SATA SSD with its EFI partition containing Microsoft boot loader
    • Ubuntu SATA SSD with its EFI partition containing Ubuntu boot loader
  • When I installed Ubuntu, it installed its boot loader to one of the other SSDs (not to its own EFI partition).
    • So I simply moved those files into the EFI partition of the Ubuntu SSD.
Here are the resulting screenshots of the three EFI partitions:

This one is for macOS with OpenCore. It's the one specified in BIOS as Boot Priority #1.
View attachment 506730
This is the EFI partition on the Windows SSD. Note that the Microsoft folder takes precedence. The Windows boot loader is within the "Microsoft" folder:
View attachment 506732
And here is the EFI partition on the Ubuntu SSD. This one is just for Ubuntu. Now OpenCore will automatically detect Ubuntu Linux.
View attachment 506731

In the top level of this partition (not inside the EFI subfolder) I've also copied a file called .VolumeIcon.icns that contains a Linux boot volume icon. If this file exists, OpenCore will use it automatically! I've attached that file (zip) below, but had to remove the leading dot from its name. If you choose to use it, simply copy it to the EFI partition of the Linux SSD, then open Terminal and rename the file: mv VolumeIcon.icns .VolumeIcon.icns. You will, of course, need to "cd" to the correct folder first: cd /Volumes/<name-of-EFI>.

View attachment 506733
Here is the resulting OpenCore Picker menu:

View attachment 506734

Notice the label Kubuntu 20.04? We can specify any disk label of our choosing by creating a file in the EFI/BOOT folder called .disk_label.contentDetails as shown here:

View attachment 506736

@CaseySJ I have two different questions about renaming Volumes.

• The first, when I originally installed the OS I was running Catalina recently I upgraded to BigSur. My original boot volumes was called Catalina per the tutorial on pg1. I went ahead and renamed the volume within MacOS to Big Sur. Looks great in the OS but in OpenCanopy it still says Catalina. I tried zapping the PRAM and then looking for .disk_label.contentDetails like one of your other tutorials but the file did not exist. How do I change my volume name so it matches OSX?

• The second, I have a linux volume as well thats been called "NO NAME" I followed the above post but the EFI folder for linux does not have BOOT directory under EFI. I created one and stuck the .disk_label.contentDetails within. No luck though. Should I move this file to the root of the volume? Is there another way?

Thanks!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,493
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ I have two different questions about renaming Volumes.

• The first, when I originally installed the OS I was running Catalina recently I upgraded to BigSur. My original boot volumes was called Catalina per the tutorial on pg1. I went ahead and renamed the volume within MacOS to Big Sur. Looks great in the OS but in OpenCanopy it still says Catalina. I tried zapping the PRAM and then looking for .disk_label.contentDetails like one of your other tutorials but the file did not exist. How do I change my volume name so it matches OSX?
Please refer to the following in Troubleshooting / FAQs in Post #1:
Screen Shot 2021-02-13 at 2.59.48 PM.png


• The second, I have a linux volume as well thats been called "NO NAME" I followed the above post but the EFI folder for linux does not have BOOT directory under EFI. I created one and stuck the .disk_label.contentDetails within. No luck though. Should I move this file to the root of the volume? Is there another way?
This will only work if the Linux SSD has (a) its own EFI partition and (b) EFI/BOOT folder and any related files/folders. From my Ubuntu screenshot you can see that the Ubuntu disk in my system has the complete Ubuntu boot loader.

If your Linux boot loader files are in some other EFI partition, they will have to be moved to the EFI partition of the Linux disk and removed from the original location.

Feel free to post screenshots of the files in each EFI partition.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,493
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for your suggestions. My settings mirror yours exactly, apart from the ‘boot once’ - I will try that when I get a chance!
Some Thunderbolt devices that used to work in Catalina are having problems in Big Sur. Apple's own Thunderbolt-to-Gigabit Ethernet adapter is one such example. It uses the Broadcom BCM5701 driver which is present in both Catalina and Big Sur, but on a Hackintosh it works only under Catalina.

If the Razer Core X is unable to connect under Big Sur, it might be worth testing it under Catalina. However, flashing the Thunderbolt firmware is the best way to use an eGPU.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
125
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Please refer to the following in Troubleshooting / FAQs in Post #1:
View attachment 509203


This will only work if the Linux SSD has (a) its own EFI partition and (b) EFI/BOOT folder and any related files/folders. From my Ubuntu screenshot you can see that the Ubuntu disk in my system has the complete Ubuntu boot loader.

If your Linux boot loader files are in some other EFI partition, they will have to be moved to the EFI partition of the Linux disk and removed from the original location.

Feel free to post screenshots of the files in each EFI partition.

Thanks for pointing me to the tutorial on question #1. FIXED IT PERFECTLY!

For question #2 - My linux partition is on its own NVMe it has its own EFI folder as well that it boots from. There was no "BOOT" folder under the EFI. I created one. I created a .disk_label.contentDetails within it and added my volume name to the file. Screen shots attached of my terminal session.

Screen Shot 2021-02-13 at 2.44.12 PM.png
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,493
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for pointing me to the tutorial on question #1. I'll give that a go.

For question #2 - My linux partition is on its own NVMe it has its own EFI folder as well that it boots from. There was no "BOOT" folder under the EFI. I created one. I created a .disk_label.contentDetails within it and added my volume name to the file. Screen shots attached of my terminal session.

View attachment 509206
Please post screenshots of every EFI partition with folders expanded so we can see their contents. Only 1 level below the EFI folder is sufficient.
 
Top