Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
38
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z490 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 580
When we initially configured OpenCore for Big Sur public beta several months ago, the system would not boot without spoofing the CPU ID. I haven't checked whether this is necessary now with the release version.

I assume it's working for you (i.e. without spoofing the CPU ID)?
There’s no need for spoofing a CPU ID for Catalina since version 10.15.5 and for Big Sur since public beta 3 / developer beta 6.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
14
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
Intel i9 10850k
Graphics
AMD 5700XT Saphire
Mac
  1. iMac
@CaseySJ and Community

Just finished my build. Majority is working great. I appreciate your extensive guide and all the time you have put into helping everyone. Truly appreciated. This is my 2nd build but first TB3 MB.

Current issue: TB3 devices randomly don't connect on boot or when macOS loads.
  • If 1x TB3 port has a device attached on boot and loads with macOS and can use the device (UAD Apollo Twin) then the 2nd TB3 port does not work at all. (example if UAD boots on port 1 and I unplug it from Port 1, plug into Port 2, it will not recognize port 2)
  • If TB3 ports 1 and 2 have devices attached on boot and devices are not loaded with macOS, then usually both TB3 ports are hot plug-able, meaning if I uplug the device and plug it back in, it is loaded and recognized.
  • If TB3 ports 1 and 2 have no devices attached on boot and devices are not loaded with macOS, then usually both TB3 ports are hot plug-able, meaning if I uplug the device and plug it back in, it is loaded and recognized.
I need some help getting both TB3 ports to load each device on boot and with macOS. Is this possible?

TB3 Devices:
1x UAD Apollo Twin
1x Caldigit TS3 Plus

I tried to follow all of your guides including creating the HackinDrom to replace the TB3HP. I have tried to search the forums extensively but the search is slightly limited on the results it returns.

Current Z490 Vision D BIOS: 7c
  • BIOS is setup based on 5 and newer guide.

See below pics and let me know if you need any additional info to assist. I appreciate your time and knowledge.
1610199406711.png

1610199464651.png

1610200979915.png

1610200997275.png

1610201011489.png
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,859
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Dear CaseySJ,
I don’t see the OC 0.6.5 EFI folder with the updated Alpha Intel WiFi drivers.
Could you upload it again please?
Thank you
Thank you for pointing that out. Not sure what happened!! File has been uploaded now:

 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,859
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There’s no need for spoofing a CPU ID for Catalina since version 10.15.5 and for Big Sur since public beta 3 / developer beta 6.
Unfortunately this may not be universally true. Please see the post below in which @Uidi was unable to install Catalina 10.15.7 without spoofing the CPU ID.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,859
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

I thought that I would post some updates regarding 2 issues I have been having for a while and despite several suggestions on this forum nothing worked.

1. Stuck on the Gigabyte logo after restarting from macOS: each time I restarted macOS whether manually or following an update, the system would hang on the Gigabyte logo with the various options at the bottom of the screen (F12, F11, etc.). Nothing was working. Only solution was to power down and restart. Then it would pass the Gigabyte logo and display the OC picker. Looking at the BIOS code on the MB, it was stuck on a SATA/IDE error code. In my system I had a classic standard magnetic HDD that I use for cloning purposes only (before an update). Disconnecting this HDD solved the issue. The system restarts now flawlessly. I am now on the market for a cheap SSD SATA drive for cloning. I don't know if this issue is due to SATA/IDE in general or specific to this HDD and brand (WD).
We have seen circumstantial evidence of WD drives causing issues. Circumstantial evidence is not scientific, however, so we cannot say with certainty whether those drives are incompatible or problematic. We should also check if SATA Mode is set to AHCI in BIOS Setup.

2. With OC 0.6.1 and prior, I could dual boot Windows/macOS from the OC picker. Since moving to 0.6.2 and above, booting from the Windows NVMe disk simply reset the system. The Windows spinning wheel will be displayed for a couple of seconds and eventually the PC will reset. My initial config was EVO + 1TB for macOS in first slot, then EVO + 250 for Windows in the second slot then and PCIe x4 adapter card hosting a 1TB WD SN750 (because if this was installed in any other slot, the system, would hang at boot). Reading that EVO + can cause some issues even with the new firmware, I bought a 500GB Sabrent rocket, clone the EVO + 250GB Windows disk on the Sabrent, removed the evo + 250GB. Unfortunately I still can't boot Windows 10 for the OC picker. I can boot Windows disk if I press F12 while the Gigabyte logo is displayed. the configuration is EVO + 1TB in slot 1 for macOS, WD 1TB in slot 2, Sabrent in slot.
This is a tricky issue. Do you still have your OC 0.6.1 EFI folder? If so, please give it another try to confirm that Windows is able to boot directly from OC Picker. If it works, please compress and post the OC 0.6.1 folder (you may remove serial numbers from config.plist).

3. Note that if I put the Sabrent in slot 2 regardless of the WD 1TB being in slot 3 or the PCIe x4 adapter, the system will not boot. I tried various combination except slot 1 which I have left untouched but nothing is working. I even tried to change the config.plist boot mode from bootstrap to none but same issue.

So one issue fixed, but, unfortunately for me, I would have preferred the other one to be fixed.
Again, we have circumstantial evidence to suggest that WD drives may be problematic. Do you have a third NVMe SSD that is not a WD brand?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,859
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ and Community

Just finished my build. Majority is working great. I appreciate your extensive guide and all the time you have put into helping everyone. Truly appreciated. This is my 2nd build but first TB3 MB.

Current issue: TB3 devices randomly don't connect on boot or when macOS loads.
  • If 1x TB3 port has a device attached on boot and loads with macOS and can use the device (UAD Apollo Twin) then the 2nd TB3 port does not work at all. (example if UAD boots on port 1 and I unplug it from Port 1, plug into Port 2, it will not recognize port 2)
  • If TB3 ports 1 and 2 have devices attached on boot and devices are not loaded with macOS, then usually both TB3 ports are hot plug-able, meaning if I uplug the device and plug it back in, it is loaded and recognized.
  • If TB3 ports 1 and 2 have no devices attached on boot and devices are not loaded with macOS, then usually both TB3 ports are hot plug-able, meaning if I uplug the device and plug it back in, it is loaded and recognized.
I need some help getting both TB3 ports to load each device on boot and with macOS. Is this possible?

TB3 Devices:
1x UAD Apollo Twin
1x Caldigit TS3 Plus

I tried to follow all of your guides including creating the HackinDrom to replace the TB3HP. I have tried to search the forums extensively but the search is slightly limited on the results it returns.

Current Z490 Vision D BIOS: 7c
  • BIOS is setup based on 5 and newer guide.

See below pics and let me know if you need any additional info to assist. I appreciate your time and knowledge.
Hello @smpl543,

Let me begin by asking what needs to be asked first:
  • With the original unflashed firmware, it should be possible to connect both the UAD and CalDigit devices.
    • Did these devices work with the original firmware?
    • If not, what problems did you encounter?
Next question:
  • If you connect only the CalDigit dock, does it always work as expected?
  • If so, what happens if you connect the UAD to the daisychain port on the CalDigit dock?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2017
Messages
338
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Designare
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

I thought that I would post some updates regarding 2 issues I have been having for a while and despite several suggestions on this forum nothing worked.

1. Stuck on the Gigabyte logo after restarting from macOS: each time I restarted macOS whether manually or following an update, the system would hang on the Gigabyte logo with the various options at the bottom of the screen (F12, F11, etc.). Nothing was working. Only solution was to power down and restart. Then it would pass the Gigabyte logo and display the OC picker. Looking at the BIOS code on the MB, it was stuck on a SATA/IDE error code. In my system I had a classic standard magnetic HDD that I use for cloning purposes only (before an update). Disconnecting this HDD solved the issue. The system restarts now flawlessly. I am now on the market for a cheap SSD SATA drive for cloning. I don't know if this issue is due to SATA/IDE in general or specific to this HDD and brand (WD).

2. With OC 0.6.1 and prior, I could dual boot Windows/macOS from the OC picker. Since moving to 0.6.2 and above, booting from the Windows NVMe disk simply reset the system. The Windows spinning wheel will be displayed for a couple of seconds and eventually the PC will reset. My initial config was EVO + 1TB for macOS in first slot, then EVO + 250 for Windows in the second slot then and PCIe x4 adapter card hosting a 1TB WD SN750 (because if this was installed in any other slot, the system, would hang at boot). Reading that EVO + can cause some issues even with the new firmware, I bought a 500GB Sabrent rocket, clone the EVO + 250GB Windows disk on the Sabrent, removed the evo + 250GB. Unfortunately I still can't boot Windows 10 for the OC picker. I can boot Windows disk if I press F12 while the Gigabyte logo is displayed. the configuration is EVO + 1TB in slot 1 for macOS, WD 1TB in slot 2, Sabrent in slot.

3. Note that if I put the Sabrent in slot 2 regardless of the WD 1TB being in slot 3 or the PCIe x4 adapter, the system will not boot. I tried various combination except slot 1 which I have left untouched but nothing is working. I even tried to change the config.plist boot mode from bootstrap to none but same issue.

So one issue fixed, but, unfortunately for me, I would have preferred the other one to be fixed.

When using OC, at the boot menu for OC, pressing the spacebar allows for options. I suggest reading your manual for the motherboard for conflicts for SATA and M.2. I run two each M.2 and 2 SATA drives without conflict by following the directions in the manual. Resetting the NVRAM after moving hardware in your system is wise.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
Core i9-10900K
Graphics
AMD RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi Casey and everyone,

I have a few questions regarding Thunderbolt Bus Activation, as I'm planning to flash it.
1. After flashing modded firmware, how will the Thunderbolt "normal mode" be affected? In particular, in macOS it will certainly run in "extended mode", but I have triple boot system and I boot Windows directly (not through OpenCore, I have rEFInd setup for triple boot which is slightly better for Linux maintenance), will there be any difference at all in its behavior?
2. My primary purpose of flashing firmware is to make it closer to real Mac. I'm also thinking about getting the LG Ultrafine 5K display, which only supports 5K resolution on Thunderbolt 3 Macs.
Now, in my current setup, Intel GPU is setup as headless, and I drive display(s) using 5500XT. When I use USB-C to DisplayPort cable in macOS it doesn't outputs any signal. But this cable will work fine in Windows because Intel GPU is not in headless/compute mode only, and it used to work in macOS when I didn't have AMD GPU and I had (temporarily) setup the macOS in iGPU mode only.
My question is, after flashing firmware, will macOS will be able to "route" video signal from the AMD GPU *internally* to the Thunderbolt Bus? In other words will the Thunderbolt Ports will start outputting the video signal after flashing the firmware like a real Mac because they are in extended mode? Or will I *still* need to use a DisplayPort cable to *externally* route the signal using DisplayPort-In in the motherboard?
I just wanna confirm that 5K display will work like a real Mac before purchasing it. Has anyone been able to make it work with this Vision D build and get full 10-bit color with true 5K@60Hz?

Thanks again for an amazing work!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,859
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Casey and everyone,

I have a few questions regarding Thunderbolt Bus Activation, as I'm planning to flash it.
1. After flashing modded firmware, how will the Thunderbolt "normal mode" be affected? In particular, in macOS it will certainly run in "extended mode", but I have triple boot system and I boot Windows directly (not through OpenCore, I have rEFInd setup for triple boot which is slightly better for Linux maintenance), will there be any difference at all in its behavior?
A flashed Thunderbolt controller can behave oddly in Windows. What does "oddly" mean? One can only answer this question for themselves because it's impossible to predict how the flashed controller will interact with the motherboard's firmware, with Windows, and with specific Thunderbolt devices. In our flashing guides we include warnings that behavior in Windows can be unpredictable.
2. My primary purpose of flashing firmware is to make it closer to real Mac. I'm also thinking about getting the LG Ultrafine 5K display, which only supports 5K resolution on Thunderbolt 3 Macs.
If you use one of the on-board Thunderbolt ports to connect the LG UltraFine 5K, the computer will send a 4096x2304 signal to the monitor, and the monitor will scale it up to 5120x2880. This is because the Z490 Vision D contains a single DP-In port. But two DP-In ports are needed for full native 5120x2880.

Note also this warning at the top of Post #1:

Screen Shot 2021-01-09 at 1.07.35 PM.png


Now, in my current setup, Intel GPU is setup as headless, and I drive display(s) using 5500XT. When I use USB-C to DisplayPort cable in macOS it doesn't outputs any signal. But this cable will work fine in Windows because Intel GPU is not in headless/compute mode only, and it used to work in macOS when I didn't have AMD GPU and I had (temporarily) setup the macOS in iGPU mode only.
My question is, after flashing firmware, will macOS will be able to "route" video signal from the AMD GPU *internally* to the Thunderbolt Bus?
macOS can route video signal from AMD GPU to the Thunderbolt Bus once you connect a video cable from the AMD GPU to the DP-In port on the rear IO panel. It cannot route the signal "internally" from a discrete GPU. It may also be necessary to change Platform ID to 0x3E9B0007 (non-headless for iGPU), but first see what happens if you leave Platform ID the way it is (0x3E980003).

In other words will the Thunderbolt Ports will start outputting the video signal after flashing the firmware like a real Mac because they are in extended mode? Or will I *still* need to use a DisplayPort cable to *externally* route the signal using DisplayPort-In in the motherboard?
An external cable is necessary. However, if you just set iGPU to 0x3E9B0007 (non-headless) then the iGPU will route its video output "internally" to the Thunderbolt ports.
I just wanna confirm that 5K display will work like a real Mac before purchasing it. Has anyone been able to make it work with this Vision D build and get full 10-bit color with true 5K@60Hz?
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news!
  • You will not get true 5K. For true 5K you will need a GC-Alpine Ridge card or GC-Titan Ridge card and connect two DP-In ports to two video output ports on the AMD GPU. Even then, the LG UltraFine may not turn on in BIOS, may not turn on in OpenCore Picker, and may even require hot-plug to turn on in macOS. The monitor may not even wake from sleep, or the on-board devices may not work.
Once again:

Screen Shot 2021-01-09 at 1.07.35 PM.png
 
Last edited:

rtw

Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hello Casey,

I just installed the new OC 0.6.5 with the updated Alpha Intel WiFi drivers but it seems like the BT is broken, WIFI is okay though.
BT and Wifi works with previous 6.4 version although occasionally the BT will drop but acceptable.

I really appreciate your work here.
Thank you very much.
 
Last edited:
Top