Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
I switched by mistake the hard drives slots (dual boot with windows) and it messed up the booting section by itself

I am back on initial drive position

Is there a easy way to display the boot option windows & hackintosh. Right now it boots by default into windows

Thank you
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
335
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi @CaseySJ

Being almost at the end of the set up I am now working on the visual aspects of the MB according to your post:

Good point my case Cooler Master COSMOS C700P is 100% synchronised too :)
Everything sounds good except that I have the feeling that the visual effects are not all "on". I see only the DESIGNARE logo (pic enclosed).
In addition to that do you know how to enable the "GIGABYTE" logo of the RX 5700 XT? (I know it's a bit out of the scope of this tutorial...).
With these last 2 points, I would have a 100% config matching your initial post (such a great job and thanks again !)

WSdkHY1.jpg
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
HD630
Mac
  1. iMac
Greetings... I have not had success with the OpenIntelWireless kext(s) and OpenCore 0.6.2. I've tried both, disabled SIP, with and without Heliport. No luck. Heliport doesn't see the device. I can confirm wireless is working with my Windows installation. Any thoughts/suggestions would be most welcome. Thank you!
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2015
Messages
40
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
Yes, the Apollo x6. I have the uad software installed, but its telling me that there are no devices found.

I am using the Apollo X6 on 10.15.7 with the original TB3 cable that came with it. I followed CaseySJ’s guide strictly and in BIOS (ver. F5) I did set the Thunderbolt Boot Support option to “Boot Once”. I suggest that you check that your BIOS is setup correct.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,823
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I switched by mistake the hard drives slots (dual boot with windows) and it messed up the booting section by itself

I am back on initial drive position

Is there a easy way to display the boot option windows & hackintosh. Right now it boots by default into windows

Thank you
With OpenCore, we choose the Startup Disk in System Preferences --> Startup Disk.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,823
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ

Being almost at the end of the set up I am now working on the visual aspects of the MB according to your post:

Good point my case Cooler Master COSMOS C700P is 100% synchronised too :)
Everything sounds good except that I have the feeling that the visual effects are not all "on". I see only the DESIGNARE logo (pic enclosed).
In addition to that do you know how to enable the "GIGABYTE" logo of the RX 5700 XT? (I know it's a bit out of the scope of this tutorial...).
With these last 2 points, I would have a 100% config matching your initial post (such a great job and thanks again !)
Hello @DominiqueGormand,

Unfortunately at this time liquidctl cannot control RGB channels on a video card (or even on memory DIMMs).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,823
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Greetings... I have not had success with the OpenIntelWireless kext(s) and OpenCore 0.6.2. I've tried both, disabled SIP, with and without Heliport. No luck. Heliport doesn't see the device. I can confirm wireless is working with my Windows installation. Any thoughts/suggestions would be most welcome. Thank you!
Please check whether Misc --> Security --> SecureBootModel is set to Default. This is currently necessary.
 
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte z490 vison d
CPU
Intel-i710700k
Graphics
Nvidia 2080ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am using the Apollo X6 on 10.15.7 with the original TB3 cable that came with it. I followed CaseySJ’s guide strictly and in BIOS (ver. F5) I did set the Thunderbolt Boot Support option to “Boot Once”. I suggest that you check that your BIOS is setup correct.
My friend,you saved me, thank you! Changing to “Boot Once”worked!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 19, 2010
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
HD630
Mac
  1. iMac
Please check whether Misc --> Security --> SecureBootModel is set to Default. This is currently necessary.
Thanks CaseySJ.. I have adjusted as you've suggested, however upon reboot system reports critical error "OC:Cannot use Secure Boot with Any Dmg loading! Halting on critical error
 
Top